Chevron Left
Back to Structuring Machine Learning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Structuring Machine Learning Projects by DeepLearning.AI

4.8
stars
47,754 ratings
5,482 reviews

About the Course

In the third course of the Deep Learning Specialization, you will learn how to build a successful machine learning project and get to practice decision-making as a machine learning project leader. By the end, you will be able to diagnose errors in a machine learning system; prioritize strategies for reducing errors; understand complex ML settings, such as mismatched training/test sets, and comparing to and/or surpassing human-level performance; and apply end-to-end learning, transfer learning, and multi-task learning. This is also a standalone course for learners who have basic machine learning knowledge. This course draws on Andrew Ng’s experience building and shipping many deep learning products. If you aspire to become a technical leader who can set the direction for an AI team, this course provides the "industry experience" that you might otherwise get only after years of ML work experience. The Deep Learning Specialization is our foundational program that will help you understand the capabilities, challenges, and consequences of deep learning and prepare you to participate in the development of leading-edge AI technology. It provides a pathway for you to gain the knowledge and skills to apply machine learning to your work, level up your technical career, and take the definitive step in the world of AI....

Top reviews

JB
Jul 1, 2020

While the information from this course was awesome I would've liked some hand on projects to get the information running. Nonetheless, the two simulation task were the best (more would've been neat!).

MG
Mar 30, 2020

It is very nice to have a very experienced deep learning practitioner showing you the "magic" of making DNN works. That is usually passed from Professor to graduate student, but is available here now.

Filter by:

4401 - 4425 of 5,448 Reviews for Structuring Machine Learning Projects

By Yen-Chung T

Sep 25, 2017

This course gives an overview on how to address common problems faced during machine learning projects. Although these experiences can prove valuable, for average people that may not be actively involved in machine learning, the information may sound like "common sense". The course may benefit with a more abundant set of real-world practice scenarios for analysis.

By Saurabh D

Apr 2, 2020

This course was totally different from the previous two courses. It was focused more on the theoretical aspects of how to approach and build ML projects, difficulties that ML engineers can face and how to avoid them. The content of this course could have been more interesting if more real world problems were included and if there were some programming exercises.

By KUMAR M

Feb 11, 2020

A very nice course to teach how to start a data science project, how to evaluate it, how to select path ahead improving the model, what all to be taken in consideration before training or while training or after training.

Some more case studies could be added since the course is smaller in length and case studies are helping a lot in making understanding clear.

By Carlson O

Oct 20, 2017

Again, great course. Congratulations. This time, i've missed some programming assignments, although the case studies was very instructive of the practice, some programming experiments with transfer learning will be great. Nevertheless, the course has extremely valuable knowledge to those, like myself, that want to practice in real problems and corporate world.

By Carlos d l H P

Jan 27, 2020

Actually adds some insights I hadn't learned (or at least I was guessing but it's always nice to have a double check) after 4 years as a data scientist.

Also, some of those insights are very specific to neural networks projects, so doesn't matter how many years have you been working if you've never made deep learning projects this will help you nevertheless.

By Ching-Chih L

May 17, 2018

This two-week course gave very important concepts. However, there's no programming assignments and lectures are lengthy. It felt a little "boring" for a hand-on guy like me.

That being said, one should not skip these important lessons if he/she wants to take charge of ML projects one day instead being a programmer who only takes orders from others for life.

By Arthur O

Feb 28, 2018

This course gave a lot of practical advice and is excellent material to combine with the more programming-focussed lectures of the deeplearning.ai series.

Small points of criticism are that I thought some videos could have been a bit shorter/less repetitive and there were quite a few language mistakes in the quizzes (missing words and grammatical errors)

By José D

Sep 26, 2019

Course 3 of the Deep Learning Specialization. There is no coding in this one but longer quizzes which require you to fully understand the concepts and recommendations given in the course. It's all about ML project strategy and how to manage you results and errors. Quite interesting and important for the general understanding of a Deep Learning project.

By Chris L

Sep 6, 2017

I liked this course overall and found it to be very informative. I, personally, was a little thrown by the eclectic nature of the course's materials. Sometimes it seemed as if the material covered in each week was only loosely related, or was thematically similar for part of the week, but then the last few videos were on something else entirely.

