Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
77,213 ratings
21,783 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

KG
Feb 3, 2016

I specially like the optional interviews. These learning case studies are quite insightful and you might just find a something that you can relate to, which might help in the grand scheme of things :)

EB
May 19, 2016

I found this course incredibly useful and practical. It has not only helped me better understand the process of learning but it has also given me valuable tools in how to optimize my learning process.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Carlos E P V

Apr 25, 2017

Make yourself a favor, just take the course. I have done a lot of the opposite of what I should have done. Barbara Oakley is so nice to explain to you, every video is easy to muster and follow. The course is not solely study techniques in the conventional form, the most valuable parts are how our brain solves problems and the basic chemistry that affects it. I enjoyed, I have not finished watching the optional videos but I will and even bought the book. Definitely will review it often or as Dr Barbara said "try to recall" big parts of it and learn it deeply.

By Almyn C A

Jul 24, 2020

This is an amazing course. While deceptively short, it holds a wealth of information about learning and the science behind it. What I like the most are the optional videos and readings. I think half the time I spent on this course was spent reading blogs, articles, scientific journal articles, and reading video transcripts from optional resources. While some of the tips seemed to me, at first, pedantic and repetitive, learning the science behind them instilled in me new appreciation for them. This course was also a great reminder why I truly enjoy learning.

By Ramon M

May 11, 2019

Excellent course. Being 78, I have developed during the years, mainly by trial and error, some learning techniques.

It is very rewarding to find out the reasons why some work, and learn many other, some counterintuitive, ways of improving concentration, avoid procrastination, and get better at passing tests.

Course is very clearly explained, has ample bibligraphy to further develop any subject of particular interest, and presents interviews with people who have either developed or succeeding in applying these techniques in defferent fields.

Highly recommended

By Maribeth C Y

Sep 28, 2016

This is a marvelous course. Lectures sent my enthusiasm into deeper learning at additional resources many time. I have recommended the course to peers (retired) and to parents of struggling youth, as well as to folks who need to master new skills. Oakley is fantastic and so down-to-earth and real. Never enjoyed a course more, and will probably go thru it again to refresh periodically. Highly recommended for anyone to wants to get a handle on the pragmatic steps to getting something into your head! Let Oakley take you by the hand, you won't regret the time.

By Abdulrahman A

Sep 3, 2018

Just finished the course and I'm very impressed. I came to the conclusion that I had many pits in learning. This course offered me the opportunity to pinpoint these obstacles. It further widened my insight into what learning is all about and how to maximize benefit from learning any topic. Throughout the course, I've done many tasks that either involve me learning new material or ticking off some points off my to-do list. To my surprise, I was able to finish off many tasks and learn in a non labored and efficient way. Learning became rather interesting!!!

By Mike

May 10, 2018

During this course i've had the pleasure of deepening my understanding of memory tools I knew of, and learning about memory tools I had never heard of before. The course has a very logical and easy to follow program. Applying everything you learn, will definitely help you in life as you seek to broaden your horizons.

I took this course because i wanted to take other courses after this one and starting here seemed to be the most logical thing to do. I recommend learning how to learn to anyone who has no idea what learning is beyond reading stuff in a books.

By anant t

May 23, 2020

You truly are the greatest teacher ever. Thank you! Thank you for sharing with me the love you have for education. I'll always appreciate the way you've teached me in this course. You gave me the strength I needed to take the next steps toward my dream. "The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away." i 'm so grateful you were my teacher in this course.

Thank you so much

By Aleksa G

Aug 29, 2019

An amazing course which should be obligatory in every high-school. Learning how to learn in the early stage of your life (especially before you start going to the faculty) can be invaluable. Some people are "lucky" enough to find their own methods (which work amazing for them) during their learning journey, as was the case with me, but we should make it systematic by integrating it into the official school system! And even for people that already have success with learning, we can always learn new and useful tips & tricks, as I did finishing this course.

