Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
2,327 ratings
562 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

AM

Nov 23, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

NR

Mar 4, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

Filter by:

526 - 547 of 547 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Sundara p s p

Dec 21, 2017

i enjoyed and learned the course

By timir b

Oct 21, 2020

Very good learning experience.

By Shubham S

Aug 11, 2017

I was expecting something more

By Kapil C

Jul 27, 2020

Unique approach. Commendable.

By Mahmoud Z

Apr 5, 2020

cloud use more visual aid

By KARTHIK B N

Sep 10, 2020

good and well thought

By Deleted A

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent Course

By Nicholas K

Jun 8, 2019

Good course.

By prakash s

Aug 28, 2018

nice course.

By MOYILLA N K T

May 14, 2018

very good

By Mitul D

Aug 3, 2019

best

By thuonghien

Oct 8, 2018

good

By Mathew C

Mar 14, 2022

I completed the first 8 weeks of the course and overall the course was good. However I did not want to continue on with test flight. Since I did not continue on with the test flight I was not able to receive any certificate of completion. A couple years back I did the same thing and I DID receive a certificate. This time you can only receive a certificate if you complete all the test flight and peer evaluation. I wasted 75 bucks on a certicate request. Course is good but the Coursera certificate program stinks.

By Almaz

Dec 29, 2017

completely disagree with evaluation exercises as it allows to get >= 12 points for completely wrong solution. It's better to use [0,7] based system as used in IMO. it makes more sense and checks problem solving, not ability to bullshit

By Digby D

Dec 12, 2017

A more mathematical approach to Formal Logic. Good alternative to Intro to Logic (also from Stanford) for STEM students if they don't like the format of Intro to Logic.

By zjm2017

Mar 4, 2017

useful

By gooberish j

Jun 15, 2021

B​oring

By Aldo J M V

Dec 23, 2019

I disagree with the way the rubrics are designed. It should be called "think as I do"

By Santiago N M

Aug 30, 2018

no entendi nada no sabe explicar y ademas es vejo y blanco....

By gamey p

May 20, 2020

It's fail course it's a wasting for time

By Arnold W

Oct 11, 2020

cant fucking unenrol

By Jorge D M

Sep 14, 2021

b​astante malo