Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning with Python by IBM

4.7
stars
11,464 ratings
1,968 reviews

About the Course

This course dives into the basics of machine learning using an approachable, and well-known programming language, Python. In this course, we will be reviewing two main components: First, you will be learning about the purpose of Machine Learning and where it applies to the real world. Second, you will get a general overview of Machine Learning topics such as supervised vs unsupervised learning, model evaluation, and Machine Learning algorithms. In this course, you practice with real-life examples of Machine learning and see how it affects society in ways you may not have guessed! By just putting in a few hours a week for the next few weeks, this is what you’ll get. 1) New skills to add to your resume, such as regression, classification, clustering, sci-kit learn and SciPy 2) New projects that you can add to your portfolio, including cancer detection, predicting economic trends, predicting customer churn, recommendation engines, and many more. 3) And a certificate in machine learning to prove your competency, and share it anywhere you like online or offline, such as LinkedIn profiles and social media. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course....

Top reviews

FO
Oct 8, 2020

I'm extremely excited with what I have learnt so far. As a newbie in Machine Learning, the exposure gained will serve as the much needed foundation to delve into its application to real life problems.

RC
Feb 6, 2019

The course was highly informative and very well presented. It was very easier to follow. Many complicated concepts were clearly explained. It improved my confidence with respect to programming skills.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,958 Reviews for Machine Learning with Python

By vatsal n k

May 3, 2020

Overall the course was very good and I love the peer-graded assignment concept. As after completing your assignment you can see other's assignments, there you can point out where you are better than others and where you lack.

One thing to be noted is that the algorithm training part totally in the practice session. So you have to first read/understand the code by yourself then you can implement it. I think the course could be better if video lectures where there for algorithm training part.

By Nandivada P E

Jun 11, 2020

we learned a lot beyond this course.It really explained the Machine learning from basic to the intermediate level and also huge coverage of techniques in python

By Rajdeep S

Jan 15, 2019

Concise presentation,brief and to-the -point explanations, great course for an intermediate ML developer looking to brush up their skills.Programming exercises should me more detailed.

I liked the concept of peer graded final project allowing us to review the projects of other learners as well.

By Pamela W

Apr 10, 2020

I enjoyed this course and thought it was a good high level overview of machine learning. I appreciated the exposure to Jupyter notebooks, but the coursework could have been more python programming focused. There was not much learning of the python language in the course.

By Erik C

Jul 4, 2019

This was a good course to see how the basic ML models can be used with clear examples in Python. It was a very good sequel to the Stanford as this course didn't go into detail on the algorithms or any depth in to the math behind the scenes. In fact, you could ignore the equations and still do fine. Unfortunately, I didn't feel I learned enough, specifically about how to tune the parameters and improve the results of different algorithms. The final could be accomplished by simply cutting and pasting the work done in the non-graded 'labs' and providing any level of accuracy scores. I would have welcomed more depth on optimization. Also the hardest part of the course was using matplotlib but you didn't even need to understand it to pass. Overall, I'm glad I took this course. It was very helpful in my learning journey.

By Shane W

Jan 7, 2020

Actual content is good, but i deducted two stars. One star because the pacing of the course is just too fast. The course could really be split into two courses: one on regression and one on classification/clustering. I deducted the second star because the assignments really need to be clearer, especially the final assignment. It would greatly help the people doing the assignment *and the people grading it* if there were more explicit prompts for where you wanted to see, e.g. jaccard score for the knn model, or if you said, "build a visualization that demonstrates the accuracy of knn models for all k, 0<k<20". Being more explicit about the expectations would make the assignment a better evaluation of the student's understanding.

By David D T

Jul 8, 2019

The Machine Learning with Python course was very challenging. The final assignment, though, seemed to require knowledge not yet learned, which made it rough to complete. Also, although I completed the notebook, all of my cells were not visible to the reviewer even though my settings were such that all cells should have been visible to him/her. I restarted the kernels and re-ran my code a couple times and it was finally visible when I opened the shareable link. That delayed my receipt of an accurate score for a few days. Ugh.

