Chevron Left
Back to Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
350 ratings
104 reviews

About the Course

Emerging technologies are quickly gaining momentum in the field of virtual K-12 instruction. In this course, we will explore how the latest trends in the use of technology affect student learning and engagement. What innovative learning spaces and tools are available to instructors? How can instructors best utilize free and open resources to more deeply engage students in their learning? What impact can the use of emerging technologies have on student retention and performance? We will discuss the possibilities and challenges of using technology in fully online environments, although many of the ideas can be applied to blended and traditional environments as well. Learners will compare and contrast tools for use in K-12 virtual instruction, as well as examine best practices for implementing and managing these tools. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Understand the role of technology in the distribution of content, the facilitation of collaborative activities, and the assessment of students, courses, and organizations. 2. Identify and evaluate existing and emerging technologies for their value in virtual course instruction and curriculum development. 3. Design and assess a learning activity that utilizes social learning tools. 4. Design and assess a learning activity or curricular program that uses game-based strategies and/or badges to deepen student engagement in virtual courses. 5. Research, critically evaluate, and employ open content in virtual education. 6. Debate the role of MOOCs in virtual K-12 education....

Top reviews

DP

Jul 30, 2020

Maybe for me there wasn't so much new ideas but I count myself as advanced in ICT field also ;) But course is build up really well and this resource pdf-s in every week are especially good ...

NK

Nov 08, 2016

Unlike the previous course in the Virtual Teacher Specialization, this course was pretty well organized, the instructor was articulate and well-versed in the subject she is teaching.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 102 Reviews for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

By KONIKA M

Jun 17, 2020

Amazing course!

By Ruben D S P

May 22, 2016

amazing classes

By Felipe C Q

Jan 23, 2017

Good lecture.

By leila c

Jun 14, 2020

Exceptional!

By SANDRA M V A

Jul 05, 2020

Excellent!

By Aamir N

Jun 23, 2020

Thank you

By Shubhi S

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent

By Ajay k

Jun 19, 2020

very good

By Elizabeth J

May 09, 2020

thank you

By AMRUTA V P

Jul 08, 2020

Good one

By vijai k m

Jun 05, 2020

good one

By IULIANA T

Jun 09, 2020

thankx

By Akshi K s

Jun 07, 2020

Great

By Vikram K V

Aug 03, 2020

Good

By Aparna C

Jun 29, 2020

Good

By Tan C J B

Mar 06, 2017

G

By Lee K L

Nov 21, 2016

g

By Sandra G

Apr 14, 2016

H

By Paolo M P B

Jul 19, 2020

This course provided me wonderful examples of how I can use technology to supplement and enhance my mode of instruction and delivery of course contents. I believe that the strong point of this course was the examples and exercises it provided. There were also opportunities to reflect on certain situations. One area that this course could improve on would be the feedback from the quizzes. It would be helpful to point out why such answers were wrong or where I could review them. Overall, this course was very insightful.

By Nicole R L

Jul 29, 2020

I am quite happy I enrolled in this class. The resources, the introduction to gamification of lessons and the reflect and apply sections were very helpful. As with the previous course in the Virtual Teacher program, I am disappointed there are no discussion forums, some of the links/resources are not current and the feedback from other people on the peer reviewed assignment is basic and one word. However, I would recommend the course as it opened my eyes to technology I had never considered using in my class.

By Tracey J K

Oct 27, 2018

Excellent videos and engaging material. Some of the discussions of augmented reality and similar technologies is already somewhat out of date. The forums are repeatedly referenced, but were never available as I moved through the course.

By Michael B

Apr 28, 2020

Very well structured, a perfect introduction to the available tools and how to make good use of them. Nevertheless, the course needs to be updated to reflect more recent tools.

By Junaid Z

Jul 21, 2020

Very nice and engaging course much better than the first part. Although I am teaching post graduates. I owuld recommend to all the people who are new to online education.

By Mudit M

Jun 22, 2020

Quite well designed. A lot of information to use when designing virtual classrooms. Discussion forums were missing. So couldn't learn from fellow participants.

By Mayur P

Jul 06, 2020

Definitely good for K 12 teachers, however the resources are still dated as the course is of 2014 and there have been tremendous changes since then.