Chevron Left
Back to Measuring Disease in Epidemiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Measuring Disease in Epidemiology by Imperial College London

4.6
83 ratings
24 reviews

About the Course

Epidemiological research is ubiquitous. Even if you don’t realise it, you come across epidemiological studies and the impact of their findings every single day. You have probably heard that obesity is increasing in high income countries or that malaria is killing millions of people in low income countries. It is common knowledge that smoking causes cancer and that physical activity is protective against heart disease. These facts may seem obvious today, but it took decades of epidemiological research to produce the necessary evidence. In this course, you will learn the fundamental tools of epidemiology which are essential to conduct such studies, starting with the measures used to describe the frequency of a disease or health-related condition. You will also learn how to quantify the strength of an association and discuss the distinction between association and causation. In the second half of the course, you will use this knowledge to describe different strategies for prevention, identify strengths and weaknesses of diagnostic tests and consider when a screening programme is appropriate....

Top reviews

JV

Oct 12, 2019

The develop of this course was amazing,. There were some difficults but in my opinion, the Lecturers were so clear in general giving us the information. It was a great experience for me.

RR

Mar 11, 2019

Thank you for the excellent course materials, quizzes, and discussions. They have been extremely useful in updating my knowledge. Please keep the good work going.

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for Measuring Disease in Epidemiology

By Bruno A M P B

Mar 06, 2019

Great introduction on measuring disease in Epidemiology. You can learn about absolute and relative measures of association, measures of frequency, diagnostic tests and much more, with many quizzes for you to practice and learn the concepts.

By Rajalakshmi R

Mar 11, 2019

Thank you for the excellent course materials, quizzes, and discussions. They have been extremely useful in updating my knowledge. Please keep the good work going.

By Fernando R U G

May 20, 2019

This was a very complete course, absolutely worth the time and effort.

By C K

Sep 07, 2019

A very good primer with the essentials of epidemiological principles covered. This isn't an easy subject, but it is made easy to understand. The content covered requires care to fully grasp the material and understand the subtleties. Watching the lectures once usually isn't enough to fully grasp the material, which is fine since they're very brief and have all the necessary information in them. Useful for anyone working with health data or reading papers on health.

By Chioma T E C

May 30, 2019

I really learned a lot from this course.

By GAFARI, O Y

Sep 06, 2019

The course is amazing. The facilitator was very detailed and was able to clearly explain the various subject matter clearly. Also, the quizzes were true tests of knowledge and were quite challenging so as to ensure you actually understood the topic and if not, the need to go back and understand. I recommend the course totally.

By Angela B

Jun 02, 2019

Quizzes are difficult, requiring far too much time.

By Cristian E N C

Jul 01, 2019

Easy to understand, very useful

By Juan A R R

Jul 06, 2019

An excellent course, very practical and professional. I recommend it.

By Wanyu H

Jul 24, 2019

A clear and concise framework about epidemiological measurements definition, meaning & applications, including measurements of associations, health impacts, and validity of screening tests. I figured most practice questions may adapted and simplified from real studies, with clear instructions on performing calculations.

By Avana P

Jul 27, 2019

very good

By Deusdenir d S M

Jul 31, 2019

An excellent course for those interested in Epidemiology and the permanent update in health.

For those who don't have much time, the videos are short, so it makes it easy for those who work long hours.

Recommended for all healthcare professionals, regardless of their area of ​​expertise.

By George M R R

Jul 28, 2019

Very straight forward and interesting. The professor is great at answering questions and providing helpful tips to complete the course.

By Ranjeet S M

Aug 09, 2019

It was great experience to pursue this course

By Adèle W

Aug 24, 2019

F

By Maria B

Oct 03, 2019

Very interesting and helpful course.

By Johanna M R V

Oct 12, 2019

The develop of this course was amazing,. There were some difficults but in my opinion, the Lecturers were so clear in general giving us the information. It was a great experience for me.

By Jose L V V

Oct 20, 2019

The course is very good and directed to the subject that approaches with useful exercises to understand each concept very well.

By simisola a

Nov 14, 2019

Very informative

By Tim R

Jul 09, 2019

Very clear, lots of exercises

By Yanhua X

Oct 01, 2019

Very clear explanation of the measurement concepts, using intuitive examples.

By Mohamed N G E s

Sep 30, 2019

The couse is excellent but the quizzes answers should be multiple choices not open answer and after passing the quizzust provide us with the right answers of the wrong answered one

By Katherine D

Sep 23, 2019

This course was helpful and informative. However, the structure of the quizzes, particularly how specifically correct the answers have to be entered was extremely frustrating. I highly recommend making all quiz questions multiple choice going forward. Additionally, there were a few times throughout the course when the instructor would audibly describe a formula or calculation but not visibly display it. Visually displaying all math calculations done in the lecture would help me learn it much easier.

By Nicolas C T

Mar 12, 2019

Worst course of the platform!