Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
7,004 ratings

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings

(121 Reviews)

Creatively designed course

(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA

Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

AA

Dec 29, 2021

I enjoyed taking this course. Even though I don't like the peer-grading system in general, within this course it makes sense. It is always interesting to hear other people's opinions and experiences.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 2,071 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Glenda H

Nov 5, 2019

This course serviced as both a reminder/refresher course of what I already knew yet may not have been practicing. I thoroughly benefited and enjoyed this course.

By صفاء ع

Jul 12, 2018

it is really an awesome course. enough to mention how delicious dr. shane present it. alot of thanks to dr shane ,all are standing behind the camera and coursera.

By Paola J B

Jun 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course because I learned that there are lots of approaches and as teachers we have not only to know them but also take the best of each one.

By Barbara W

Mar 30, 2022

I loved this course. It's fun while presenting high quality content, which one can deepen if desired. Dr Shane is a fantaastic teacher. I recommend this course.

By Оля М

Jun 22, 2021

Perfectly explained 6 different approaches and clearly understand why we learned at school to this or that way!!! Also, what the features are of all the methods.

By Olga K

May 29, 2020

I would like to thank The University of Arizona and Coursera for this opportunity to get educated at home with much fun and use! Dr Shane Dixon is such a star!!!

By Rafael S

Mar 11, 2020

You guys are the most entertaining teachers I have ever seem. The course makes me laugh and smile all the time. The content is top notch! I absolutely adore it.

By Katie r

Nov 11, 2019

This course has made me think a lot more about what a learning situation is and how to nt only guild students to see it, but use it in my own language learning.

By Kamolakhon T

Oct 19, 2023

The course is very worthwhile for English teacher. I gained copious knowledge and vitals skills for my future career. Thanks to all professors for your effort!

By Polina v R

Jun 21, 2020

It was interesting to learn different approaches and their history. I found the information was really useful and could be applied to my classes in the future.

By Liu, Z

Sep 19, 2021

The best theory course I have ever taken! It's a well-structured course with fascinating contents taught in an organized way and from different perspectives.

By Fabio A

Apr 29, 2021

GREAT content! If you're new to English teaching, this will show you how to deliver effective lessons. If you already have experience, it will be good review.

By ivy k

Dec 3, 2020

This was a well thought out course with very interesting and engaging videos. Really like the performances of Shane as all the different language instructors!

By Renzo V

Mar 4, 2016

There is no words to describe how useful, acurrate and helpful is this course! Thanks a lot for this chance to improve our teaching skills and ESL perception.

By MOHMAD F T

Jun 4, 2020

This course has been very helpful for me because I have learned many things from this course. And it was a wonderful journey with Dr. Dixon and Dr. Jessica.

By Ankita J

Sep 24, 2018

This course enlightens us about the different approaches to teach English, It explains the methodologies used in the earlier centuries. It is really helpful.

By JULIE-ANN S D J

Nov 8, 2023

First of all, thank you cousera. What I most like about is the way of teaching, The lessons here are very clear and well explained. This is very helpful.

By Olga V

Aug 15, 2022

Brilliant! A very lively and interesting course that allows you to think about your professional activity and bring both a scientific approach and interest.

By Lulu F

Sep 1, 2021

This course has developed my understanding about techniques in so many ways! I learned a lot. The way Prof. Dixon explains the lesson is also very awesome!

By Michele F

Dec 17, 2017

This is another great course in the TESOL sequence at ASU. This is one of the better online classes I've taken - the instructors really keep it interesting.

By Maria N (

Jan 25, 2023

I learned the foundations of language learning based on various principles. Now the picture is clear and I'm ready to continue my journey of the ESL world.

By Bảo N L H

Feb 19, 2021

The best teaching course I've ever had! Very clear instruction, theories are well explained. Assignments are challenging enough for learners to experience!

By Kaosu N

Jul 29, 2020

Very clear and straightforward! Really nice to learn about the history of language teaching and take that into account when thinking about my own teaching.

By Nur I A

Dec 3, 2019

the way the lecturer teach us is so nice and adding notes below the video is useful for those who haven't can understand speech if it is fast and thank you

By Arleen S S

Feb 27, 2024

This course is very helpful I gain more knowledge on different technique and approach and how to incorporate in class. Thank you so much ASU and Coursera!