Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity by University of Colorado System

4.7
stars
1,624 ratings
485 reviews

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script and learn how we store data in our programs Module 2: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 3: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and discover how we make decisions in our code Module 4: Get and use player input in your Unity games Module 5: Complete final peer review and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Top reviews

MM
Jul 29, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

JT
Jan 17, 2020

Very good instructor walks you through every step and then has assignments for you to do on your own to practice your coding skills. Emphasizes using documentation and practicing fundamentals.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 481 Reviews for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

By Sanyam R

May 17, 2020

Glad to attained this course!!

By Zikrul H B I

Dec 30, 2020

the course was informative

By Maxym V

May 12, 2020

Very helpful for newbies

By Giampaolo B

Jan 26, 2018

Simple and very good!

By Mohamed H M

Sep 17, 2020

very good

By BISHAL C

May 1, 2020

Nice

By Siddhant G

May 1, 2020

good

By Jordi J

Jul 17, 2018

It is a nice and interesting course to get started in C# and Unity, although in my opinion the last programming assignment should be remade because it does not make a lot of sense to have an assigment that requires a step by step guide to implement as the last assignement in the course.I would say that the contents of the course don´t quite prepare you for that las assignment, and therefore it kind of takes away a little bit of the achievement feeling for completing the course. Lectures are concise and to the point, which is a good thing. Overall, nice, but with room for improvement.

By Riccardo G

Jan 21, 2021

I haven't done yet the successive courses, however, this course alone is pretty useless in my opinion. It goes fast on some very important concepts of both C# programming and Unity, as object oriented programming. I think that for people new to programming this must result very difficult. However, most of the concepts explained are clear enough and it gives a quick start if someone wants to approach Unity fast.

I think it deserve a try to evaluate if it suits each one needs and knowledge.

By Leonardo M

Jan 3, 2021

Overall the course does a decent job of presenting programming principles in a simple way, but sometimes too simple. It feels like content was purposely cut out to avoid "scaring off" learners. Some assignments were poorly explained, and (as usual in Coursera) outdated, resulting in considerable time wasted.

By Isabella M R

Feb 26, 2021

Difficult in a bad way. Starting around week 3, you can't complete assignment due to a lack of knowledge/instruction. Dr, T expects you to know things you've never seen or heard before. Definitely not for beginners like me.

By Amir

May 3, 2020

A little outdated since MonoDevelop is now completely deprecated with the current version of Unity as well as Visual Studio being in the 2019 build instead of 2017.

By Fernando G

Aug 30, 2018

Course was interesting and information useful but course projects were not the most compelling or engaging. Game projects excessively traditional.

By Deleted A

Oct 1, 2020

This course is good. But it is difficult for me.

By Ajay S P

Aug 18, 2020

Could be more detailed....

By Nour M

Sep 22, 2020

Try to learn code more

By Deleted A

Apr 25, 2020

+/-

By James T H

Nov 9, 2019

This course goes from 0 to 1,000,000 over about two weeks and then proceeds to make demands it didn't actually teach. The teacher has a tendency to ramble and it can be confusing to keep up with. Dr. T definitely seems knowledgeable in his subject and has a good, upbeat personality, but that doesn't necessarily mean he's a great teacher. I would not recommend this course for anyone with a shred of neuro-devergence. I took it with two friends of mine, all of us at varying levels on the spectrum, and it took all three of us together to parse several of the lectures past the rambling, as well as figuring through very vague instructions for the assignments. Being that this course is apparently meant for absolute beginners per the first video, it should have given a lot more time to build up student skills. Maybe lengthening the course to spend more time on smaller chunks or dividing it up into two separate courses would have been a better option. In any case, I will not be continuing with Dr. T's classes and will find a different teacher.

By Rachel B

Dec 10, 2019

Goes way too fast and IS NOT for absolute beginners. The instructor assumes that you understand a lot of concepts without ever explaining them and then focuses only on some of the foundation concepts you need to know to understand what's going on. The class structure is like this: 3 simple concepts and then an assignment worth points that uses those simple concepts plus 5 complicated ones that were never explained. The forums are dead and you can't really get any help to understand the concepts that were never explained. For someone who has never programmed, it is incredibly frustrating and confusing.

By Javier G

Jun 29, 2020

2 stars, becasue it is not for begginers, I dont bealive the topics are well explained and if you are a beginner you won't understand. The projects that have to be done don't always allign with was shown during the videos. Too much code is done off camera with a brief explanation of what it does is given much of the time not corresponding with what you are learning at that point wich becomes distracting and confusing.

By Bushra Y

Feb 22, 2018

The instructor sound is monotonous. After deplying zip files not mentioned what to do? Until, the user bravel marks it complet only then how to choose environment is known

By Ong J H

Dec 30, 2020

There's a bombardment of terminologies that aren't very beginner-friendly; this specialisation/course feels more like a refresher rather than a tutorial

By Cannon S

Dec 11, 2020

It is not what you expect at all.

By Adam E

Sep 28, 2020

I don't often give bad reviews, but this course falls flat. Don't take it until the problems are fixed. The instructor is very knowledgeable, but he fails to walk the learner to the final assignments for every week. The lecture just does not line up with the knowledge expected in the final exercise and the auto grader is very weak. Dr. Chuck Python Course is a model for how this should be done, but this course falls short. If Dr. Tim wants to make more money he needs to simplify because this is neither a beginning C# course or a beginning math course. You really need to have trig and calculus to take this class and understand the formulas requested. I'm pulling out before I lose too much money and frustrate myself to death.