Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
77,090 ratings
21,761 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

PL
May 23, 2020

This course provides soft skills needed for continuous improvements which enhance my learning capabilities. It covers conceptual and practical approach to learn effectively and efficiently. Thank you!

GA
Jul 20, 2017

Really useful insights had been provided by this course. No price can be put on this valuable resource. It's beyond anything valuable. Thank you very much for making this course. God Bless Everyone :)

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Gaia F

May 7, 2020

This course was one of those life-changing moments for me. At the end of my first degree, I felt that the learning methods I used were not effective enough, and I wanted to know better. I stumbled upon this course and the rest is history. It really changed my learning, and I feel much more confident now about my abilities and about my future learning. I would also like to thank the instructors, and professor Barbara Oakley in particular, for providing a supportive learning environment, that inspires the students to believe in themselves and grow.

By Piper A L

Nov 5, 2019

This course is so intriguing. As a Psychology major during my undergraduate studies, the content presented in it really brought me back to what I've been learning in my courses. In addition to this, the analogies that the professors used to illustrate examples of concepts really made it easier for me to grasp the content of the course. It really rocks. I would absolutely recommend it to everyone who want to take an online course or just want to improve the way they learn. Go Coursera! Go McMaster University! Go University of California San Diego!

By santhosh k m v

Jan 7, 2016

It is Must do course for all to understand how well we can harness the power of brain to learn better and effectively any subjects.

They have given lots of practical and interesting suggestions to improve our learning. They are so simple techniques that we do sometime unknowingly or saw someone doing it, but we ignore it most of the time.

Now that we can see what they do actually to our learning , we ca kind of hack the mid to learn the stuff we need.

I am still doing the course and finding it interesting .. i will surely recommend it to others .

By Samina k

Apr 16, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski for putting together such a wonderful class.

The great techniques put forth from test taking to tips on avoiding procrastination, to the memory palace for remembering lists and focusing on process and not on results were were very well put forward in this class.

I am a 60 year old adult, who has lost complete faith that she can read and learn. This class has given me courage to move on and has given me a great sense of accomplishment. And has also taught me a lot along the way.

By Emanuel F

Apr 3, 2019

Amazing course

It's tips on memory, how to beat procrastination, and the use of focused and diffuse attention modes, as well as the diferences between working memory and long term memory and how they work, without forgetting the best ways of learning and the not so effective common practices called illusions of competence really were very helpful ideas that I'm decided to review them in spared days of the week to best retain them in my mind

Thanks to the team that made this possible

and a special thanks to Barbara and Terrence.

Cheers from Brazil :)

By Jun Y

Nov 28, 2021

It helps me to understand that you don't have to be smart to learn but it's learning by using effective ways. This course helps me to understand why procrastination happened and how we can resolve this. The content is extremely easy to understand and the videos are short and simple. Each week's about 40 minutes commitment and you are good to go. There are also extra reading and material given for us to take a deeper understanding in a scientific way that can help us learn effectively. Thanks to this, I now know how should I approach my studies

By Karim A

Apr 20, 2020

From where to begin,Well this course by far exceeded my expectations. It changed my way of thinking (gradually not suddenly) and the way I receive things.It helps me see things from a big picture like for example if you're struggling with material , it is not the end of the world , you just have a good sleep and come back tomorrow in which you would find the material much easier . It helps you tackle procrastination and memory issues and addresses you with simple yet power techniques you can master subject.Thank you Barabara,I loved her so much

By Gabrielle W

Jul 9, 2017

I am so happy I learned about this course after listening to Dr. Barbara Oakley interview with Matt Bodnar at the podcast The Science of Success. I am a reentry, transfer student about to start one of my biggest challenges, a BS degree in Cognitive Science with emphasis in Neuroscience. This course provided me with research based techniques that I am sure will be extremely helpful and positively impact my future grades and study life. Thank you Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Dr. Terrence Sejnowski for this fascinating course. I highly recommend it!

