Chevron Left
Back to Managing as a Coach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing as a Coach by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
1,317 ratings
395 reviews

About the Course

Do you (or do you want to) manage employees? Have you ever wondered how to get better performance out of those you manage? Are you unsure if you are communicating effectively with your employees? If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, then this course – and its associated specialization – is for you! Leadership and management responsibilities have changed dramatically, particularly in the last decade. In order to be an effective manager in increasingly fast-paced and complex organizational environments, coaching has become essential. In this course, you will learn what coaching is and learn how to differentiate between it and all of the other myriad roles managers are expected to perform – managing, mentoring, leading, and training. You’ll learn about the importance of strong leadership and learn to describe your current point of view as a leader, and evaluate when to adjust your thinking in order to be more effective in managing and leading in a rapidly evolving workplace. And finally, you’ll be introduced to the Thought Model, a coaching technique you can use to develop better thinkers and better performers. So if you’re ready to learn all about how to be a more effective and valued manager using coaching techniques, join us as we explore more successful managing through coaching!...

Top reviews

JW

Aug 26, 2020

This was a great course to help reinforce the need to approach issues with the mindset of a coach. It will enable me to have much more productive conversations with people as we work through problems.

ZM

Mar 3, 2021

I really enjoyed the lectures! the lecturer is fun and interactive. I'll be proceeding with the next course shortly! for those who wanted to learn a proper way to manage, this course is right for you!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 390 Reviews for Managing as a Coach

By Roy M

Sep 19, 2020

great course to link overall management roles and specify the coaching role

By Hwami C

Sep 13, 2020

Overall it's a great course. The laughing in the videos is distracting.

By Ines S

Jul 8, 2016

Very good audio quality and good pacing and presentation of content.

By Maha K A A A B

Jun 24, 2020

Good course but I can’t view my certificate for some reason

By Lisa S

Feb 29, 2016

Great first part of series. Looking forward to more.

By SAGAR D G

Apr 19, 2020

Great course i have learnt about Leadership

By Michelle B

May 3, 2016

Great course i learned a lot about coaching

By Rajib L C

Jul 21, 2021

Very essential course for a senior manager

By Omer A A K

Aug 17, 2020

Needs a lot of improve with more content .

By jennisha w

Feb 1, 2017

loves the class and the online lectures!

By Rosa S H

Apr 12, 2021

Interesante y de aprendizaje positivo

By Kelly G

Jun 21, 2016

Great perspective for new managers.

By Vitalice F O

May 11, 2020

Such a great course. Loved it.

By Sandra Q

Oct 8, 2020

The model tool is awesome!!

By Vanina G

Jun 23, 2017

Interesting course.

By Claude D

Sep 21, 2016

inspirational

By Yeong W K

Jul 29, 2021

Good start!

By Pedro d O

Jan 17, 2022

Great.

By Kudilil A S

Sep 1, 2021

nice

By Pierre i

Aug 28, 2018

like

By Nachammai

Oct 16, 2017

good

By Ravichandra A

Dec 27, 2017

G

By Mark J

May 23, 2018

This course seems to split a lot of hairs for very little benefit: Is XYZ a Circumstance (fact), Action (also a fact), or Result (also a fact). Is it a thought or a feeling? but "I'm feeling overwhelmed" is a thought. While being able to tell the difference between a fact and a feeling is a good thing, trying to split some hairs is just consultant speak for give me a lot of money to confuse you. The videos of the leader of linked in give more substance than part 3 of this course.

To some degree, some of what she is trying do is convince use the King's new clothes are beautiful, but some of it is just bluster without substance.

Does she believe what she is teaching? Maybe, but she seems to worry more about definitions than substance

By Mark L

Dec 30, 2016

The course was overwrought in general - seemed like it could have been accomplished in four weeks instead of five. The instructor was clear most of the time, but there were places were the concepts were unclear, probably 80 percent was on target. This might explain the inconsistent grading of written assignments. Needs some fine tuning, but worth the time.

By YIN Y

Apr 27, 2016

i supposed that may be i am not very clever so the content and the question after the class also make me confused. a little bit disapoint with this course. but i saw a lot people below think this a good course so may be i am wrong.