Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
1,828 ratings
427 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

AM

Nov 24, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

NR

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 413 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Angelina O

Apr 11, 2018

I am happy to learn Math from the beginning of the beginning. Moreover, if this course was read for me at school, I am sure that I could have much more closest relations with math:)

By Andrey D

Aug 24, 2017

Course is great but it is difficult to print assignments in PDF because printers is not accessible by everyone. It is better when all assignments use coursera platform.

By Marcos V L R

Feb 08, 2018

Boa iniciativa, boas palestras e aulas. Todavia, necessita-se de um adaptação para países da língua portuguesa. Pelo valor pago pelo curso, nada mais justo!

By Marc B i M

Aug 04, 2017

Nice course overall. It makes you do and achieve what it says, so if you want to learn mathematical thinking that is the best introductory course for you.

By Omair A

Jun 10, 2017

A brilliant course must-take course, all that it needs is a little polishing up to cater for the very short attention span that today's netizens have.

By Chen N

Jan 19, 2019

Really nice course, with many insightful and inspiring point. However, this course should be marked as "beginners" because it's too easy...

By Oleksii M

May 20, 2017

I'm listening this course to improve my English in domain of math.

Course is a little bit boring but pleasant to listen :)

By 程语涵

Jan 12, 2020

A class that could help with building a logical mathematical thinking mode and give a new sight/way to learn.

By Newton K

Jul 23, 2018

Really great way to deliver lectures and make us wow in building ability to think differently in mathematics.

By Javier G

Oct 25, 2019

Only the last unit was hard to understand, as I think it wasn´t well explained. I recommend this course.

By Kirk S

Mar 30, 2019

Pretty awesome. I learned a lot. It wasn't easy, as this was mostly new material. Fascinating stuff.

By Joseph A D

Mar 14, 2017

A very enjoyable introduction to proofs, number theory, and some real analysis.

By Bennett

Apr 15, 2018

Good course. Have learned a lot along the way, more than only mathematics.

By Mehmet S T

Jun 03, 2017

It was really nice... I hope there will be the second part of this course.

By Michael A

Mar 16, 2017

Excellent course, introducing a difficult concept very well

By NOVAL R

Dec 13, 2018

It's very mind blowing approach for studying math.

By Anar

May 14, 2019

will update my review after finishing the course

By yash g

Sep 04, 2017

A good course to strengthen the foundations.

By C.Sundara p

Dec 21, 2017

i enjoyed and learned the course

By Shubham S

Aug 11, 2017

I was expecting something more

By Mahmoud M K Z

Apr 05, 2020

cloud use more visual aid

By Deleted A

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent Course

By Nicholas K

Jun 08, 2019

Good course.

By prakash s

Aug 28, 2018

nice course.

By MOYILLA N K T

May 14, 2018

very good