Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
9,811 ratings
1,974 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

PL
Aug 25, 2018

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

EC
Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,964 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Christian S

Apr 17, 2021

Most certainly one of the best basic introductions into Linear Algebra you can get online. Be aware that the topics covered are very basic. Nevertheless, they will set you up with a solid understanding and intuition.

By Tze C L

Nov 27, 2020

Very intuitive and visual explanation of Linear Algebra compared to traditional math courses. This course focuses on the intuition and understanding of the fundamental concepts, rather than tedious rote calculations.

By Katyaini R C

Oct 12, 2020

I liked every part of this course. Yes, I'll need to practice to make the concepts sit better in my head... perhaps re-visit some of my 11th/12th grade textbooks as well. But it was a better starting point than most.

By Vinitha M R

Sep 27, 2020

Thank you all instructors for the efforts undertaken to develop such highly informative lectures with amazing graphics. It was really enlightening to visualize the various concepts we had studied during our academics

By Naveen D

Jun 7, 2020

Awesome course for linear algebra basics. I was able to visualize the subject and see how the concepts can be applied to real life applications. The videos were short, interesting, and informative. Great instructors.

By Harshit L

Apr 7, 2020

the basic concepts give you the right intuition on how things work in vectors and matrices.

I strongly recommend this course to the beginners in this field. especially the week4 and week 5 concepts are really helpful.

By Aero M

May 11, 2019

Very good course for building your Linear Algebra foundation. If you are starting with Machine Learning then you should surely go through this course to build your intuition about what is happening behind the scenes.

By Salem A

Jun 14, 2020

A simple background on linear algebra is useful to complete the course. It is not necessary, however, because the instructors are going to teach you everything you need in a clear and concise manner which was great.

By Sanjay G

Mar 7, 2020

If you are thinking/looking to do your career in machine learning or want to brush up your linear algebra concept and how this is used in Machine learning, then this course must consider or added to the to-do list.

By Linc T J J

Nov 29, 2019

i really enjoyed the short and concise lessons and the notebook exercises to summarise and put to practice all the learning after the end of each week. Content is easy to understand and follow。 Thank you Imperial!!

By Saurav K

Jan 4, 2019

This is an amazing course. With right blend of assignments and quizzes . The lectures are very clear and nice examples have been used to simplify the content to an extent that any one can easily grasp the concepts.

By JISHNU B

Dec 7, 2018

This is a very good course - less of symbols and more of intuition,which is more important in applications. Profs are excellent communicators - even if you zero knowledge of the subject - you will get 100% of it...

By Md. S S

Jul 27, 2020

Some of assignment problems were really challenging: especially in the Eigenvalue problems, in 5 th module. If anyone listen every single word of the instructor, he will definitely overcome. Very concise lectures.

By Sumedh K R

Apr 19, 2020

The course provides focuses on developing intuition to understand the math required to solve problems with only a fair amount of hand calculations. Looking forward to completing the courses in this specialization!

By 高宇

Jun 20, 2019

This course is designed at a good structure and show me many intuitives on linear algebra. It does not need heavy hand calculation, instead, it brings me into the underlying zen and to a fast track of application.

By Diego C

Jan 20, 2021

The professors have done a terrific job at making linear algebra understandable -at an intuitive level-, applicable, and enjoyable. I'm confident this class will help me dive deeper into machine learning topics.

By Ahsan G

Jul 15, 2020

The assignments were well designed. I have taken linear algebra as a part of my degree but this course really helped me understand the concepts and introduced me to the practical applications of linear algebra.

By GNANARAJ

May 25, 2020

This course has explored the application of Linear Algebra in Machine Learning. Now only I understand the use of linear algebra. I am capable of now imparting the knowledge gained in this course to my students.

By Mike W

Mar 16, 2020

Really good course for building an intuitive understanding of the concepts, as opposed to just rote memorization of formulas. Assignments also reinforce the concepts learned. Very relevant to machine learning.

By jim p

Jul 15, 2018

While not particularly difficult material, course seems designed to build intuition more than just grinding tediously through the mechanics. Grounded in practical examples. And extraordinarily well presented.

By Clara M L

Apr 12, 2018

I like how they are able to visualise everything.

Since I am good at understanding abstract concepts I didn't really have the need to visualise, so it was nice to get a different perspective on Linear Algebra.

By Kunal A

May 1, 2020

It was an awesome experience to learn how algebra can be conveyed through a computer code. The lecturers at Imperial college shared co-operative videos of learning. Coursera's subscription also helped a lot!

By shihab s

Apr 24, 2020

I would like to recommend every CS students to take this course to feel the essence of Linear Algebra. Well understandable couse it is and also the teachers are great and explaination was too understandable.

By Sumith N

Sep 26, 2019

Sooooooperb course! The intuition developed by the professors was so so so magnificent that, you can apply this knowledge anywhere. Physics, signal processing and data science. Enjoyed the course throughout!

By Noor A

Jul 5, 2019

Great course. Had a lot of fun building my intuition of Linear Algebra. With the unique way its taught id say its a must course for any bachelor's student who wants to get into the world of machine learning.