Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,707 ratings
4,229 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 4,179 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Kantavit C

Apr 17, 2020

I got this course for free and I want to learn about basic Chinese language so I'm give it a shot.

Overall it is an active learning. The reading nasal and vocabulary are simple. Great for beginners.

By Aakash L

Oct 4, 2015

Great!

Chinese for beginners made simple and efficient. Would totally recommend it to anyone who is interested to learn a new language.

Kudos to the entire team for putting together an engaging course

By Apinya P

May 1, 2020

course on Chinese speaking. In this class, I will introduce you to basic phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, you will have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin.

Good luck!

By Carolzinha W

Nov 12, 2017

I loved the course! I wish they had more and more different courses! Congratulations for the excelent work! And thank you for helping me with Chinese, I hope I can go to China soon and practice it!

By Dynlene B

Dec 23, 2015

I enjoyed the course, the videos and quizzes were easy to understand. This was a great start to learning Mandarin Chinese. Will you offer a continuation course, besides the Chinese calligraphy? ;-)

By Sonia A

Sep 22, 2020

Thanks Coursera for giving me such an opportunity to learn this course,the Teacher was excellent ,the way she teaches us was really helpful to understand and easier for us.... thanks, xiexie.. :-)

By 19uzla027 1

Jul 1, 2020

It was really fun and interesting to learn Chinese here! I could understand and relate to what's taught really well. I'm so excited to use what I have learnt and learn more too! Thank you so much!

By Navin A

Apr 22, 2020

This program is great and benefits for everyone who would like to improve the Chinese language. There are a lot of things for learning and improving Chinese skills.

I really like it.

Navin ARUNRAT

By Jonathan D

Sep 16, 2018

Agradecimientos totales. Es un curso muy didáctico y completo que sobrepasa las expectativas de muchos. Me siento muy conforme con los medios y forma de impartir las clases y temas de cada semana.

By Abeer H A

Apr 26, 2019

I really enjoyed this course . It was very useful and help me to understand and speak a little Chinese. I am really grateful . see you soon in another Chinese course and more. Thank you very much

By Renan O

Jun 2, 2020

O curso é realmente muito bom. Já aprendi várias palavras e frases com ele, que irei poder utilizar para me comunicar com os chineses algum dia. Pretendo agora fazer o Chinese for Beginners 2!!!

By Everardo J D l M I

May 16, 2020

Excelente opción para aquellos que desean iniciar el aprendizaje de un idioma que está cruzando muchas fronteras y que se considera como necesario, para gran parte de los profesionistas hoy día.

By Karina P C

Nov 5, 2020

It is a really good introduction to the Chinese language. Of course, there are a lot of things to learn but this is just the beginning. Thanks a lot to teacher Liú Xiǎoyǔ for your help. Xièxie.

By Kimberly I C G

Sep 7, 2020

It's a very good program for people that don't know Chinese at all, very informative. I do recomend this course. Thank you! Looking forward on practicing my chinese and travel to China someday.

By Inayat U K

Aug 10, 2020

It was a very basic Level course but very helpful. I learned a lot of things from this course. I suggest everyone to take this course before going to china. it will make your life very easier.

By RaJa L

Jun 7, 2020

it's hard at the begining if you never learning chinese before. but it's not hard to understand although you're not good in english. teacher, she uses easy word, easy sentence and speak slowly.

By GWLADYS A N

May 31, 2020

Wo xihuan kan shu .

I learned more and it allowed me have a clearer understanting of the dialect when watching the dramas. And hopefully i future I can speak it more fluently.

Xie xie Teacher Liu

By I D

Jan 29, 2020

I liked very much this course. Teacher Xiaoyu Liu is clear and her examples on the screen help you a lot in fixing new concepts in mind, especially for autodidacts like me. Thank you very much!

By Muhammad W A

Dec 14, 2018

Very easy to learn the basic Chinese language. The most important and interesting about the course is that everything is illustrated with the help of pictures which makes it very easy to learn.

By Nathaly T

Oct 4, 2020

The professor did a great job. In a matter of minutes you can learn a lot. The content is explained in a simple way for you to make use of it and take it to your daily life. Great job on this.

By MUHAMMAD H R

Dec 20, 2018

its very informative course designed by Peking university for all basic mandarin ( Chinese language) learners. hope the other students will also get benefit from your endeavors. Wish you luck

By Cheong S L

May 31, 2020

It is pretty suitable for beginners to know mandarin as a kickstart of the learning journey. I will definitely introduce this to my friends who are on the beginner level of mandarin language.

By Sofia C

Apr 30, 2020

Había tomado clases de chino hace unos años... la verdad que el curso me fue muy útil para refrescar la memoria en lo que respecta al vocabulario y frases como para entablar una conversación.

By Rattanaporn K

Apr 19, 2020

It might be hard to me for pronounce correctly. And no one guide me. However, it’s not difficult too much because teacher is understanding of a mature student trying to learn Chinese language

By Lorena M R S

Jan 28, 2019

Un curso bastante completo , la maestra es muy buena y te motiva a seguir hasta alcanzar el objetivo.

Muy recomendable ! Sin duda tomaría otro curso impartido por está maestra felicitaciones !