By P S R

Nov 15, 2017

It is too much of theory, with significant repetition from machine learning course and within Deep Learning course 1 and course 2. It would have been lot of help if we had programming exercise on transfer learning, data synthesis and multi task learning to get a hang on practical experience, similar to first 2 courses of Deep Learning!

By moonseok s

Jun 10, 2018

thank you for to teach how to research and it will be of great help to real researchers.All theories have been a pity not try because I did not get a lot of the actual study. I think it will be a great help for future research opportunities.It is very difficult to study because it is not practical. but in future it will very helpful.

By Jesús A G Z

Jul 28, 2020

Although purely conceptual, the course really gives good advice on how to come up with a work flow to react to errors due to data, and the metrics that can be used as reference. I just wish there was an assignment where you could see a NN working with mismatched data and how it reacts to some of the improvements that were mentioned.

By Anshul M

Oct 31, 2017

Course contents are great as it talks about how to improve performance by giving real world example. This is one of the most crucial pieces in any model building task, but still is less focused in traditional courses. Andrew Ng's team has dedicated a full course on this aspect, which I believe will do the learners a huge benefit!

By John R

Aug 5, 2019

The quizzes were a little annoying to get through, as it is not much about deduction or reasoning, instead it's about learning the advice or rules mentioned in the videos. I think an actual implementation of a learning project and applying the error analysis, transfer learning, etc, would be more beneficial for the student.

By debraj t

May 10, 2018

Gave me a broader and more strategic perspective on how to structure and run a Machine Learning project.

I just felt this course came too early in the learning process. It would have far more relevant and useful had it been a more downstream course.

This does not take away from the fact that the content is very relevant

By Uğur A K

Nov 15, 2019

This was a good course because it "kind of" prepares us to real world projects and we think about what to do when different problems arise. I would also really like if this course included a section on how to create datasets from images, sounds etc. and prepares us for the "boring" parts of machine learning as well.

By Zahin A

Jun 29, 2020

Was extremely helping in providing ideas on how to start and work on machine learning projects. Provided clear and well thought out ideas on how to make the most use of time and data. A small improvement can be made to the course by dividing some of the contents of the course to another week for better structuring.

By ANIL V

Jun 17, 2020

Course is great. All concepts are explained very meticulously. Lots of respect for Andrew NG. Just a small suggest please don't give more examples on cat classification. Autonomous driving case study was good, speech recognition examples are good. Please give more realistic examples, that can be used in interviews.

By Ranjan D

Jul 17, 2019

Great explanation on how to structure your machine learning projects like distributing data among train & dev/test set then what to do for each type of errors to continues to transfer learning, Multi task learning, End-to-End Deep learning. It has been a fantastic journey learning about these different techniques.

By Katherine T

Jan 8, 2019

There were definitely useful pieces of information in here, but I think it could have been condensed and delivered as part of the previous course. I liked the flight simulator quiz approach. Sometimes the wording of the questions was tricky and that may be causing people to get stuck even if they know the material.

By Nicolás A

Oct 14, 2017

-You should edit better some videos, in some parts Andrew repeated what he said, or there were long silences, or also what he was writing wasn't in tune with what he was saying.

-I'm not sure if the topics covered here justify a whole course. Maybe the insights shared here could have been inside some other lecture.

By Matt P

Feb 15, 2019

The flight simulators' results were not consistent with the advice provided in the lectures. I'd suggest being either less black and white in the simulators' answer responses, or, being more polarised (more black and white) in the advice provided in the lectures. Otherwise, this is a 5 star course. Many thanks!

By Fritz L

Sep 23, 2018

I liked the course but it contained quite a few glitches which could be easily removed to improve the overall experience. E.g., once Prof. Ng makes a long pause and says "test". Sometimes the same ending is placed twice or in the final "Heros of Deeplearning" video Prof. Ng seems to ask the same question twice.

By Jingchen F

Jul 7, 2018

this course is pretty different from other courses in this specialization. It gives high-level knowledge of machine learning instead of implementation details. The course content is useful but it seems a little boring to me because I can't do any fancy, real machine learning projects as exercises in this course

By Edgar L V

Aug 5, 2019

The quizzes were actually a great idea. The content is definitely useful, as I've had similar difficulties in my company. I felt the videos took much more time than they should, though. A lot of the content could have been resumed in shorter videos. It was the first time I actually had to accelerate the speed.