Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
40,466 ratings
10,362 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

DD
May 1, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By aru

Jan 23, 2021

This course was just what I needed to begin learning the Korean language . Its structure and pace is very good. Thank you so much, to the professor, University, and the team that made this course possible. I really enjoyed learning with it!

By Student: A M

Nov 24, 2020

I literally learned so much. The assignments and quizzes really helped me and I also took my own notes which helped me as well. I would recommend this course to any beginner who is trying to learn Korean! Also, stream the BE album by BTS!!!

By Hanna N

Aug 7, 2020

This course really help me who want to knows more korean language without take offline course. The material really understandable for beginner. Thank you so much for mrs. Kang, coursera and yonsei University for provide this online course.

By Raouf

Jul 28, 2020

Parfait. L’explication est toujours précise et très détaillée. Je remercie Yonsei Université!! À présent je vais au deuxième module en espérant que l’efficacité des lessons soient aussi excellentes que celles de mon cours précédent. Merci !

By Kimberly B F

Jun 14, 2020

I truly enjoyed taking this course. It helped me to understand the pronunciation of the Korean language. I took the course to challenge myself to learn a new language and this was a great start. Thank you for offering the course for free.

By Thanyakon

May 19, 2020

I'm interesting in Korean language cause I love in K-pop and I need to understand what they said and wrote. Now I can read a little in Korean and can understand some listening. So I will practice as well as I can understand clearly. Thanks.

By fengyinnn W

May 7, 2020

First Step Korean course is the best one of Korean language course for beginners that I have ever learn. The instructor can explain all of difficult things to be in a simple words so we can understand quickly and easily. Yonsei is the best!

By Janjira C

May 3, 2020

I love this class so much. The teacher speaks quite slow and I do understand her completely. Also, the quizzes are not too hard. Thank you so much to have this awesome class for those who want to study and learn Korean language and culture.

By Rosalina B S

Feb 16, 2019

Es bastante rápido como se aprende, es un curso para aprender sobre lectura y escritura del Hangul básico, realmente es una gran oportunidad poder llevarlo, y vale cada minuto invertido, ya que el conocimiento adquirido es bastante elevado.

By Vania J C M

Mar 14, 2018

Es un buen curso para comenzar a aprender coreano, tiene subtitulos en muchos idiomas, incluyendo el español, al final los subtitulos en español fallan pero en cuanto a la enseñanza es muy básica y fácil de aprender; totalmente recomendado.

By Kimmy D

Aug 7, 2021

This is my first free course here in Coursera and this course is really helpful. I didnt expect that Ill be joining a Korean online class thus this course that I took in advance really helped me at the start of my class- thank you so much!

By Ksenia A

Feb 21, 2021

It's a great course to get the basics of Korean - alphabet, introducing yourself, talking about professions, time, and places. The fact that there is a real teacher and not an AI speaking helps a lot when it comes to pronunciation. 고맙습니다 !

By Maria M U C

Oct 18, 2020

Es la forma más fácil y rápida para empezar a estudiar un idioma tan hermoso como es el coreano, super recomendado, las lecciones están muy bien diseñadas para que los principiantes podamos analizar y comprender el uso y manejo del idioma.

By Abinaya K

Aug 21, 2020

It was a wonderful course. It helped me learn step by step and now I can read and write Korean. I am happy with this course. I may not be able to speak fluently just yet but this beginners course covered everything to be able to get there.

By Tanabordin L

May 31, 2020

I would like this course to have more week for fundamental gramma lesson some of them made me confuse such as 은, 는, 이, 가, 을, 를, 에, 에서 etc. but overall it is easy to understand basic daily life conversation. Very good!! Thank you very much.

By Sayali C

May 20, 2020

Step by step, in-depth guidance offered. I feel confident to talk about my daily life in korean language. Of course, for such a language practice is a must. I highly recommend this course who are truly interested in learning this language.

By Beatriz S

Jul 9, 2019

All the information is very well explained. Enrolled knowing absolutely nothing about Korean and now I can actually read and form simple sentences. Pushed me to really learn the alphabet instead of relying on English phonetic translations.

By Ruby M

Aug 31, 2021

I am just incredibly happy to utilise the skills of learning a language free of cost, the modules were valuable and I feel more productive and skilled as a person since completing this module. I will be doing more modules in the future :)

By ana c d s e s

Jun 8, 2021

muito bom. Adorei aprender e espero colocar esse conhecimento em prática no futuro. Muito obrigado por esta ajuda. (very good. I loved learning and hope to put this knowledge into practice in the future. Thank you very much for this help.

By Bea R

Mar 28, 2021

This is a really great way to introduce yourself to Korean. The video lectures and the worksheets were very helpful and the quizzes were well thought out. If anyone is hesitating, I 100% recommend trying it out as it lives up to its name.

By Anna G

Mar 6, 2021

This course was so helpful! I started learning korean since last year but thanks to this course I felt like I was actually learning really fast, it was easy to follow along each lessons, it keeps you motivated to learn the korean language

By Panpassa K

Jan 19, 2021

I really love this course. I sometimes canot catch up with the instructor because she gave me a big pack of stuff to learn but after I read over it and study my note more, I really get it. Thanks to anybody who is involved in this course.

By Zyanya L C A

Apr 3, 2018

very nice course, i find it very useful to remember some of the things i learned before but also helped me a lot to resolve some doubts about the reason of the use of some particles or why some word become in a different sound. thank you.

By norika n

Oct 3, 2021

Thank you for Yonsei University and Coursera. Now, I can read the hangul and I know some sentance to ask or aanswer the usual question. The Course very helpful and make me understand easly. Next I will learn more about korean languange .

By Dunja R

May 23, 2021

I love this course. It is simple, there is lots of repetition, and lots of practice. My only suggestions would be not to introduce new material in the review module, and to repeat the dialogue from the beginning of the lesson at the end.