Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,250 ratings
2,058 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

HE
Aug 8, 2021

the instrutors were too good and their explination for the concepts was to the point and it made me realize things in linear algebra I didn't know before although I studied it in school of engineering

CS
Mar 31, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,067 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Jayanth

May 2, 2020

It's very interactive course for the beginner's who are good in python programming ,you can learn the standard techniques for machine learning and this course will show the path for your career interest's

By Jaiber J

Apr 7, 2020

Excellent course, need to listen carefully to every sentence the instructor speaks or we miss something that will result in not solving the assignments. I liked the way the concepts are explained clearly.

By Tiong K L

Dec 30, 2018

Hands down one of the best courses online. As a biology-trained student, I am glad that finally there is a course which explains linear algebra with such clarity that it does not remain a black box to me.

By Naveen K

Jul 26, 2018

This course was awesome.Thanks a lot to all the lecturers for developing an intuitive understanding of Linear Algebra.I thoroughly enjoyed the course throughout .The journey was so exciting.Thanks a lot!!

By Saket S

Mar 23, 2019

This course was very concise and to the point as far as the field of linear algebra in machine learning is concerned.I learned a lot and will also like to take up the next course of this specialization.

By Zahri H M

Mar 6, 2021

little bit hard because the language is english and the math word in englist to make me confused and dizzy. I hope this course available Indonesia language for the next students who wants to learn this.

By Timothy L

May 27, 2019

Thank you for providing this course. An advice would be to have the programming assignments start out with more guidance before letting the student do it. The Page Rank assignment for example was great.

By Yutong Z

Apr 16, 2019

So great in general! But since it is not a pure maths course, some concepts are not explained in depth. It's a perfect course for self-learner because you can always go to the forum to look for answers.

By Juan P M C

Aug 7, 2020

Excellent course, perfect for anyone who wants to get started in Linear Algebra. The teachers explain everything clearly and the assignments are of the proper difficulty in order for you to understand.

By T K

Jul 18, 2020

A well packed non conventional course on linear algebra, full of interesting geometric interpretations, difficulty of the course is absolutely perfect, i am going to recommend this course to my friends

By Om K

Mar 22, 2020

The course is good because it doesn't just teach all of linear algebra like some other courses. It only teaches what is specific to Machine Learning which actually saves a lot more time than you think.

By Geoffrey B

Aug 17, 2020

The instruction was good throughout, but I would urge fellow students to take the time to work through the problems as suggested. Also, the eigen- stuff is quite tricky and can fool you. Be careful.

By Mahyar G

May 31, 2020

A great course covering key aspects of Linear Algebra with the lecturers giving a good intuition about what's going on with the subjects.

(PS. I loved the sense of humor of Prof.Dye it was really fun!)

By Shuang J

Nov 17, 2019

This course is not for people without any knowledge on Linear Algebra, but for those with who want to build intuitive understanding of how Linear Algebra works.

I particularly like Dave's instruction.

By Vitória C

Jul 11, 2018

The content of the course is very relevant, and the instructors are really fun and helpful.My only suggestion is to upload revisions for each assessment, so we can understand what we are doing wrong.

By Bincheng W

Mar 4, 2019

Satisfactory. Most satisfactory. Actually, this course is possibly the best linear algebra MOOC class in terms of instructor teaching style and how they pick and convey the most insightful concepts.

By David V

Jun 25, 2019

This was a terrific course; the instructors' are passionate and knowledgeable about the course material, the assignments are engaging and relevant, and the length of the videos feels "just right".

By Pinas G

Sep 14, 2019

Excellent course!! The Mathematics for Machine Leaning : Linear Algebra offered by the Imperial College of London it's a good step into building a strong foundation in the field of Linear Algebra.

By Jitender S V

Jun 30, 2018

This is the BEST course if anyone wants to learn linear algebra for machine learning. Lectures are clear and very understandable and quiz questions are great, too. Thank you for this great course.

By Dinesh T

May 30, 2021

This is a great course to built foundation for Machine Learning. Both the lecturers are amazing and great use of technology in presenting the concepts. Great example linked to PageRank algorithm.

By Anurag S

Jul 12, 2019

It's a nice course but instructors should go in more details. It's mostly high school mathematics. I was expecting undergraduate level Linear Algebra. Otherwise it was a good learning experience.

By Peter H S

May 9, 2018

Excellent course on the relevant parts of linear algebra for CS. Both instructors are great fun to watch and the assignments use up-to-date Python programming and Jupyter notebooks. Well done !!!

By James B

Jul 31, 2020

Efficient, targeted course for learning the language and basic operations within linear algebra. Excellent for those working full-time, and for those without much experience with linear algebra.

By kmccall

Apr 5, 2020

really good. i would have been fine with a slightly longer course that worked through more examples and alternative explanations in order to ensure more solid understanding of complex concepts.

By Archana D

Mar 3, 2020

Brilliantly explained, loved the use of different marker which helped to understand better. Only one suggestion, if the summary has the mathematical equations/python equivalent would be helpful.