By Gyorgy G

Aug 1, 2019

I found it very interesting, came in well-sized portions (chunks) on an easy-to-understand way. You do not need to be master in neuroscience to understand and it actually showed some useful techniques what resonated with my past experience in learning. I try to get my son to complete it as I would have benefited a lot from this knowledge if I had the opportunity to learn how to learn when I was in his age.

Thanks a lot for Barb Oakley, Terry Sejnowski, and the Team Learning How to Learn for the opportunity, it was a great experience to take this course!

By Megan B

Sep 28, 2017

Excellent course! I have an amateur love of the brain and this course helped to solidify my understanding of how the brain learns through metaphor and analogy. I've taken away many practical tools to help me better learn, most notably the pomadoro technique and allowing myself diffuse thinking when writing. This latter tool, by turning my screen black when I type, has been a huge help to get my out of Einstellung and the focus/edit mode which can prohibit my writing and leave me stuck. Thank you for this excellent course - can't wait to take Mindshift!

By Himanshu K S

Jan 14, 2017

This course has been very helpful in identifying where I was going wrong in my studying habits. It has helped me build mental calibre to approach learning new things while being excited about it rather than having any kind of fear. The course is very insightful and will make one realize every single damn thing they have been doing wrong while learning. Lastly, the learnings from this course is going to stay with me for the rest of my life and I am gonna learn everything more effectively. Thank you, @Barbara Oakley for sharing this awesome course with us.

By Tona M

Jan 13, 2018

THis course takes the science behind learning, a very complex subject, and makes it easy to understand and apply. Dr. Oakley teaches techniques to use, the best methods for using them, and the reasoning behind them. During the course, both instructors apply techniques to varying subjects and varying levels of study. I enjoyed this course both for the serious science and practical information, and for the levity and enthusiasm with which the instructors approached the topic. The further reading references were very helpful and thought provoking, as well.

By 陈立

Jan 31, 2020

It is a course that opened my eyes to the latest advances in neuroscience with its connection to learning. It could have saved my a lot of time had I learned it growing up, not to mention that I could have earned better grades as well. Thanks to Barbara and Terry, the current and future generations can benefit from the research and the ways of learning they put together. I want to point out that the course caters to a broad audience, so it does not go into the depths. Some of the reading materials they put down are great. It is worthwhile to read them.

By Laura P

Jan 25, 2016

I am so sad to see this class end. (At this moment, I'm at the very end of the last week.) So much information, presented so elegantly, explaining so much, answering questions I've had much of my life, this course was amazing.

Now, I just have to get every, single human I know and love to take the course next time it's offered. (Thank God that's only a week or so away!) I'm going to take it again, too. It's changed my life once, and I've got this feeling that if I give the information a second go-over, it may change my life at an even deeper level.

By Ghislain L

Sep 12, 2015

Je recommande ce cours fortement, j'adore ce cours il devrait être enseigner dès le jeune âge. Personnellement je pratiquais certains concepts par instinct, mais c'est rassurant de se le faire confirmer par des sommités dans le domaine.

J'ai appris des nouveaux concepts formidables et je vais aussi pouvoir corriger certaine mauvaise habitue ou illusion que j'avais.

Ce cours est une grande générosité, il permet aussi de constater à travers les entrevues, que même si vous êtes un peu différent de la masse, vous pouvez vous accomplir à des niveaux d'élite.

By Mina S

Aug 31, 2018

I learned from this course a lot , unfortunately I didn't complete it due to pressing business conditions as I was diligently searching for a job since my manager fired me because I used to watch the course videos during my break time using the company internet so he counted this situation as an abuse to company resources but I believe he fired me because I'm christian. Anyways, I would like to thank you so much for all the valuable information that I have gained from your course.

Barbra, you are wonderful .... keep up the great work.

