Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
1,900 ratings
443 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

NR

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

AM

Nov 24, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 426 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Kirk S

Mar 30, 2019

Pretty awesome. I learned a lot. It wasn't easy, as this was mostly new material. Fascinating stuff.

By Joseph A D

Mar 14, 2017

A very enjoyable introduction to proofs, number theory, and some real analysis.

By Bennett

Apr 15, 2018

Good course. Have learned a lot along the way, more than only mathematics.

By Mehmet S T

Jun 03, 2017

It was really nice... I hope there will be the second part of this course.

By Michael A

Mar 16, 2017

Excellent course, introducing a difficult concept very well

By NOVAL R

Dec 13, 2018

It's very mind blowing approach for studying math.

By Anar

May 14, 2019

will update my review after finishing the course

By yash g

Sep 04, 2017

A good course to strengthen the foundations.

By C.Sundara p

Dec 21, 2017

i enjoyed and learned the course

By Shubham S

Aug 11, 2017

I was expecting something more

By Nishtha C

Jul 27, 2020

Unique approach. Commendable.

By Mahmoud M K Z

Apr 05, 2020

cloud use more visual aid

By Deleted A

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent Course

By Nicholas K

Jun 08, 2019

Good course.

By prakash s

Aug 28, 2018

nice course.

By MOYILLA N K T

May 14, 2018

very good

By Mitul D

Aug 03, 2019

best

By thuonghien

Oct 08, 2018

good

By Almaz

Dec 29, 2017

completely disagree with evaluation exercises as it allows to get >= 12 points for completely wrong solution. It's better to use [0,7] based system as used in IMO. it makes more sense and checks problem solving, not ability to bullshit

By Digby D

Dec 12, 2017

A more mathematical approach to Formal Logic. Good alternative to Intro to Logic (also from Stanford) for STEM students if they don't like the format of Intro to Logic.

By Zhenqin L

Dec 19, 2017

老师很幽默。讲的很细致,可是没人最后改我的作业,以后不交钱了。

By zjm2017

Mar 04, 2017

useful

By Yonatan G S

Jul 04, 2017

Tengo Problemas con la traducción al Español, me notificaron que este curso tenia subtitulo en español me voy a dar baja.

By Aldo J M V

Dec 24, 2019

I disagree with the way the rubrics are designed. It should be called "think as I do"

By Santiago N M

Aug 30, 2018

no entendi nada no sabe explicar y ademas es vejo y blanco....