By Kerryn G

Jan 25, 2021

This course was well paced, however, it did not go into sufficient detail when it came to explaining the fundamentals of machine learning. The final assessment does not appropriately justify the knowledge one was meant to have learnt during the course. More time should be spent understanding how the models work and how best to tune their hyperparameters to achieve the best state.

By Sylvio R

Mar 3, 2020

O curso em si é bom, mas como a maioria dos cursos online não temos espaço para dúvidas (e não, o fórum não é suficiente).

A tarefa final é muito mal explicada.

Também senti falta de mais Python durante as aulas, que só cobrem o aspecto teórico. Embora muito bom, ao se deparar com o código, surgem muitas dúvidas.

By Parth R J

Mar 3, 2019

very bad course

no proper instructions or explanations in videos

By Farrukh N A

Jul 15, 2020

I have just completed the course and mentioned below are my key pros and cons for this course:

Pros:

1) I loved the theory and different techniques explained in the course.

2) The presentations were very well made and it helped me to gain knowledge as far as ML is concerned.

Cons:

1) This is a pretty outdated course, where there are ALOT of typos and coding errors throughout the labs as the coder has left IBM and is working in some other company for more than a year now. Thats is why no one is there to update the course.

2) The title of the course should be "Machine Learning with Mathematics" rather than "MAchine Learning with Python" because the emphasis of this course is on using mathematics to solve ML related problems and that is why most of the libraries and techniques used in the python files were not defined.

3) This IBM's specialization is of BEGINNER level and the inclusion of an INTERMEDIATE level course which requires you have to have some experience in Data Science and advanced level knowledge of Python is just mind boggling to me. It would have been great if a basic level course of ML would have been developed which emphasized on explaining while using Python libraries would have been much more appropriate for us.

4) Lastly, it has confused me while going through this course that numerous times the lecturer spent major time of the lecture in explaining the advanced mathematics which Pythons libraries can easily do for you, even if he told us that remembering of the mathematics is not need. STILL he explained it. I don't know why he did it again and again.

By Fangfang K

May 17, 2020

I learned a lot from this course. However, had I known what I had to go through to learn the knowledge, I would not have taken the course; the process is too painful. Therefore I would not recommend the course to future learners. Read my review and save yourself $39.

1) Too many typos, bugs, inconsistencies throughout the videos and labs. The same mistakes have been brought up by students over and over again on the discussion forum, but have never been fixed.

2) Teaching staff do not pay attention to students asking for help. Sometimes when they do answer the question, they give a very vague or irrelevant answer; and when being pointed out by students that their answer is not helpful, the teaching staff do not bother to reply and address the issue. I feel like the teaching staff never went through the entire course themselves so they do not understand our students' concern and frustration.

3) A lot of Python codes are never explained or commented. This is a beginner level class but they expect you to be able to code proficiently; otherwise you are going to be stuck with one line of unexplained code for a long time...

4) The whole course is like a giant advertisement for IBM Cloud, which is not user-friendly at all.

By Anton M

Apr 28, 2020

A bit dissapointed by this course. The main topics were given clear and simple, but there were too few details, saying that all the details are out of scope of the course. But I would prefer to have more information and also more mathematical details (I find the argument that it needs appropriate background strange: if one wants to learn Machine Learning, should already have some basic mathematical background as knowledge of derivatives, integrals, etc).

Another big disappointment was absence of the graded programming assignments, except the final project. Every part of the course had just graded Quiz, but real hand-on scripting in python was given just as non-graded example, and then final assignment basically consisted from the same code.I find this approach quite useless. Also the final assignment had to be done at the IBM Watson website - I guess just for advertisement of IBM services - but this is useless to waste time on registering there, and figuring out how to do things there, if instead could be done inside coursera itself.

And finally, there few some mistakes and typos e.g. in the final assignment, which made everything a bit confusing.

