Chevron Left
Back to Measuring Disease in Epidemiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Measuring Disease in Epidemiology by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
729 ratings

About the Course

Epidemiological research is ubiquitous. Even if you don’t realise it, you come across epidemiological studies and the impact of their findings every single day. You have probably heard that obesity is increasing in high income countries or that malaria is killing millions of people in low income countries. It is common knowledge that smoking causes cancer and that physical activity is protective against heart disease. These facts may seem obvious today, but it took decades of epidemiological research to produce the necessary evidence. In this course, you will learn the fundamental tools of epidemiology which are essential to conduct such studies, starting with the measures used to describe the frequency of a disease or health-related condition. You will also learn how to quantify the strength of an association and discuss the distinction between association and causation. In the second half of the course, you will use this knowledge to describe different strategies for prevention, identify strengths and weaknesses of diagnostic tests and consider when a screening programme is appropriate....

Top reviews

HV

Invalid date

This was a phenomenal learning experience, the hands-on approach made it feel always relevant, the instructor was brilliant and the materials were always suited to my learning expectations.

AF

Invalid date

Excellent course with a good conceptual understanding of basic concepts of epidemiology and clinical research. Highly recommended for Health-care professionals.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 153 Reviews for Measuring Disease in Epidemiology

By kenechukwu o

Mar 28, 2020

Fantastic course. The Assignments/Tests were awesome.

This is a superb course for any learner in epidemiology.

By Giovanni G

Jun 23, 2020

Excelent experience with this videos and materials, I love this courses from Imperial College. Thank you

By Diana C

May 24, 2020

Great course, it helped me understand basic concepts in epidemiology with practical examples. Thanks.

By Abdul M

Jul 23, 2022

excellent . the quizes are challenging, will give you a hard time but youll learn alot. good luck.

By CYNTHIA S

Sep 22, 2020

The course is so exciting and interesting. And the way it's been taught is understandable.

Thanks

By olugbodi s

Mar 27, 2020

The topics are well analyzed and arranged. I found it so easy to study and understand on my own.

By Tuneer B

May 2, 2020

A must take, for all. You will fall in love, the way Prof. Filippidis, teaches !

Cheers,

Tuneer

By Andres F L S

Dec 14, 2020

Really good explain of the topics and have the essential to continue learning in this subject

By Charalampos V

Aug 16, 2020

Overall, an excellent intro to measures of epidemiology. Looking forward to the next modules

By Sergio M M L

Nov 30, 2021

Its a great course of epidemiology, is clear and concise in concepts and content of modules

By NARENDRA K

Jan 19, 2021

Very nice, well explained

Very much useful if you are working in the public health field.

By Charles W

Sep 6, 2020

The teacher teaches the course vividly with many humours! I enjoy the course very much!

By Muhammad I

Sep 11, 2022

The best epidemiology course ever, love it so much difficult but really interesting.

By Ka Y M C

Aug 23, 2021

Very clear and concise explanations of epidemiological terms with relevant examples!

By Gladys O

Aug 23, 2023

amazing course that makes me love & enjoy epidemiology. Thankyou to all instructors!

By Ahmad S I

Dec 4, 2019

It was an exhilarating experience, concepts simplified and easy to grasp. Thank you!

By Santiago

Sep 10, 2020

The expert is very clear and has the hability to comunicate in a very apropiate way

By Mónica A F P

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent course, it´s like a "Epidemiology for dummies" version, I love it

By Marco S

May 12, 2020

Exellent online course, very usefull for my personal and professional life

By mais a

May 26, 2020

amazing course ...I have learned a lot of useful methods and strategies..

By Rabaa E d

May 26, 2020

I am happy with the course, as I thank Doctor fillppos for your effor

By Juan A R R

Jul 5, 2019

An excellent course, very practical and professional. I recommend it.

By Vianka D L C G

Mar 30, 2022

It was really fun, I never thought I would be able to learn so much.

By Hương V

Mar 14, 2020

Great course. It helped me to broaden my knowledge in epidemiology.

By BRYAN R T T

Oct 14, 2020

Excelente curso, te brinda muy buenas capacidades en epidemiología