Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
46,160 ratings

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

MS

Jun 30, 2021

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

PW

May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.

the instructor gives me good teaching and more information.

I can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By c y

Jul 30, 2021

This unit really helps me even on listening, writing and teach me how to recognize korean alphabet. I also learned additional vocabulary from each lesson, ask and response to the simple sentence. Wish to have "Second Step Korean" and I really like this lecturer as well. Thank you so much for teaching me a lot.

By Tania M

Oct 13, 2020

Al inicio tuve miedo, ya que hace unos meses estuve estudiando chino y lo sentí difícil. Sin embargo, el coreano el un idioma muy enriquecido, sencillo y completo. A pesar de que se me dificulto con los números, aprendí bastante. Aconsejo, memorizar las vocales, las consonantes y los sonidos. Muy recomendable.

By Samyya

May 21, 2020

I highly recommend this course for beginners, and for those who are starting out with the basics of Korean. Even though I already knew hangul, the details in the course gave me a better understanding of how the sounds were made. There is so much this one course did for me in the short time that I completed it.

By Zareen M

Jul 28, 2019

Easy to follow course that teaches important skills. I feel quite confident in the skills I have learnt and hope to continue learning Korean. My only criticism is the three way conversation tasks in the first few weeks is slightly confusing, but it is explained well and the conversations are realistic enough.

By sherley b

Sep 11, 2021

This course was a great beginner course. The lessons were well developed, included important grammatical content and was easy to follow. It helped me reinforce some of the knowledge I had acquired previously. The teacher spoke very well and clearly. I recommended it to all my friends learning Korean.

Thank you

By Nurin Q

Apr 13, 2020

hi. my name is nurin from malaysia. this courses is really help me improve my level. i never take any classes before and i am learning from tv like dramas, variety shows, songs. its is my first time taking lesson and it is good. thank you for this opportunity. i am really happy to be able joining this lesson.

By Nathalia V C

Jan 11, 2018

Dynamic and efficent way to learn the first steps to korean language and to improve your basic korean skills such as reading, writing, listening and speaking.

It'll help you learn basic expressions used in everyday life throught dialogues and role-plays, evaluating your pronunciation, vocabulary and grammar.

By Fruzsina D

Oct 23, 2016

It was really informative, we could learn from many topics and I really enjoyed how short but well-made were every unit! I feel I learnt a lot and I know Korean much better after completing this course! Thank you so much for such an amazing opportunity, I will practise hard to speak Korean even more fluently!

By Shivani G

Oct 10, 2021

I am an avid follower of KDramas and was increasingly fascinated by the language. Thanks to First step Korean, I now can understand basic sentences. The course is well structured and help to create a solid foundation to learn the language. I hope coursera would bring an intermediate level course of the same.

By Seven A

May 3, 2021

I really enjoy to learned this course. Our instructer is really good. She teaches us very easy and simple method that's why I understand it very well. Thank you Mam because of you I learn basic things very easily. I practice it regularly more and more. Thank you Yonsei University to giving me this oportunity

By Laura g d

Apr 29, 2021

Wonderfull, it's a complete course that will help you to understand from the most basic topics like the hangul alphabet to the most advanced step into this course that is complete sentences and conjugation verbs. I highly recommend this course it's a really good beginning if you are interest in learn korean.

By YaFei C

Sep 20, 2020

It's very easy for the students who already have some basic concept of Hangul, it's just like review. But it's also easy for very beginner to learn. It's clear to know what it is different from the pronunciation even the professor didn't mention deeply about it. It's worthy to take time to learn the Hangul!!

By Emilia P C

Aug 27, 2020

Realmente es un curso que esta muy bien pensado sobre todo por que puedes realizarlo con calma ya que las leccines no llevan mucho tiempo.

Y en mi casi al ya saber varias de las cosas que aqui se enseñana me ayudo a reforzar mis conocimientos pero sobre todo hacer que yo no olvide lo aprendidio anteriormente.

By Isabella

May 19, 2020

It's a very organized and practical course. I can see why this course is classical and popular for Korean zero level learners. The grammar content is quite clear and essential. I even make some my own summaries from every lesson (maybe because Korean is somehow similar to Japanese and I know a bit Japanese~)

By Tatianac

Jun 26, 2018

Even if you know some korean this class is a great refresher course along with a great way to further your korean and really learn and understand why certain words are the way they are. This buids a great foundation for furthering the learning of korean language and making learning and studying much easier.

By María d C M V

May 19, 2022

Me gustó mucho el curso. Fue muy entretenido, además de que aprendes sobre la cultura coreana. Lo que si me gustaría es que coloquen la pronunciación en el material, pues hay algunas cosas que no estuve pronunciando bien y tuve que buscar por mi cuenta. Fuera de eso, muy eficiente el programa. Recomendado.

By María S

Oct 27, 2021

En este curso pude aprender mucho sobre el idioma, las explicaciones fueron muy claras y pude mejorar lo que ya había aprendido antes de ingresar, me quedo con una gran satisfacción ya que entiendo mucho mas el idioma lo que me servirá a futuro. Gracias por el esfuerzo invertido en este y los demás cursos.

By Lindsay D R

Aug 16, 2021

Me gusto mucho el curso es básico y cubre varias áreas para una comunicación cotidiana. Te lo recomiendo y si debes tener una base de ingles básico para que puedas entender aún más este lindo idioma. Agradezco a la profesora Seung Hae Kang por sus explicaciones y pronunciaciones entendibles para el alumno.

By ELIZABETH P C

May 21, 2021

Me gusto mucho el curso, creo que el desarrollo de los temas, así como los ejercicios están muy bien planteados y desarrollados, me encetaría poder continuar con el siguiente nivel. Lo único que no me gusto fue que en algunos videos decía que contaba con subtítulos en español y terminaban siendo en ingles.

By Esmeralda J M V

Sep 18, 2020

Excellent course to start learning Korean from the very basics!

I really recommend it, all the lessons are understandable and the exercises are helpful, of course you need to keep practicing by your own, but this course gives you enough tools to do it~ I'll take the other course given by Yonsei Univertisty~

By RS

Apr 26, 2020

It's a very well laid out course, covering the basics of self introduction, introducing your family, telling time/place, and what you're doing. All useful vocabulary and grammar structure for basic conversations.

Highly recommend to anyone who is starting out with Korean -- I learned a lot from this course!

By Kristi

May 14, 2021

This course was extremely informative and actually kind of fun! I felt like I really challenged myself, and the modules were easy to understand. I had a little bit of trouble with the spoken parts of the tests, but I got through it. I hope to solidify my learning through K-Dramas and K-Pop, lol! 감사합니다 연세!

By Marija B

Jan 23, 2021

The course is really well done, the explanations are clear and useful. The teacher is very pleasant to listen to. I enjoyed taking this course thoroughly. The only thing I might deem as negative is its length. I think it would be great to be able to continue learning with this course long-term. Thank you!

By Cindy H

Sep 13, 2020

Excelente curso, muy explicativo y fácil de comprender. El tiempo empleado es el adecuado para el aprendizaje del idioma, estoy muy feliz por la oportunidad, Seung Hae Kang 선생님 감사합니다 por toda la enseñanza, la práctica diaria nos permitirá reforzar todo lo aprendido en este maravilloso curso. ¡Mil gracias!

By Abhinav C

Aug 10, 2020

This is a superb course. It goes through the basics quickly and really helps develop a grasp pf Hangul and basic grammatical forms. It is not very difficult nor too easy. In fact, a lot of practice is needed to absorb everything introduced in the course. . It would be great to have more modules like this.