Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
4,407 ratings
1,319 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

NZ

Jun 11, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

CS

May 15, 2017

All the theories are presented in an extremely organized way.\n\nThe dramatic representation has been rather memorable.\n\nSeeing myriad theories from the lens of time has helped my knowledge stick.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,279 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Dang N Q

May 02, 2019

This module is awesome. It helps a lot in comprehending learning process that is important for selecting teaching methods.

By Roberto C

Jul 17, 2016

Really good course.

Everything really good summarized, explained and.... funny! that may be the best point to learn faster.

By Livio I C G

Mar 08, 2016

Amazing course, the characterizations of the approaches were great and the explanations simple but direct, so I loved it.!

By Aim H

May 08, 2020

This was really fruitful to understand the history of teaching theories and their application in classes through the past

By Mikhail K

Jan 21, 2017

This is a great course! Thanks to Jessica and Shane for help, ASU for the course, and Coursera for a convenient platform!

By Michael W

Feb 14, 2016

When you have someone with so many talents - at the nexus of education and entertainment - you're sure to enjoy learning.

By Alberto S

Jul 10, 2020

a really useful and interesting course to understand the bases and foundations of current language teaching universe

By Amira C

Apr 10, 2020

This course has broadened my knowledge of language teaching theories and has inspired me with many ideas. I am grateful.

By Carlos G H C

Sep 15, 2019

Excellent pedagogues explaining the theory of English teaching through scientific documentation of language acquisition.

By Elías O E

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent course, great material, and dynamic professors. Thank you so much for your teaching, enthusiasm, and support!

By Diogo M K B

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent course. I could reflect on language teaching and to expand upon the discussions and reading I had in college.

By Dream C

Jul 11, 2020

Incredibly interesting and helpful course for me! Exactly what I was looking for. Every video is high-quality variety.

By Chernova E

Sep 29, 2019

Very interesting course! I really appreciate all the effort and great talents that are the very core of the lessons.

By Anna M C

Jan 19, 2018

Very professional and useful course. Thank you for this opportunity to attend this course! Best regards from Poland:)

By Ishita M

Oct 10, 2017

A very informative course, designed with a lot of creativity and effort ! Learned a good many things in just 6 weeks!

By Arzu M

Sep 17, 2020

It is really funny to hear approaches in that way. Thank u Dr. Shane u are the most funniest teacher in the world :)

By Minjeong B

Apr 23, 2020

It's really useful course for me!!

I would like recommend this if you want to get professional teaching English skill

By Cherli C L

Mar 10, 2017

It was incredible how I could understand why I teach, the way I teach and what my students want to learn. Thank you.

By Pinkie M

Mar 30, 2016

I think this will be a great course. I already have the Foundational course and Lesson Design and Assessment course.

By Hanna S

Sep 10, 2020

Very interesting and useful historical tour for better understanding of language learning processes and techniques!

By Waraporn P P

Jan 22, 2019

I have learned the essential SLA theories throughout the insightful and comprehensible videos. Thank you very much.

By Vasilii B

Oct 14, 2018

This course is very useful, full of important information that will help any teacher to become a true professional.

By Bernadette A

Sep 12, 2017

I enjoyed this course immensely. Thank you for giving me more materials and techniques to better my teaching style.

By Sally Q

Mar 19, 2020

A really informative course, but the names are a little bit confusing. Over all it was a really beneficial course.

By Edgar G

Mar 21, 2018

It was great course. Thanks a lot to all creators of this course. Especially to Dr. Shane Dixon for marvelous act.