Chevron Left
Back to Structuring Machine Learning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Structuring Machine Learning Projects by DeepLearning.AI

4.8
stars
48,948 ratings

About the Course

In the third course of the Deep Learning Specialization, you will learn how to build a successful machine learning project and get to practice decision-making as a machine learning project leader. By the end, you will be able to diagnose errors in a machine learning system; prioritize strategies for reducing errors; understand complex ML settings, such as mismatched training/test sets, and comparing to and/or surpassing human-level performance; and apply end-to-end learning, transfer learning, and multi-task learning. This is also a standalone course for learners who have basic machine learning knowledge. This course draws on Andrew Ng’s experience building and shipping many deep learning products. If you aspire to become a technical leader who can set the direction for an AI team, this course provides the "industry experience" that you might otherwise get only after years of ML work experience. The Deep Learning Specialization is our foundational program that will help you understand the capabilities, challenges, and consequences of deep learning and prepare you to participate in the development of leading-edge AI technology. It provides a pathway for you to gain the knowledge and skills to apply machine learning to your work, level up your technical career, and take the definitive step in the world of AI....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 30, 2020

It is very nice to have a very experienced deep learning practitioner showing you the "magic" of making DNN works. That is usually passed from Professor to graduate student, but is available here now.

AM

Nov 22, 2017

I learned so many things in this module. I learned that how to do error analysys and different kind of the learning techniques. Thanks Professor Andrew Ng to provide such a valuable and updated stuff.

Filter by:

4551 - 4575 of 5,583 Reviews for Structuring Machine Learning Projects

By Prashant S

Mar 2, 2018

-This course have two quizzes and no programming assignment.

-This course gives a very good advice on how we can improve Algorithm performance.

-Best way to split data into Train/dev/test.

-Quizzes statement can be made more precise and clear but stil the scenario in the quiz was good.

By Timo K

Dec 20, 2017

Very good course, but in contrast to the other courses the practical exercises are missing. I would like to see some transfer learning and (non-)end-to-end learning approaches, where the student has to examine how bad/good end-to-end performs in contrast to a multi-step approaches.

By Samchuk D

Sep 24, 2017

The content of this course is quite unique. Thus it makes it much more interesting and important.

Thank's a lot for this tips!

However it would be nicer if there is some videos practical assignments about tech aspects of implementations of "transfer learning" and "multitask learning"

By Christopher M

Jul 29, 2020

A very nuanced course, which I see myself coming back to, gaining more insight and appreciation for it over time. Some of the quiz questions where quite difficult to answer as they were open to interpretation. I think Prof. Ng went the extra mile in putting this material together.

By Eslam H

Aug 20, 2018

I got the same feedback for many of my colleagues that this course is not that important and I should start with course #4 instead, but I am glad I didn't there is a lot of insights and experiences in this course that I think it would take anyone many years to conclude by himself.

By Antonio C

Apr 14, 2020

That's a great course to learn some practicalities of deep learning/transfer learning and multitask learning, and when to use different strategies for structuring a project. In my opinion, the course could do with a hands-on programming exercise to help consolidate the learnings.

By Milan S

Jun 1, 2018

Sometimes its become bored who has not any experienced into working on real life ML project because without facing problem you can not understand problem in better way so i recommend course instructure to make this course with little more practical way so that it easy to digest.

By Bakr K

Jun 28, 2020

The lack of progamming assignments hurts what could have been one of the best courses of the specialization, especially in solidifying the advices and ideas seen here. Nevertheless this course still provides valuable informations, and it's one i'll come back to later for sure.

By Hans E

Feb 18, 2018

A bit slow going and repetitive (and some simple video editing to remove double sections would improve things). Nevertheless I'm amazed how much I learned or consolidated is just a few evenings of watching these videos. Thanks again! Looking forward to course 4 in this series.

By Srinivas R

Oct 3, 2017

Thorough and practical guidelines to structure and analyze issues with machine learning projects. Distilled learning presented from a lot of project experience. It would be hard to gain such knowledge without having gone through a number of projects. Accelerates your learning.

By Anirudh R

Jun 17, 2020

It was a very informative course. I learnt about different metrics that are used for measuring the success of deep learning models . I learnt about the different approaches like transfer learning, multi task learning etc. The assignments were very challenging and interesting.

By Rahul D

Apr 20, 2019

Machine learning simulator assignments were great, wish we could have more of them both in this course as well as in the other courses in the specialization. Additionally, I would have loved programming assignments that reinforced these largely workflow-related concepts.

By Lester A S D C

Jun 25, 2019

Useful knowledge regarding the efficient practices in the application of machine learning. Mentors doesn't seem as responsive though, compared to the other courses of the specialization. Quizzes were helpful, but needs more justification for some of the correct answers.

By Harshit S

Nov 12, 2017

The course showed the experiences while dealing with machine learning projects but could have been better if the experience would have been shared through practical exercises rather than objective case study.

It would be better if there were programming exercise as well.

By Jihwan M

Sep 15, 2017

I have a feeling that this third course is not yet fully edited. I see some black screens, and sometimes the clips have Andrew speak faster than usual. Nonetheless, the various tips and appropriate actions to take when doing a machine learning project were very useful.

By akshaya r

Jan 12, 2020

Good explanation for the initial steps of organizing the ML project and the direction to approach the problem accounted for. The quiz was interesting but as it is the same set of questions for any next attempt, I would not say I have mastered the course completely.

By Jean-Simon B

May 8, 2018

Only 2 weeks, good concepts to know. But videos are not "final release" they are not well edited. Some time Andrew repeat the same sentence 2x but they forgot to cut it.

No programming assignment. Although quiz format is fun and you really learn by doing the quiz.

By Bogdan P

Sep 3, 2017

This was a slightly more theoretical course than the first 3 in the Deep Learning specialization and, even thought I enjoyed it, I think the info would stick better if there would have been a programming assignment too (or some other type fo practical application).

By Kalle H

Nov 20, 2017

Nice and concrete examples of what to think of and focus on when trying to improve your machine learning projects. Not as engaging tasks to complete as in the previous courses in this specialisation, however a good change of scenary if you have been doing these.

By Boris V

Jan 21, 2018

Great material, but it's not quite easy to understand it from scratch, if you didn't have such problems yourself (i.e if you have no experience in deep NN training). I've stored this material and going to revisit it after I gain more experience in training NNs.

By Fredrik K

Oct 6, 2017

Great course, however the quiz of week 2 had some ambigious phrasings and I think at least one example (the one with the data synthesis of foggy images) is contradictive of what was taught in the video lessons. Other than that, really good content and teaching!

By Bharath S

Apr 20, 2019

A lot of concepts were put forward and taught well. If there was a programming assignment as well to back up the concepts that were taught like multi-task learning, how to deal with data mismatch, dividing the total data into train\train-dev\dev\test data etc.

By Sanskar A

Mar 22, 2020

I feel there is a glitch because even after completing the videos, it is not shown as completed and I had to replay them multiple times. Also there is a glitch in the assignment, because the correct answer in one attempt is shown as incorrect in the next try

By Eemeli L

Nov 19, 2019

Great and easy-to-follow introduction to structuring machine learning projects and focusing on what to tune on neural networks. One star left out because the content has not been polished, but there are minor errors here and there with separate corrections.

By Irene Z

Jun 8, 2019

The course seems a little less concrete than the others in this specialisation. But nevertheless, still a useful building block in anyone's deep learning repertoire. And note it will probably take less time to complete than the others, so plan accordingly.