Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
2,381 ratings

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

PD

Jun 29, 2020

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

AM

Nov 23, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

Filter by:

551 - 566 of 566 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Deleted A

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent Course

By Nicholas K

Jun 8, 2019

Good course.

By prakash s

Aug 28, 2018

nice course.

By Krishna T

May 14, 2018

very good

By Mitul D

Aug 3, 2019

best

By thuonghien

Oct 8, 2018

good

By Mathew C

Mar 14, 2022

I completed the first 8 weeks of the course and overall the course was good. However I did not want to continue on with test flight. Since I did not continue on with the test flight I was not able to receive any certificate of completion. A couple years back I did the same thing and I DID receive a certificate. This time you can only receive a certificate if you complete all the test flight and peer evaluation. I wasted 75 bucks on a certicate request. Course is good but the Coursera certificate program stinks.

By Digby D

Dec 12, 2017

A more mathematical approach to Formal Logic. Good alternative to Intro to Logic (also from Stanford) for STEM students if they don't like the format of Intro to Logic.

By zjm2017

Mar 4, 2017

useful

By gooberish j

Jun 15, 2021

B​oring

By den s

Aug 12, 2022

T​eacher hand writes many things that are too small to see even on large screen. Not taught well. Hope this is not typical. I lost my money but want to try another choice.

By Aldo J M V

Jun 2, 2022

I disagree with the way the rubrics are designed. It should be called "Think as I Do It"

By Santiago N M

Aug 30, 2018

no entendi nada no sabe explicar y ademas es vejo y blanco....

By gamey p

May 20, 2020

It's fail course it's a wasting for time

By Arnold W

Oct 11, 2020

cant fucking unenrol

By Jorge D M

Sep 14, 2021

b​astante malo