Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
42,323 ratings
10,740 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

DD

May 1, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

AN

May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Kristin G

Jul 2, 2020

It was an easy and fun way to learn Korean. Professor Seung Hae Kang made this class interesting and incredibly easy to follow and understand. I will highly recommend this to anyone who wants to start learning Korean as this teaches you the fundamentals to have a normal, basic conversation with someone.

By Arminta E

Aug 14, 2021

This course is really helpful. I have basic in reading and writing Hangeul and this course helps me sharpen it by giving daily life conversations. Thank you so much Prof. Seung Hae Kang. I hope I can continue my study at Yonsei University so we can finally meet in person. Once again, thank you so much.

By Susan L

Jun 21, 2020

Great for introduction to new information and revision on what I have already learned prior to the course. Well planned out, the text narrative for videos is really helpful, but not all were translated as Korean text. The addition of Korean text for the conversations along with English would be useful.

By Veronica C

Jun 7, 2020

Well-paced course. You're thrown in headfirst into grammar and sentence making. Of course, it is expected to take time on your own to learn Hangul, which I feel is best to get a grip on before starting. This course is perfect to build a solid foundation and I hope to continue learning Korean on my own.

By Alexander G

May 29, 2020

This is a very useful course with a complete base for a very beginner like me. This course coveres all the basic topics that you need to start making a conversation with more than a simple guide, I mean, ir has it but it goes beyond expected and that's what it makes it very useful. I'm really thankful.

By Chelsie P

Sep 23, 2019

This course has a lot of great information for both language and cultural insight. This class has helped me to learn to introduce myself and my family; something I wasn't able to do from learning on my own. Definitely a great start for those you are trying to learn Korean and don't know where to start!

By NAGATI P

Aug 27, 2019

This course is easy to learn and understand. As I've already learned the Korean language, this course seems so easy. But I hope that there should be a practice session for vocabulary along with the quizzes on grammar. I think that there should be more questions in the quizzes. Thank you for the course.

By Alejandro G

May 14, 2017

i loved everything, the time you took to do this, the effort, and patience, i'd really want to lean more if i got the chance, go to korea sometime and see the daily life with my own eyes, i'm really thankfull for the opportunity to study with a great teacher like Seung Hae Kang, thanks again, Alejandro

By Ingrid N

Feb 12, 2022

Otimó curso, com um design simples de entender, as atividades após cada aula ajudam a fixar a matéria. Professora nativa que nos explica a maneira correta de pronunciar e como escutaremos um coreano nativo falar. Muito bom! Vi coisas nesses curso que nunca tinha ouvido falar em nenhum outro. Obrigada!

By Jhoselyn J

May 7, 2021

I was fascinated by the course, I learned a lot, my expectations of the course were beyond what I thought, Professor Seung Hae Kang, her methodology is incredible, very clear and understandable. I am more motivated to continue studying the Hangul language. I hope one day to study at Yonsei University.

By Cath A

Apr 19, 2020

Very helpful! However, may I give a suggestion regarding the vocabulary part? I personally think it would be better if there is one lecture note that contains only the vocabularies used (with illustrations for visual memory). I believe it would be helpful in memorization and familiarization. 정말 감사합니다!

By Lola O S W

Sep 20, 2019

This is a great course! Definitely pick this course if you want to learn Korean, but you are a total beginner and you don't know where to start. The teaching methods are really good, and I recommend this to everyone beginning to learn Korean. The teacher is so nice, and she makes you feel comfortable.

By Jubilation Z

Oct 2, 2018

The instructor for the course made the new language so easy and interesting to learn. I attribute my success in finishing this course to my passion for hangul and the teacher. She made the lessons fun and highly effective while being precise and comprehensive. I would take another course with her.👍🏻

By Xavier S

Mar 3, 2021

For Spanish speaking person, and first time seen Korean, it is difficult to understand.

nevertheless i am committed to keep learning, in order to be fluent Korean speaking.

the Course is very well organize and the teacher speak very well English, so at the end you can catch the main idea of the lesson.

By L. M M

Sep 24, 2021

Me gusto mucho el curso e aprendido mejor el idioma Coreano y me a ayudado bastante.. solo me gustaría que mejoren los subtítulos en Spanish ya que hay algunos Capítulos que no los tienen o están mal traducidos.. es mi sincera opinión, pero todo lo demás esta increíble... Muchas gracias por el curso

By TAMARA Q S

Dec 12, 2020

everything is fin . Thanks for everything

The course really served me

AHORA PODRE ENTENDER MEJOR CUANDO ESCUCHE ALGUNA CANCION O AL VER UN DRAMA O MEJOR AUN SI ALGUN DIA LOGRE IR A COREA Y PUEDA HABLAR CON GENTE DE COREA EN SU IDOMA Y OTRA VEZ MAS GRACIAS POR TODO EL CURSO ES MUY BUENO Y EFICIENTE .

By Tep C

Sep 22, 2020

The course was extremely helpful in learning the Korean language. The discussions and lessons were brief, concise, and complete which made it easier for learners to understand. What I liked the most was the vocabulary because most of them were unfamiliar to me and it was exciting to learn new words.

By Karla P H S

Sep 6, 2020

Muy bueno, la profesora explica muy bien. Realmente es un gran curso para las personas que recién empiezan con el coreano. Y para las personas que ya tienen conocimiento básico, también los refuerza y hace que practiquemos con situaciones del día a día, lo cual hace que el aprendizaje sea más ameno.

By Christina I

Jul 7, 2020

The course was easy to follow and the professor gives a lot of good vocabulary to know as well as offering simple and easy to understand breakdowns of how certain sentences are structured. I also liked how she provided help with pronunciation! Really good beginner class to take to know the basics :)

By Natthaya C

Jun 22, 2020

I really like this course.

I have learned and practiced Korean grammar skills.

Speaking, writing and others in this course.

Thank you to teacher Seung Hae Kang for each lesson in detail and easy to understand.

You help me understand Korean better.

And thank you for the free courses and certificates.

By Emma S N

Mar 27, 2022

Muy bien explicado y fácil de entender.

La semana 5 ha sido la más difícil porque no tenía la traducción en español y algunas cosas no las entendia, pero eso no es por el curso sino por no entenderlo yo bien en inglés.

Muchas gracias por enseñarnos. Pronto seguire con otro curso.

Saludos desde España.

By Dahpon H

Aug 27, 2021

A nice introduction to Korean sounds and basics, thank you! I am a beginner and appreciate how each sound is made comprehensible and is repeated on multiple occasions. The method of review and quizzes is useful because it makes the student practice reading Hangul letters and syllables many times.

By Lora C

Nov 1, 2020

This course is very interesting and was discussed in a very understandable way. I love how it started with conversation then pronunciation then to construction, Additional vocabulary was also added in every lesson. Overall, the course make me love korean language more! Thank you, Professor Kang! :)

By Cristina G

Feb 28, 2021

Muy bueno, aprendi mucho en este curso

La profesora es muy buena explicando y tiene muy buena pronunciación ademas de un muy buen ingles para explicar. Los ejercicios ayudan mucho para practicar la pronunciación y la escritura y los test estan en un grado de dificultad muy bueno 100% recomendable

By Mahder G

Dec 3, 2020

Simply presented, love it! I can't believe I finished a course, which was so unlike me...it was very motivating to test myself through quizes, and see the 'completed' sign for every week. I'm so happy to have done something fruitful, and I highly recommend it to others as well. Thank you so much.