By Albert C

Nov 8, 2016

Ce cours devrait être suivi avant tout autre. Il donne les bases essentielles du fonctionnement du cerveau et permet à chacun de repérer, d'expérimenter de nouvelles approches neuro-économiques beaucoup plus efficaces. Ce cours m'est doublement utile :

En tant qu'apprenant, il est très agréable à suivre et révèle nos tendances ou nos habitudes peu efficaces.

En tant que concepteur de formation e-learning, il permet de concevoir des séquences d'apprentissage efficientes. Je remercie chaleureusement T. Sejnowski, F. Crick et B. Oakley.

By Gorobets V

Mar 3, 2016

This course is very useful and practicable despite of some obvious things at the beginning and not very useful 'additional videos'. I have already started to apply the knowledge I received during this wonderful course and I will, certainly, pass this knowledge to my relatives and friends to enhance their ability to learn and be smarter. Thank you very much Barbara and Teren! Thank you very much entire team who took part in organization of the course and definitely big 'thank you' to Coursera for such marvelous opportunities in online studying!

By Lauri Y

Jan 4, 2016

This was a very good course. I think it is accessible to a very wide audience ranging from high schoolers to doctorates. Even people with high education and a lot of studying behind can learn studying tips from this course.

The presentation is geared more towards wider audiences. However, the more reading -sections and references are exceptionally well written and detailed, and provide a great starting place for those willing to delve more deeply in the subject.

I warmly recommend this course to anyone wanting to improve their learning skills!

By Maneesh S

Nov 17, 2020

As explained in the final videos by the instructors, all our learning efforts in life are focused largely on the product of learning rather than on the process of learning. This course fills this gap and provides opportunity to take a step back and relate to what your process of learning has been what you have been missing. I am sure after completing this you will walk out with new tools, better understanding of your own learning methods and apply more consciously and confidently what you learn here in improving your PROCESS of your learning!

By Mikle F

Jun 8, 2020

This course is very informative and practical - you can start improving your learning immediately after watching the first video. In fact, the first impression was that the course was very easy and it presented many obvious things. But in hindsight, after revising all the material, trying to summarise it in the final project and understanding what amount of work must have been done for this course to appear... I can only say that this course is remarkable. Huge gratitude to Barbara Oakley, Terry Sejnowski, and the Learning How to Learn Team!

By Y R V S P

Apr 23, 2020

" Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects ", Course has changed my perception with regard to Learning and thrown light on various aspects namely Focus & Diffuse modes; Pomodoro Technique; Procrastination & Memory; Understanding; Illusion of Competence; Chunking; Team Work; Imposter Syndrome; Metaphor & Analogy; Test taking Tips etc.

Henceforth, I will apply the techniques in a systematic and planned way to crack the tough subjects.

Suggest the Teaching fraternity to pursue this course for better teaching.

By Sean P H

Sep 24, 2016

This is a really helpful course. I think it's easy to assume that you already know the optimal strategies for learning effectively, but this is probably not the case for most people. This class will teach you those strategies.

The instructors are pretty wonderful, and make digesting the material easy and fun (I suppose, being experts in learning, they would tend to be good at teaching :) ). Since taking the course, I've integrated its techniques into my life, like the pomodoro and spaced repetition (among other strategies). Highly recommend.

By Alma

Aug 15, 2015

It was a great experience learning how to learn. Thanks this course I found where I am doing wrong and actually I´am learning new things easier and time after time I repeat the information that I have studied some years ago. I used to consider the fact that I am interested in many different things as a problem and all these years I was searching to find something I really like most to succeed but thanks to Barbara I learned that you can start learning anything even the things you are not good at, just by efficient study. Thank you very much!

