Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
40,480 ratings
10,362 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

DD
May 1, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Jesse O

Sep 17, 2019

I liked this course a lot! I just wish that more of the sentences would have had a literal translation so that during a lesson or test you could be able to recall certain vocabulary words. Often ties during tests I could not figure out which words were which and the proper grammar structure.

By Marimar S

Sep 18, 2021

Excellent course. It has the organization required to learn the base of the language. The examples are easy to understand and the lecture notes are useful to practice. You find out that it's less complicated than you think. Literally First Step, and a good step to begin learning this language

By Athirah N b A

Jun 28, 2021

p​ersonally, i really love this course. This perfectly suit for the beginner. it helps a lot for people who really has a basic hangul words. For me, before you enrolled this course, you need to learn to read the alphabets first then it will be easy for you to ace this course. Anyways, thanks!

By Merlina J

Oct 12, 2020

I learned a lot about the language. The teaching method is very effective. It's simple and easy. I am able to learn the Korean Language just as I learned my native language,it's that effective.

If you have the potential, then Coursera helps you to make it possible completely...in my opinion!!

By Samantha A R

Aug 14, 2020

It's really good, you can really come from knowing nothing to get some good advices and very useful knowledge. Just that it matters a lot how commited you are to learn by yourself with all the tools that you're handed. I liked it a lot, and it was something interesting to do during vacations.

By Aurora G

Jul 30, 2020

Although I already have some knowledge about the Korean Language, this course was still very helpful since it breaks down the challenging parts such as the pronunciation of words that differ from how they are spelled. The information about the culture was also interesting to learn. Thank you!

By Савчукова А Е

Aug 1, 2017

Quite a good system of learning the basics of the language within a short period of time though after this course I still don`t get the sentence structure and the main grammar rules. However, this course helped me to understand Hangul which is very important for my feature studies. Thank you!

By Suganya

Aug 8, 2021

I am excited and feel happy to get this course and got received my certificate. I thank Coursera and team and most importantly my first ever Korean teacher Seung Hae Kang-ssi , your way of teaching is amazing. I learnt a lot . I will continue my learning and will achieve my goal.Thank you!!!

By Irene E C A

Dec 15, 2020

Es un curso muy bueno , en escritura, lenguaje, gramática, entre otros aspectos;. Abarca diferentes puntos de la vida cotidiana en la comunicación, lo cual es excelente.

Los videos, practicas y el graded quiz son educativos y la vez se pone en practica lo aprendido, lo cual lo hace excelente.

By Marselina U W

Jul 2, 2020

The course is very useful and the teacher helps us easily understand the materials. Before this course, I tried several learning materials, but this one is really cover the whole basic understanding quickly. I highly recommended this course for anyone who wants to understand Korean language.

By Melissa Y L

May 30, 2020

It’s easy to follow. Information is in bite sized and doesn’t overwhelm you. The patterns and irregularities in verbs are explained so clearly so that everything makes sense. I really like how the sentences and words are pronounced so clearly so you get a very good sense of how it is spoken.

By kiran s

May 22, 2020

I can read korean and write it.. I will work hard on my vocabulary to talk with native speaker and speak fluently..the teacher is so good nd the way she teaxh is superb..thanks coursera for making it possible to learn korean during this quarantine time..also big thanks to Yongsei university.

By Yulitza B

Apr 9, 2020

I already knew some about the korean language, but now I can say that I can understand a bit of korean culture and why they are so proud about their language. Although it's hard to get the hang of it, it's really easy once you learn the alphabet and learn the numbers -both systems- by heart.

By Nicole B

Nov 6, 2019

I finally found a practical Korean course divided into 5 weeks of learning, it’s provided by Yonsei university one of the best Korean universities, and I learned more in these days compared to years trying to sort out things by myself on the book! It’s really simple and good I recommend it.

By Kelly

Nov 15, 2021

Professor Seung Hae Kang explains in great detail, he vocalizes in a way that is understood, but it would be helpful if it was written exactly as it is pronounced. Well, pronunciation is difficult. But otherwise, I love her classes with her. I recommend it to those who want to learn Korean.

By Binal S

Aug 22, 2021

A really good starting point for anyone interested in learning Korean(Speaking and writing). The lessons are comprehensive and concise, so it's very easy to understand. And the review pdfs make revising lesson very easy. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning Korean.

By Marilyn E M O

Sep 18, 2020

I am really thankful to Yonsei University for the chance to learn Korean all the way from Mexico, but even more thankful to our teacher Kang Seunhae for being so clear and detailed at explaining every little aspect of the learning units. I definitely improved my pronunciation thanks to her.

By Priscilla T D T

Aug 28, 2020

It was a highly informative course. At the end of the course, understanding and speaking Korean may still be a challenge. But you will somehow be able to begin to use context clues in listening to sentences or people speaking in Korean. The vocabulary given every week has been very helpful.

By gabriela r b

Aug 6, 2020

The teacher should speak a little bit slowly, I don’t mind the english but it’s a different language. Specially, when she is teaching you, vocabulary, the sound of each word in Hangeul so I lost a lot of time trying to get the sound of the word , how it’s written and how I have to write it.

By Laura A

Aug 4, 2020

Me encantó el curso. Es bastante práctico y dan bastante información interesante. Obviamente la práctica personal hará que interiorice mejor todo el contenido aprendido. Pero sin darme cuenta y solo tomando notas de cada lección ya aprendí a leer casi fluido. Ahora solo queda practicar más!

By Kyle S

Sep 14, 2017

Very rigorous, moves quickly through Hangul and a large amount of grammar and vocabulary. Pacing is very fast -- expect to review a lot, even if you're good at languages. If you want a slower pace and more listening practice, start Yonsei's other Korean course after week 1 of this course.

By Anne

Nov 28, 2021

This course is very suitable for beginner. In this course, you will learn about vocabulary, pronunciation, some basic grammar and learn how to use it in real life in detail. Thanks to this, I can have a good prepare for learning Korean by the way easier. Thank you so much for this course!

By Deepkant R

Nov 10, 2021

I am very happy to share my oppinion about this course.This is really a masterpiece for learning basis of korean language and who look for learn korean this is the best choise for him.The content in this course is really outstanding and helpfull.At last, I Thanks our tutor for this course.

By Heidi J

Aug 23, 2021

W​anting to learn Korea for a long time but never been able to take some couse, thankfully now I can take couse online here, the subject was beginner friendly, learn some grammar and some vocab. Hopefully can learn more about Korea later on and can watch Korean variety show without subs :D

By Elizabeth P

Apr 30, 2020

Excelente curso, la dinámica de aprendizaje es muy buena al igual de todo el proceso de enseñanza por parte de la profesora. Particularmente los examenes están muy bien impartidos, el mezclar audio, lectura hacen que realmente estudies y tengas que entender el idioma al cien. Muy contenta.