Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals in Kotlin

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals in Kotlin by Meta

4.7
stars
77 ratings

About the Course

Practice and expand on the fundamentals of programming that are core to any language as well as the unique aspects of Kotlin syntax. You will work with data types, functions, conditionals, operators, collections-arrays, variables and loops. Furthermore, you will declare and initialize different types of variables and explain their scope as well as create arrays and collections in Kotlin. You’ll create control flow patterns using conditionals and loops. There will be opportunities to practice using structs and classes while considering best cases for both. Discover deeper ways to use objects in Kotlin through exploring interfaces and classes. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe basic types and variables • Explain numbers in Kotlin • Explain what conditions are • Describe how to use loops • Explain the concept of a function  • Differentiate between a parameter and an argument • Explain that a function can return a value and describe how it works • Explain the difference between a class, an object and a type • Differentiate between various visibility modifiers • Describe the use of collections in programming • Identify which collection type to use in any given situation • Explain the difference between List, Set and Map • Synthesize the skills you gained from the course to create code for the Bank Account project. This is a beginner course for learners who would like to prepare themselves for a career as an Android developer using Kotlin. To succeed in this course, you do not need prior web development experience, only basic internet navigation skills and an eagerness to get started with coding....

Top reviews

OA

Nov 26, 2022

The course was well taught but sometimes the instructor seams to be so fast and I had to go back severally to understand concepts and what was said. Overall, its a nice course.

RP

Nov 22, 2022

The course went in depth with OOPS concepts and all the basics! It was a bit easy for me to grasp the course coming from JAVA. Thanks Meta Staff

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals in Kotlin

By Wenqing Z

Nov 17, 2022

Course material poorly organised with a lot of bugs and poor indentation.

By Dan T

Jan 19, 2023

The course has good tutorials on the various aspects of Kotlin, however the clear disregard for proofreading brings it down two stars. There are errors practically everywhere, both in the writing of the lessons, as well as in the programming code. I expected better from Meta. It almost makes me want to give up on the whole Specialization, but I likely won't. I'll just have to be prepared for future courses to be poorly edited, as well, and get whatever educational material I can out of them the best I can.

By Olalekan A

Nov 27, 2022

The course was well taught but sometimes the instructor seams to be so fast and I had to go back severally to understand concepts and what was said. Overall, its a nice course.

By Rohit P

Nov 23, 2022

The course went in depth with OOPS concepts and all the basics! It was a bit easy for me to grasp the course coming from JAVA. Thanks Meta Staff

By David T

Feb 3, 2023

In this course I learned the fundamentals of Kotlin, the projects are easy to build and they show the projects built to compare the work done.

By Muhammad U K

Dec 22, 2022

Enrolling in this course was my life-learning experience, and learned much knowledge of kotlin playground as well as OOP using Kotlin basics.

By Cintya G

Nov 14, 2022

Este curso é excelente para aprender com mais afinco sobre a linguagem e colocar em prática. Recomendo.

By Thirdy G

Feb 3, 2023

Thank you for this course. All of my learning in this course will be apply on my future project

By Flavio G d O

Oct 25, 2022

This course covered the main basic topics of the Kotlin language. Very good!!!

By Lintang L

Dec 15, 2022

great course, make me more understand in programming kotlin as a beginner

By Prakhar B

Oct 11, 2022

Amazingly taught lessons and good enough practise examples

By Siddhesh K

Jan 10, 2023

Explained in really simple way

By Edidiong I

Oct 13, 2022

Great content

By Hammad Y

Jan 16, 2023

great course

By Kavishka M

Oct 26, 2022

very good

By GULSHER K

Oct 31, 2022

By Rossana M

Jan 10, 2023

The course is great. I just wish there were more exercises to practice.

By Aleksandar S

Oct 5, 2022

The evaluation questions are very superficial. They often call upon some technicality introduced on the previous page, instead of checking for logical understanding. On few of the questions there are typos that should change the answer.

Some questions do not have a unique answer, yet the radio-button selection only allows for a single choice.

By Jacob S

Oct 16, 2022

Great introduction.

Nicer though if there where some real programming task that has to be submitted to pass the course.