By Victoria T

Dec 29, 2020

I love this course so much. I thought I already knew things but this course have widened my perspective and taught me a lot of thing that I've been doing wrong before. Professor Barbara is such a warm and friendly instructor. Dr Terry is also a very informative teacher. I love all the illustrations (zombies, pinball machine analogy, etc.). I've learned so much from this course and I am considering taking their 2nd course, Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential. Thank you for developing this course.

By VIJAY K

Jun 7, 2020

Thank you dear Instructors for making a surrounding where I can learn, explore and most importantly learn how to learn. I would like to appreciate Coursera for providing such an extraordinary environment which help me come across courses which enhances my potential and make me happier as ever. I want to express gratitude to the entire team which makes this course possible. Sincere apology for not proving any helpful review which can make this course more productive than it is up to now. I hope you deliver more and more courses such as this.

By Fawzi

Nov 17, 2020

Amazing course. Barbara is just a fantastic teacher being totally able to transmit the message in a clear and easy way to be understood. This course really helped me to change my view of the learning process.

The content was very useful for me and the imposter syndrome totally applies to me as I've been feeling the fear of the start of a new career and that has just paralyzed me in a certain way. Now, with a different overview of the whole process, I am engaged to start in a new field and I will use all the techniques taught here.

Thank you

By Oliver C

Mar 12, 2020

What an amazing and beneficial journey this has been! I learned about this course from Anthony Metivier at the Magnetic Memory Method, and checked out Barbara Oakley's A Mind for Numbers as well. The concepts and learning methods outlined in this course and the book are easy to understand and I am already seeing the benefits in my life. The optional material is amazing as well, with thought provoking articles and videos about learning and memory. I will be coming back to Learning How to Learn in order to keep my mind sharp. Thank you!

By nisham m

Apr 14, 2018

An absolute life changing course. The depth and quality of material and knowledge shared along with all the various techniques to apply, I feel anybody is capable of achieving their goals and ambitions. Barbara Oakley is such a fantastic lecturer who uses the right tone of voice, mannerism and body language to engage the learner. I found myself so motivated to complete the course and have purchased both the recommended books, "Mind for Numbers- Barbara Oakley, and How things Work- Louise Bloomfield. Take up the course and change your life.

By Dong t k D

Nov 7, 2017

This wonderful course helps me find out which learning strategies are the best for me, and it also gives me a chance to review and self-evaluate how efficient my present learning styles are. The professional knowledge Dr. Terrence Sejnowski and Dr. Barbara Oakley share in the course is indeed invaluable. The time I have spent for the course is truthfully worthy. Great thanks to Dr. Terrence Sejnowski , Dr. Barbara Oakley and all the participants who have dedicated noble contribution to make this course available for worldwide learners.

By Nils S

Aug 16, 2017

Good and short manageable course. You can work it through with not much time on your hand and if you want to deepen your understanding of the subject there is a lot of optional recourses to work through. The not optional content is cut down to its most important information.

The two instructors are really passionate about their subjects and present it in an informative way assisted by analogies, mnemonics and multimedia.

Only thing that is probably my preference is that Barbara Oakley talking feels slow, which can be adjusted by video speed.

By shwetta

Apr 23, 2017

This is amazing course not only for students, but for anyone who wants to learn anything new. Dr Barbara Oakley is amazing professor and her way of delivering lectures is so smooth and full of ease. Presentations and slides are just perfect and it all makes it so easy to learn about "Learning". This course has personally benefited me in several ways. I have generally become more focused during my work and study hours.I recommend this as a 'Must learn' course for teachers, students and anyone else who wants to improve their learning skills.

By Ahlam K

May 29, 2020

The most important & valuable online course I've taken so far! Not only that I enjoyed every minute of it, and how incredible the structure was, I could easily apply those tips in my daily life and see fruits of my "smart" labor right away! And that's my tip for you, if you are new to this course: take it while simultaneously learning something else, or maybe preparing for some test, you'll be able to test these tricks and get yourself in the habit of learning in a smart way. Thank you so much Barbara & Terrence for teaching how to learn!