Regards,

Mina Samir

By Antonio M B P

Apr 11, 2020

This course is amazing, the kind of things that you learn are awesome and very useful because you learn how brains work and why sometimes we don't get the understand of some topics. I recommend this course to any kind of student or professional, this will teach you a lot of useful tools that can improve your job and your life as well. The teachers are concise and the lessons explain the topic without blind points, Dr. Barbara and Dr. Terry are awesome teachers and I can assure you that you will have another kind of thinking after complete the course.

By Ashkan B A

Dec 6, 2016

This AWESOME course could help me to remove my bad character of learning process and methodology, actually I tough that my IQ is low since I have spend to much for study on my lessons but after watching course videos and see how our brain nerves system works I realized that not only my IQ is in good range but also I understand that I have creative memory.

All in all this course is the best course that I had I my life and all of you should commence this course ass soon as possible.

Thank you so much in deed Dr. Barbra Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski.

By Hoong

Apr 25, 2020

I have always been curious about how to learn effectively, so I frequently read a lot on related topics. Despite this, I still learn so many new interesting topics in this course! All of them not only cover concept but help to explain on how to turn them into actions, which are very helpful.This course should greatly help students, but even if you aren't a student, I still believe it's beneficial as we all need to learn new things (especially in this world of rapid change).Highly recommend to give it a try! It's only 4-weeks long, truly worth it :)

By Rosy D S

Apr 9, 2017

thanks. This course makes me more confident in learning new things, to grow & change, to maximize using Coursera courses I am taking & will be taking. For all those involved in Coursera & this course, thank you soooo much for having worked so hard to make these courses accessible, as I am unable to further my formal education, but I can still learn by enrolling in Coursera. Coursera is a very powerful source for me to be more competitive in the workplace. And this course will enable me to absorb more knowledge & skills in my office or other fields.

By Anshuman N

Aug 12, 2015

This course has been an eye-opener on many levels. It really helped me put things in perspective as far as learning any subject is concerned. Some of the tips resonated with what I've been hearing about education & learning since my growing up days, but I wouldn't have known what my deficiencies/drawbacks had I not taken this course. This course made me reflect about myself & my methods. As Prof. Oakley has stressed in this course, "One has to take responsibility for his/her own learning" and I would highly recommend this course. Happy Learning !!!

By Zairu S

Jul 24, 2020

This course is such a helpful course for those who want to delve in deeper in cognitive psychology while learning new ways in how to learn more efficiently. It's a great course and the instructors are the type of professors you can easily get along with. It's an easy four week course and I highly recommend this as a first course for the first timers as it will be a good reminder that learning isn't just about reading books or making notes. It's also how you put that knowledge in your life and how to deeply ingrain it in one's mind for a long time.

By Abbas Z

Jul 18, 2021

This is very useful course prepared and conduct by Dr. Barbara, it absolutely changes my perspective of learning and put me in new path to learning, I do recommend this course and training to all of you with any ages, seniority level or education background.

Prior to this training, I almost give-up new training and skills and prepare myself for going to sidewalk in terms of updating my skills and learning objective, but I am more confidence that I can learn new skills, knowledge and catch-up.

Thanks to this training and Dr. Barbra, God bless you.

By hivy a f

Jan 25, 2021

I highly recommend this course, not only you benefit from learning new technique, but you also know you are on the right path, you get inspired from people interviewed in this course, how they learned and always went after learning, they never lost their goal and found a way to learn what they set their mind to, finally, it made me really t always learn till the rest of my life. what is great about this course, that instructors support their concepts with scientific evidences, this reinforce your willpower to learn and improve your understanding.

By Xyrah V Q

Aug 5, 2020

It was such a pleasure to be in Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski's MOOC. I feel sad that I've finished the course, but I have already put holds on Dr. Oakley's books and currently reading one. The way she writes and the way she lectures is the same - engaging, funny, and thought-provoking. Thank you for this course, I have already begun to change my thoughts as advised in one of the lessons, and it has been doing wonders for me every day. The techniques mentioned here are applicable to everything that I do and not just in the classroom. Thanks again!