Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,024 ratings
4,032 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

SS
Sep 16, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 3,982 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Carla A D C

Aug 15, 2020

Realmente me encantó el curso. Muchas veces pensamos que el chino es muy complicado, sin embargo, este curso me ha dado herramientas para entenderlo mejor. Muy buena maestra. Técnica de enseñanza excelente.

By Julia C

Jul 26, 2020

If you've never learned Chinese before, this is a great place to start. The teacher does an amazing job of teaching some of the basics of the language in the simplest forms. I HIGHLY recommend this course.

By Jeļena E

Oct 9, 2016

Interesting course, useful subject, very nice lector. Highly appreciate the opportunity to hear the right pronunciation of Chinese words, because that's the most difficult part for me.

Thank you very much!

By William H R

Oct 26, 2015

I already knew the basics of Chinese -- but I took this course just as a refresher and to make sure I didn't miss anything.

This is a great course for people who are just starting to learn Mandarin Chinese.

By Gustavo C

Oct 24, 2020

Interesting course!!! First time learning chinese. Week four more difficult than the others!! specially in prices, you must have to pay a big attention to the tone of voice and review numbers in Chinese!!

By Abril C B

Jun 29, 2020

Yout get the basic oral knowledge to start with the communication skills. This was my first option to get into studying mandarin so I'll continue with more grammar vocabulary and writing. Thanks coursera!

By Nirachar T

Apr 30, 2020

This course is good for who started to learn the Chinese language and then it can use in daily life or when to travel in Chian. And, the Chinese language also gives the chance to find a job in the future.

By Hung P N

Apr 2, 2020

Although this is a free course, it is very practical with daily life topics. After we finish it, we can travel to China or Taiwan, Hongkong and can make basic conversation. Thank you very much, Liu Laoshi

By DuZifeng

May 29, 2018

i am learning so much from these courses, thank you for having this program for free, i wouldn't be able to afford schooling so i try and find something for free so i can learn, thank you again for this,

By Marcelo Q

Aug 20, 2017

Great experience & course! I could say that I learn the necessary vocabulary to introduce myself and to initiate a dialogue. I would like a second part of the course with verbs and a little more grammar.

By Olga K

Jan 7, 2021

I liked and enjoyed the course very much. Seven weeks ago I didn't know anything about Chinese. And now I know so many words and able to make a small conversation)) Thank you, Xiaoyu Liu, you are great!

By Evelyn L P J

Nov 17, 2020

I really liked this course, it allows you to practice the expressions a lot. It also offers you at the end the Chinese characters of everything you have learned so that you can complement your learning.

By Carolina E

Oct 30, 2020

El curso está perfectamente diseñado para quienes no sabemos absolutamente nada de chino. La profesora explica muy bien. Y los exámenes y ejercicios son muy didácticos. Y voy a continuar con más cursos.

By Alper Ş

Sep 6, 2020

Dear Liu Xiaoyu,

Seven weeks of this great course has significantly improved every aspect of my Chinese knowledge. Thank you for being a great teacher, I want to visit China in the future. 我喜欢汉语。谢谢,再见老师。

By Patrick Z

Jun 2, 2020

It was a pleasure to take this course. I've learned Chinese in a various ways, but this is the first time I'm taking a Chinese course and it helped me a lot. The lectures and notes helped a lot. Xièxie!

By Wipawan T

May 25, 2020

It’s really nice course online for me and everyone who want to be a beginner in chinese language. This course gives me a lot of experience about pronunciation, vocabularies and cultures. It was amazing!

By Nunchaya C

May 4, 2020

it's really for beginner who cannot read Chinese character at all. It's very useful for basic Chinese if you practice a lot from the lecture. I love the teacher and really appreciate for the free class.

By KANCHAPORN C

Apr 25, 2020

Thank you for free online course. I'm happy with Chinese language learningfor improve myself. I like Chinese TV series and movie so much but I can't understand. I swear more practice this. Xiexie laoshi

By natapan s

Apr 18, 2020

The teacher is very fantastic! She good in English and speak not quick so that make me easily to listen and understand. Thank you for the best one online course. If i have a chance I will go to China :)

By Atif H

Dec 11, 2017

I am much surprised while studying this Online Chinese Language Course, Its very useful and knowledgeable for me. I suggest to every one who is interested to learn Chinese Languages.

Regards

Atif Hussain

By Trang T T V

Aug 19, 2017

The course gives basic knowledge about Chinese language, and by the time you complete the course, you will be able to understand simple daily conversations. Great course to start learning about Chinese!

By Jose O

Mar 15, 2017

Excelente curso, permite aprender lo basico y elemental, para comunicarse en chino mandarin de una manera fluida y segura al viajar, interactuar o conversar con hablantes del idioma alrededor del mundo.

By YuanXin

Jul 17, 2020

Ms.Liu explains each lesson well and it is easy to follow and remember the key points she explained. Good way for me to review my mandarin since it is such an important part of my identity and culture.

By John M

Nov 9, 2020

The material was fun and easy to understand. And I also felt that the level of Chinese was enough to start to speak with natives. The teach was pleasant and engaging. It was a very nice experience.

By Gerardo G V

Aug 15, 2016

Es un curso que te ayuda a hablar lo básico del chino, una gran opción para comenzar el estudio de este idioma. Las clases son sencillas y concisas lo cual ayuda a seguir un buen ritmo de aprendizaje.