By Joe R

May 26, 2020

This course was taught nowhere near as well as the other courses in this certificate track. The code syntax was not explained well at all and it took forever to decipher. The lectures were also not very informative. I would have appreciated a much more in-depth look at the concepts or at least explaining them in further detail. These courses are supposedly for "beginners" but there is no way a "beginner" would be able to get through a course like this without explaining everything better.

The final assignment was also VERY confusing. I would recommend the instructors revisit and revise the course material to make it more engaging and do a better job of explaining the concepts.

By Vahid S

Feb 15, 2021

This course material was good but I think it has some issues:

1- The coding levels in labs are so high and not suitable for beginners.

2- the final exam was simple but it had two issues. The instructor pre-split dataset to train and test parts is confusing without a good explanation and the worst part was the peer-graded section. just provide a reference notebook with confusing rubric grading and had a mistake.

By Oliver S

Apr 25, 2020

I liked the videos, but there are a lot of mistakes in the notebooks, especially in the solution for the final assignment (which results in unfair gradings). Most of them were mentioned in the forums months ago, but as with all IBM courses, that I have finished so far, no employee seems to care. None of the mistakes gets corrected, and most of the time, you don't even get a reply from one of the moderators.

By Hakki K

Jul 9, 2020

Hi,

I completed entire program and received the Professional Certificate. On the Coursera link of my certificate "3 weeks of study, 2-3 hours/week average per course" is written. This information is not correct at all, it takes approximately 3 times of that time on average! I informed Coursera about it but no correction was made. It should be corrected with "it takes approximately 19 hours study per course" or "Approx. 10 months to complete Suggested 4 hours/week for the Professional Certificate".

Here is the approximate duration for each course can be found one by one clicking the webpages of the courses in the professional certificate webpage: (*)

Course 1: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 2: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 3: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 4: approximately 22 hours to complete

Course 5: approximately 14 hours to complete

Course 6: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 7: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 8: approximately 20 hours to complete

Course 9: approximately 47 hours to complete

This makes in total approximately 169 hours to complete the Professional Certificate. As there are 9 courses, each course takes approximately 19 hours (=169/9) to complete.

(*): https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-data-science?utm_source=gg&utm_medium=sem&campaignid=1876641588&utm_content=10-IBM-Data-Science-US&adgroupid=70740725700&device=c&keyword=ibm%20data%20science%20professional%20certificate%20coursera&matchtype=b&network=g&devicemodel=&adpostion=&creativeid=347453133242&hide_mobile_promo&gclid=Cj0KCQjw0Mb3BRCaARIsAPSNGpWPrZDik6-Ne30To7vg20jGReHOKi4AbvstRfSbFxqA-6ZMrPn1gDAaAiMGEALw_wcB

By George D

Mar 15, 2021

Peer reviews are very inconsistent. Submitted a project 4 times following some minor change from one to the other... only to be 2 points from passing. They want you to have an IBM cloud account and push watson services for this only to have the code crash while compiling. No way to reach instructors.

What a waste of time.

By ubaid m w

Oct 22, 2018

In lab there are many funtion , libiraries Which have been used first time with out any description , then I have to search for each and every funtion or lib which is way time consuming which make this course worst courses in my list.

By Nishan P

Nov 5, 2020

Instructor are going to fast. They are literally reading the slides without proper implementation of the ideas and algorithm explained. Even I can do that, absolute waste of money

By Karol S

May 2, 2020

wrong grading on quizes (multiple choice questions which are graded 0 or 1), not clear instructions, who write this course? One of the worst courses i took in years

By Joaquín R

Mar 17, 2020

The course was going well with the videos and labs, until the capstone peer-reviewed area. Disastrous instructions, poor supervision and assistance. I am appalled.

By YUN H

Mar 16, 2020

Insufficient explanation, bad lab experience, and the final assignment was a nightmare.

Video is short, so you got to figure out things by yourself.

By Luiz P F

Oct 17, 2020

Videos and assignments are very repetitive. It induces students to copy dull code rather than think about solutions

By Kshitij K

Aug 16, 2020

Everything taught int his course ends with a line "unfortunately it is out of the scope of this course"