Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
4,553 ratings
1,375 reviews

About the Course

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top reviews

HA

Aug 18, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

CV

Nov 17, 2017

This is a introductory course i would recommend. I especially liked that the instructors took the time to go through the python visualizer and try to unveil some of the background workings in python.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,356 Reviews for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

By Leith S

Apr 22, 2017

Excellent

By Sharanappa k

Jul 28, 2020

Good one

By Abiza Y

Jan 21, 2020

Perfect!

By Andre T

Jan 25, 2019

The best

By Terrance C

Mar 22, 2018

Love it!

By SABA N

May 28, 2020

awesome

By Sanghyun C

Feb 08, 2018

awesome

By Pranav P

Dec 30, 2016

AMAZING

By Dingyanshen M

Aug 15, 2019

useful

By Shashank P

Nov 09, 2017

Thanks

By Mohammadreza S

Aug 28, 2020

great

By Pritam K

May 03, 2020

Great

By nayancy g

May 08, 2019

GOOD.

By Stephen R

Jan 28, 2019

Great

By Ching-Jui S

Dec 23, 2017

great

By Yara F

Oct 27, 2017

great

By Leo J M M

Jul 23, 2017

great

By Pramod K G

Jun 16, 2020

Good

By Stefan B

May 15, 2019

F

u

n

!

By Satheeshkumar M

Dec 27, 2017

good

By Samuel W

Nov 24, 2016

Nice

By 杨豆豆

Aug 19, 2017

挺好的

By Netravati G

Jul 26, 2020

--

By Shivesh C

Apr 06, 2020

i

By Zubaer K

Jan 04, 2018

IF YOU'RE NEW TO PROGRAMMING, READ THIS. The course was helpful in getting started understanding the fundamentals of programming. However, what was waaaaay more helpful was the textbook written by the teachers of this course.

If you rely on this course alone to teach you anything, unless you already have an in-depth understanding of programming in another language, you will be completely lost. Honestly, I don't even understand how someone could pretend that this is a viable approach to learning programming. It's probably why I've failed at learning so many times before.

A much more helpful approach is to get the textbook, PRACTICAL PROGRAMMING - AN INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTER SCIENCE USING PYTHON 3, and read the chapters before watching the videos. Almost all of the weeks of the course line up perfectly with the chapters of the textbook, so you don't have to read too far ahead. The course covers chapters 1-11, although not everything is covered. One other helpful trick is to look at the course documents for the week - they often show what chapter and section they are covering, so you can read that specific part before watching the videos.

I just finished the course and I am excited to finally have figured out how to get started on coding. Hoping and crossing fingers and toes that the second course in this series is as good as the first.