Chevron Left
Back to Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
4,289 ratings
1,034 reviews

About the Course

Successfully marketing brands today requires a well-balanced blend of art and science. This course introduces students to the science of web analytics while casting a keen eye toward the artful use of numbers found in the digital space. The goal is to provide the foundation needed to apply data analytics to real-world challenges marketers confront daily. Students will learn to identify the web analytic tool right for their specific needs; understand valid and reliable ways to collect, analyze, and visualize data from the web; and utilize data in decision making for agencies, organizations or clients. Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Theory is the first in a two-part series of complementary courses and focuses on the background information and frameworks analysts need to be successful in today's digital business world. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

VB
Apr 16, 2018

Well, this is great course since I did it online, but the material well covered and the lecturer give clear and interesting material through video. I will take another course after this. Thank you.

AS
Jan 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I liked the professor's teaching style as well as the materials the course provided. All the knowledge I've got from the course helps me when I do research online.

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 1,018 Reviews for Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory

By Danilo J d C J

Aug 7, 2016

Good basics

By Muhammad S A

Jul 22, 2020

Too basic

By ANURAG S Y

Jul 14, 2017

Good !

By Samik D

Oct 15, 2017

O

k

By Kendra H

Apr 28, 2020

After a strong showing with the first course in this specialization, this was disappointing.

Among the issues:

Content in both lectures and readings was out of date and often no longer relevant. This is especially frustrating in a field that evolves so quickly.

Assigned readings only sporadically backed theories discussed in lecture. Many readings were behind paywalls, or you had to sign up for an additional account to access them.

Quizzes would ask questions about readings that have since been removed or about content in lectures that hadn't been covered yet.

The course encourages use of the discussion forums, but very little ongoing discussion happens. Instead, the threads turn into a repository for assignment answers that get copied by fellow students. I was disgusted by the number of times I had to report submissions for plagiarization.

The only reason I gave this a 2 star review instead of a 1 star is because there are a few useful basic theories covered that are helpful if you're new to marketing like I am. I don't think I would ever actively recommend this course to someone, but if you are set on taking it, my advice is to skip all of the readings except those from Harvard Business Review and McKinsey.

By Tharma P

Apr 22, 2020

Some good information provided for beginners like me, but the entire course material was terribly outdated and desperately needs an update for 2020. The assigned textbook was also not useful, outdated (updated in 2004) and clunky. The lecture slides were messy and text-dense; just felt like the lecturer copy pasted a lot of material without bothering to make it student-friendly. A lot of important concepts were given textbook definitions, without any explanation on how these concept apply in the real world.

By Kristina K

Dec 30, 2015

The course introduces some basic concepts but fails to deliver on the objectives set out in the initial module description by barely listing out most topics through a very narrow, linear approach instead of delivering an actual in-depth explanation and commentary on the subject. Some more advanced learners will also find some tools to be out-of-date and some areas - very Google-focused.

By Angela H

Sep 20, 2016

I felt like this course was too repetitive. Basically, all I learned were from readings and textbooks. Video lectures were repeats from those contents. I did learn useful tools for web analytics, but I wish the instructor put some of his original insights rather than presenting articles written from other people.

By Susan K

Sep 10, 2020

This class was very disorganized. It was a list of terms and services with no real content tying them together. The book was just as disorganized. I got a bit out of the information about ZMOT and the McKinsey model, but the rest seemed like rambling.

By Sarthak V

Jul 28, 2020

this course was good but not sufficient as they didn't provide in-depth knowledge. rather than providing them in videos and explaining them, they gave some links to learn more that was really not good. Even visual presentation was also not good

By Mengjiao X

Sep 28, 2020

Each video in this class is very short. The concept covered in this course is too broad. It could deepen into more details.For example, customer journey, how credit bureau plays their roles in this section?

By José R H P

Mar 11, 2019

It was a step back after the excellent Marketing in a Digital World. It felt slower and a lot of thing presented her are your standard “Digital Marketing Tips” you could find in any blog.

By Z'leste W

Dec 6, 2015

Provides a comprehensive overview, however it is heavily lecture based. Would be nice if more interactivity was built in, via pop-up questions during the lectures and practice problems.

By Rishabh G

Apr 20, 2020

Though I learnt a few new things. But I expected something in line with the current technology. I am a bit unsatisfied with the lecture design and the readings

By Mirelle N

Jun 26, 2017

There's a too long list of texts to read while the videos are too short and redundant. I felt as if I was just reading texts that some friend has sent me...

By Mayara

Feb 13, 2017

Material is outdated and course assignments failed to challenge thinking and encourage critical engagement with the content provided.

By Deval A V

Mar 4, 2020

The course material is outdated. Although new learners will get some idea about basics, it is nowhere close to updated as per 2020!

By Massimiliano C

Sep 24, 2019

It's a good course at the content level, but too theoretical. It might be nice to introduce hands-on phases along the course.

By LISA D

Jun 21, 2020

This course could use more case studies and assignments. And the reading material all cost additional money to access.

By Obaid F

Mar 13, 2019

I am not very clear on the objective of the course, I also find it ambiguous in terms of what its trying to achieve.

By Dmytro K

Jul 12, 2019

Poorly prepared course, unfortunately very disappointing compared to the first course in the specialization.

By Teru W

Aug 27, 2015

It's a very introductory class, only works for newbies of digital marketing.

Maybe it's a good start point.

By Sanika J

Apr 27, 2020

Course material is very outdated. Very little practical application in terms of tools usage.

By maged n

Jul 28, 2017

A lot of amazing info ...

Thank You so much coursera team for this great info !

By Leyla M

Aug 6, 2020

Teacher's explanation was a little bit hard to understand.