Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Organization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Organization by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,156 ratings
227 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended to help you become a better manager by helping you to more fully understand and deal with some of the complexities and challenges associated with managerial life in organizations. In this course, you will learn theories, principles, and frameworks that will help you to more effectively manage and lead the organizations that you belong to. We will view organizations from different perspectives that we will use as lenses to help us highlight common managerial challenges and point us toward solutions to those challenges. Some of these common challenges that we will explore in this course include using power effectively, implementing organizational change, understanding and managing organizational culture, decision-making including decision-making pitfalls and ethical traps, and leadership. As you learn and apply the principles from this course, you will be better prepared to navigate some of the complex challenges that you face as a manager....

Top reviews

SM
Dec 8, 2020

Great Course! Well-structured content with very useful and immediately applicable concepts! I will definitely recommend to a few more people I know who organically became in position of leadership.

RO
Oct 15, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 224 Reviews for Managing the Organization

By Sirvole S P R

Aug 28, 2020

excellent

By Jon D S

Jun 27, 2020

Excellent

By rohit c a

Apr 19, 2019

great one

By Sergio A M M

Mar 31, 2019

Excellent

By sukhwant k

Dec 8, 2019

awesome

By David O

May 17, 2019

Thanks!

By Georgy T

Feb 10, 2021

хорошо

By IVAN P

Nov 8, 2017

t

h

a

n

k

s

By Deleted A

May 26, 2017

Great

By Mahaluckshmi K

Dec 13, 2020

good

By Marlon C

Dec 13, 2020

E

By Greg T

Apr 30, 2019

r

By Martin F

Jan 5, 2021

I particularly liked the the course material of week 3, as it touches upon the important topic of bias and how it creeps into the decision making process. I liked in particular the cross-references to social sciences, and in general, that the teachers provide scientific literature references for all the topics presented in the course, so one can go further and read some of the original literature work on his own.

By Zaw Z O

Sep 18, 2018

This research based specialization has provided the fundamental knowledge and essential skills in from daily strategic leadership to Managing organization effectively; you will see how the course is precise and concise that leads the potential leverage for achieving your organization’s goals and sustaining its long-term success.

By Andre A M

Nov 16, 2020

Good content. Seems pretty unique since it is based on the professor's research as well as some other well-known research articles. Not a lot of pratcial applications and mostly information dump but still useful as an introductory course.

By Kati L

Apr 27, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I took it as a stand-alone, rather than part of the entire specialization. I especially liked the portions about "potential" and the difference between a high commitment and a high flexibility workforce.

By Jonathan F G

Dec 21, 2020

I really like the materials discussed in this course. Although, this course would be best if it discuss and deep dive on company case studies. Overall, it is still a very effective course.

By Preya S

Jun 11, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I think it is very well explained by both the professors. I highly recommend this course especially to all management students.

By Nicola M

Jun 29, 2017

It's an incredibile course, you need to attend both of the courses of Professor Leblebici to fully understand all the framework of the concepts.

By Rafiq

Oct 13, 2019

Certainly a good course. Good faculty. But still less quality and insights compared to Business strategy course by Deepak Sowmya

By Sheku M

Aug 7, 2020

This course has greatly improved my knowledge in management. The skills gained is applicable to all working environments.

By Julia l M

May 15, 2019

This course is gritty - I actually learnt something (a lot!) Thank you for the effort and the material.

By Keyurkumar D

Dec 6, 2020

Great course. Just need had to play it slower than normal speed to keep up with what professor.

By Aswathy 1

Jul 29, 2019

It is very good course. It helps me to get wide knowledge about the managing organization.

By Nupur B

Dec 5, 2019

Module 2 was little heavy and little too much but overall the course was good.