Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
9,816 ratings
1,974 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

CS
Mar 31, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,964 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Anurag S

Jul 12, 2019

It's a nice course but instructors should go in more details. It's mostly high school mathematics. I was expecting undergraduate level Linear Algebra. Otherwise it was a good learning experience.

By Peter H S

May 9, 2018

Excellent course on the relevant parts of linear algebra for CS. Both instructors are great fun to watch and the assignments use up-to-date Python programming and Jupyter notebooks. Well done !!!

By James B

Jul 31, 2020

Efficient, targeted course for learning the language and basic operations within linear algebra. Excellent for those working full-time, and for those without much experience with linear algebra.

By kmccall

Apr 5, 2020

really good. i would have been fine with a slightly longer course that worked through more examples and alternative explanations in order to ensure more solid understanding of complex concepts.

By Archana D

Mar 3, 2020

Brilliantly explained, loved the use of different marker which helped to understand better. Only one suggestion, if the summary has the mathematical equations/python equivalent would be helpful.

By Roshan B

Jul 17, 2019

Excellent overview of Linear Algebra for those who had not formally taken up a course on the subject. I had taught myself linear algebra about 18 years back and this was a great refresher course

By Vincent L

Aug 7, 2018

The concepts are explained well. However, might not be very useful for people who have some basic understanding of linear algebra. Taking this course is not as effective as reading the textbook.

By Rafat R

Jun 19, 2020

Absolutely brilliant course. Mr Dye was absolutely marvellous. Got a clear and evolved concept of matrices and vectors hopefully that will help me in some ways in my machine learning pursuits.

By Kwame A G

Mar 8, 2019

Taught in an intuitive way. Never have I been able to understand linear algebra better than after following the first 3 weeks of this course. I can't wait to complete the entire specialization

By Pushkar B

Mar 8, 2019

It's been excellent so far as the instructor has mixed the basics of linear algebra and real world examples to highlight the application in machine learning. Looking forward to further videos.

By Clinton P

Oct 23, 2020

Aside from Linear Algebra lessons (finally I got to know eigen-stuff), I was enlightened on how those light board works! I realized that I only know/met a reflected version of the professors.

By Abhishek C

Sep 25, 2020

Really liked this course and I will recommend those who want to know insights of machine learning and relation of it with Mathematics. Vector and algebric relation were very nicely explained.

By Thanawit S

Jun 29, 2019

Good course with nice lecturer.

Some topics should be explain more in detail and have some further reading / exercise for practicing.

For overall, this course is worth the time and money spend.

By Tobias K

Apr 22, 2019

Great review of a topic I learned in College. Not sure how it would be for the first time, would probably take more repetition on certain subjects. Maybe going over the videos multiple times.

By Jerome F

Dec 4, 2020

It's been 20 years since I studied this in college and all of sudden, I was in job where I had to know it again. This was the perfect review course. I can't wait to do the following courses.

By Umesh S

Nov 14, 2020

beautiful course and challenging assignments. but requires background reading to fully enjoy the videos. pace is fast for beginners/ people who are not in touch with linear algebra recently

By Theo V C

Oct 8, 2020

Excellent course. Got to see the application of linear algebra in machine learning. Great introductory course to inspire you to enroll in more courses related to python and machine learning.

By Abhishek K S

Aug 9, 2020

Fantastic, engaging course with many applications of mathematical concepts in programming, learned without going much in detail and getting the appropriate amount of mathematical knowledge.

By minh d

Apr 24, 2020

The course is good. I already learned Algebra in my school, but it is just a formula. This course help me understand more deply and cover geometry meaning of the linear algebra. Thank you !

By Lukman F R M

Mar 11, 2021

It's fun! The expert are very articulate in explaining the material. Somehow I'm surprised that I took me a longer time to understand an offline class about the same course than this one.

By Mukund K M

Sep 29, 2019

A bit challenging quizzes and assignments (for a beginner) towards the end. But this course has made me understand the fundamental concepts of Linear Algebra thoroughly. Thank you so much.

By Emmanuel A

Jun 5, 2019

Great course, The instructor takes time to explain concept in simple relate-able detail. And the assignment a design such that your learning is re-enforced. I highly recommend this course.

By Vitor R C

Sep 18, 2020

The Linear Algebra course presents an easy to understand introduction to the topics of vectors and matrix manipulation without leaving the "why are we learning this?" question unanswered.

By Nirmal D A

Jun 13, 2019

This is one of the best courses on Coursera because of the great instructors, excellent Materials and challenging assignments. It showed us how to apply all the Math we learned in Python.

By noel s

Jul 8, 2020

Great teaching and very nice materials. This course has been useful to freshen up linear algebra while keeping in mind data science applications, which was exactly what I was looking for