Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,142 ratings
2,041 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

PL
Aug 25, 2018

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

HE
Aug 8, 2021

the instrutors were too good and their explination for the concepts was to the point and it made me realize things in linear algebra I didn't know before although I studied it in school of engineering

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 2,048 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Armen M

Apr 12, 2020

I really enjoy this course. Thought it was hard. seems I need to repeat whole course one more time. Thanks a lot.

By Vanodhya W

Dec 26, 2019

I really enjoyed the lessons and I was selective as I needed some special parts of this lesson. Totally satisfied

By Enavamshi G

Sep 28, 2019

Got a great idea on behind scenes of Linear algebra.

Great sessions by both David and Samuel, informative as well.

By Jaykishan K

Jun 4, 2019

Worth time spending. It is a great to start for a person who is wanted or just started learning machine learning.

By Prateek J

Apr 29, 2018

Good course for refreshing your knowledge in Linear Algebra. Easy to understand material and instructor is great.

By rashu

Jan 2, 2021

The best course for Linear Algebra. Hard but you get to learn the concepts both logically as well as practically

By Arka S

May 27, 2020

Wonderful course. Really gained a lot from this course. The teaching methodology and assignments were very good.

By Cao C

Mar 17, 2020

Really nice courses. The way combining the learning and practicing really impresses me. I enjoy the coding part.

By Murugesan M

Sep 27, 2019

Excellent! each video and the instructors walked along with us to show the amazing Linear Algebra Core Concepts!

By Voravich C

Sep 27, 2019

The course is great. Assignments really help me understand more clearly of what I have learnt from the lectures.

By Javier K

Aug 30, 2021

I​ managed to learn a lot about linear algebra that will help me in my next steps in the world of data science.

By NIRANJANA S

Jul 31, 2021

i particularly enjoyed learning about pagerank and how eigen values are related to this problem. thank you team

By MD. N S

Nov 23, 2020

Great course to learn linear algebra. I have got good concepts on how linear algebra helps to learn machines :)

By Kunal B

Aug 26, 2020

Excellent course, really good for students seeking to understand mathematical concepts behind machine learning.

By Ivan W Z H

Aug 20, 2020

El curso es muy bueno. funciona muy bien a manera de repaso si ya antes has llevado un curso de álgebra lineal.

By Pramod H K

Jul 28, 2020

Excellent introduction to linear algebra for ML. Very intuitive examples and conceptual understanding of maths.

By Dina B

Jul 3, 2020

Fantastic course - not too hard, not too easy but covers a fair amount of material and in a very intuitive way.

By A A S

Jun 11, 2020

good teaching . but felt it should be more of animative teaching so that we can understand the topic in detail

By Ali A

Jun 8, 2018

One of the best I've seen on linear algebra. I would recommend it for people who need a refresh on the subject.

By Vijay K

May 18, 2018

It is a wonderful course to understand linear algebra. I am really grateful to the professors for their effort.

By Anibal Y H

May 5, 2018

Good introduction to linear algebra -- provides a base from where to start climbing. Instructors are very good.

By Pranjul S

Jul 28, 2018

Concepts explained beautifully. It gave me new perspective to think about matrices and problems related to it.

By Bintari S

Jul 25, 2021

the explanation is very easy to understand, even clearer than my lecturer who explained. Thank you, Professor

By Qian C

Apr 7, 2021

Suitable for beginners without any basic knowledge and also enlightening for researchers in datascience field

By Rayantha S

May 23, 2020

Excellent! Extremely clear explanations of concepts and plenty of relevant exercises to understand and apply.