Chevron Left
Back to Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
4,546 ratings
1,103 reviews

About the Course

Successfully marketing brands today requires a well-balanced blend of art and science. This course introduces students to the science of web analytics while casting a keen eye toward the artful use of numbers found in the digital space. The goal is to provide the foundation needed to apply data analytics to real-world challenges marketers confront daily. Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Theory is the first in a two-part series of complementary courses and focuses on the background information and frameworks analysts need to be successful in today's digital business world. You will be able to: - Identify the web analytic tool right for your specific needs - Understand valid and reliable ways to collect, analyze, and visualize data from the web - Utilize data in decision making for agencies, organizations, or clients This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

VB
Apr 16, 2018

Well, this is great course since I did it online, but the material well covered and the lecturer give clear and interesting material through video. I will take another course after this. Thank you.

OA
Feb 29, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I liked the professor's teaching style as well as the materials the course provided. All the knowledge I've got from the course helps me when I do research online.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,090 Reviews for Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory

By celina o

Feb 26, 2016

The lecture presents Google's ZMOT marketing model, how it benefited (and shaped) marketing research and strategies to increase conversion and loyalty. It is a good contextual introduction if you never heard of "search engine marketing", "cost per acquisition" or "click through rate". If you know the basics, it is probably not a good use of your time.

I didn't like that the content feels like evangelism for (paid) google services, and most sources of the course are either random blogs or related to interested parties (google, twitter). I still learnt a couple of cool metrics I didn't know about, but the course didn't bring any added value to the blog links provided.

By Maggie F

Feb 8, 2016

Assignments were uninspired and some questions were weird. Also, this textbook is horrible, and is presented in a very inconvenient format (PDF-only, two book pages per page of PDF so you can't effectively read it on a phone).

By LETICIA U C

Mar 1, 2021

Very well-structured course, some good exercises, and references, but if you want to make the most out of it, do your honors texts. This will exercise your brain. While correcting your colleague's works you can find some good insights too! I'm in love with this course!

By Mauro M

Mar 30, 2021

Very recommendable course, it provides you with an overview of the theory and at the same time, relevant, and up to date real life examples and applications

By Uchenna O

Feb 6, 2019

Awesome and detailed course.

By Anuj G

Feb 11, 2019

Very Informative Course.

By MOHAMED M H S

Feb 7, 2019

great course i love it

By Muhammed G

Dec 31, 2018

Excellently taught.

By Johan S

Mar 1, 2019

Excellent course

By AMALIA U

Apr 7, 2019

Amazing teacher

By Renato S A

Apr 28, 2018

Great course!!!

By Guillermo R

Apr 5, 2019

great course!

By ECE 2 M

Feb 28, 2019

good course

By Siddhant R

Apr 3, 2019

Fantastic.

By Albany C

Jan 23, 2019

great!

By Dilrabo S

Jan 6, 2021

Very organized and theoretical course! Too little attention given to the tools. Perhaps, a module on the tools would have been nice, at least a review of them.

Thank you for this course! I was very glad to have completed it.

By Oscar C

Aug 3, 2020

Out of the Digital Marketing Specialization probably this is the weakest course so far I've taken (4 taken already).

These are the reasons why

+ Interviews are more than that just a simple answer to a question. They lack depth and interest of a conversation with some experienced individuals

+ There's too much repetition of concepts. So much that lesson 7 is mostly a complete repetition (slides included) of a previous lesson in this course

+ Concepts shown, ie. 4 digital channels and its associated analytics, lack depth as well. I assume in the optional readings those can be more detailed, but I would have expected some of that to be explained by the professor.

By Qihua Z

May 2, 2019

Need to review a lot of submission but if you went so fast, there are lack of submission to review

By Kendra H

Apr 28, 2020

After a strong showing with the first course in this specialization, this was disappointing.

Among the issues:

Content in both lectures and readings was out of date and often no longer relevant. This is especially frustrating in a field that evolves so quickly.

Assigned readings only sporadically backed theories discussed in lecture. Many readings were behind paywalls, or you had to sign up for an additional account to access them.

Quizzes would ask questions about readings that have since been removed or about content in lectures that hadn't been covered yet.

The course encourages use of the discussion forums, but very little ongoing discussion happens. Instead, the threads turn into a repository for assignment answers that get copied by fellow students. I was disgusted by the number of times I had to report submissions for plagiarization.

The only reason I gave this a 2 star review instead of a 1 star is because there are a few useful basic theories covered that are helpful if you're new to marketing like I am. I don't think I would ever actively recommend this course to someone, but if you are set on taking it, my advice is to skip all of the readings except those from Harvard Business Review and McKinsey.

By A.C

Apr 19, 2021

This class had a good start with the history of data analytics, but the lessons quickly devolved into slides packed with words and/or detailed infographics, and the professor only briefly touching on points or rewording something that was difficult to follow alongside the slide. The information was disorganized, and there was so much of it, it was difficult to absorb. Because the class was mostly quizzes, it was mostly memorizing disjointed information and spitting it back out. There was only one written assignment, only allowing us to think critically and analytically at the lessons learned. I dread having to take the next class after this because it's from the same professor.

By Tharma P

Apr 22, 2020

Some good information provided for beginners like me, but the entire course material was terribly outdated and desperately needs an update for 2020. The assigned textbook was also not useful, outdated (updated in 2004) and clunky. The lecture slides were messy and text-dense; just felt like the lecturer copy pasted a lot of material without bothering to make it student-friendly. A lot of important concepts were given textbook definitions, without any explanation on how these concept apply in the real world.

By Kristina K

Dec 30, 2015

The course introduces some basic concepts but fails to deliver on the objectives set out in the initial module description by barely listing out most topics through a very narrow, linear approach instead of delivering an actual in-depth explanation and commentary on the subject. Some more advanced learners will also find some tools to be out-of-date and some areas - very Google-focused.

By Angela H

Sep 20, 2016

I felt like this course was too repetitive. Basically, all I learned were from readings and textbooks. Video lectures were repeats from those contents. I did learn useful tools for web analytics, but I wish the instructor put some of his original insights rather than presenting articles written from other people.

By Roland S

Sep 22, 2021

Maybe my expectation was not inline with the "theory". It is hard to summarize what a student can take with him/her from this course. Every component of digital marketing was described in a very general way. The material was not coherent for me as it based on several external sources which was cited correctly.

By Susan K

Sep 10, 2020

This class was very disorganized. It was a list of terms and services with no real content tying them together. The book was just as disorganized. I got a bit out of the information about ZMOT and the McKinsey model, but the rest seemed like rambling.