Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
2,221 ratings
537 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

AM
Nov 23, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

PD
Jun 29, 2020

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

Filter by:

501 - 523 of 523 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Sundara p s p

Dec 21, 2017

i enjoyed and learned the course

By timir b

Oct 21, 2020

Very good learning experience.

By Shubham S

Aug 11, 2017

I was expecting something more

By Kapil C

Jul 27, 2020

Unique approach. Commendable.

By Mahmoud Z

Apr 5, 2020

cloud use more visual aid

By KARTHIK B N

Sep 10, 2020

good and well thought

By Deleted A

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent Course

By Nicholas K

Jun 8, 2019

Good course.

By prakash s

Aug 28, 2018

nice course.

By MOYILLA N K T

May 14, 2018

very good

By Mitul D

Aug 3, 2019

best

By thuonghien

Oct 8, 2018

good

By Almaz

Dec 29, 2017

completely disagree with evaluation exercises as it allows to get >= 12 points for completely wrong solution. It's better to use [0,7] based system as used in IMO. it makes more sense and checks problem solving, not ability to bullshit

By Digby D

Dec 12, 2017

A more mathematical approach to Formal Logic. Good alternative to Intro to Logic (also from Stanford) for STEM students if they don't like the format of Intro to Logic.

By Zhenqin L

Dec 19, 2017

老师很幽默。讲的很细致,可是没人最后改我的作业,以后不交钱了。

By zjm2017

Mar 4, 2017

useful

By gavfieldior

Jun 15, 2021

B​oring

By Aldo J M V

Dec 23, 2019

I disagree with the way the rubrics are designed. It should be called "think as I do"

By Santiago N M

Aug 30, 2018

no entendi nada no sabe explicar y ademas es vejo y blanco....

By gamey p

May 20, 2020

It's fail course it's a wasting for time

By Juan A

Aug 20, 2021

last test is unnecesary and annoying

By Arnold W

Oct 11, 2020

cant fucking unenrol

By Jorge D M

Sep 14, 2021

b​astante malo