Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
11,269 ratings
3,264 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

DI
Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

EC
Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 3,262 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Aya E F

Dec 31, 2017

This course has been very beneficial to me. It tackled through a lot of important topics for me such as procrastination and career shifting. It encouraged me and made me believe that I am on the right track of my career.

It's simple, easy and highly recommended.

We're never too old to keep learning and it's never to late to enhance your skills and increase them.

Thank you Dr Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski

By Simply M

Feb 24, 2021

A great way to learn how to learn the things ,it helped me to break my mental barriers to learning and change perspective about many myths .It helped me to broaden my Passion. Further gave me a technique of Pomodoro for learning ,which greatly helped me to concentrate and change my learning style .A gratitude to Barbara Oakley Madam and Terry Sejnowski Sir, for bringing deep insight of learning.

By Ayisha L

Jul 16, 2020

I enrolled this MOOC to learn how to learn and my expectation was fulfilled to a 100%. I learnt that human brain is a powerful tool whose abilities are limited by human thoughts and beliefs. The course, its excellent videos and the instructor gave mind blowing insights. I don't normally rate high, but this course deserves a 10/10. I cant thank Coursera enough for housing such incredible courses!

By Deleted A

Apr 27, 2020

I have never done a MOOC before and i am so thankful this was the first one i chose to do. The bar is certainly set high now for any other MOOCS i will be taking in the future. I had not done much learning for a while so i was very nervous to start up again. This course helped me gain confidence and knowledge around always learning and i cannot take what i have learnt out into the real world.

By Adrianto R

May 1, 2020

I love this subject. Learning How To Learning and Mindshift is a complete set of tools that make me more comfortable in learn. I learn that learning style is similar to driving or riding style in real or virtual motorsport world. So i can adapt what I learn from virtual motorsport or other video games skills to my learning style and process. Thank you Mrs Barbara for this incredible journey.

By Wanderley G

Jan 10, 2018

Study is my hobby and I think that I am much more prepared to get more from it after attending this course. You are going to find discussions about meditation, active learning, reading habits, memorization tricks and more. You are also going to find some important discussion about how much important is conceptual understanding and practice with repetition. I wish you enjoy as much as I did.

By PallaviPandavula

Sep 30, 2020

This course is one the best courses I have ever taken. This course gives you a broader perspective of study, career, life altogether. This course gifted me with valuable insights for which I feel really grateful. I strongly believe that this course would be useful to any person who wishes to become a better version of himself , irrespective of age ,background. I enjoyed taking this course.

By Judy O

Apr 13, 2020

Course information applicable for every age and stage of career re: new methods of framing your mindset about how to learn new information and how what you have thought of a negative trait may actually be an advantage for creativity, short cuts and deeper concept understanding. Easy to keep up with just a few hours a week through short MOOC"s, keep concepts, polls and only a few tests.

By Margarita G S

May 7, 2020

A very comprehensive course with plenty of advice and strategies to learn better and pursue our dreams in a more effective way. The videos are interesting and funny, there are plenty of mini tests and mini forums to test our knowledge and Barb and Terry have put their passion into this course just as much as in Learning to Learn. I highly recommend you take it, it's worth every second.

By Thomas S

May 19, 2017

Very inspiring and motivating MOOC by Barbara Oakley and Terrence Sejnowski. They provide clean lessons in a structured and appealing way. I liked the quizzes, the integration of entries (essays) to the discussion forum. I learned a lot while having fun with this extraordinary course. Finally I want to mention the natural, but fundamental way both Barbara and Terrence teach the course.

By Julián J

May 10, 2017

I loved this MOOC, although I had to travel to a place with no internet connection during more than half of it. Barb, thanks for your work. Next time, I'd love to learn more tips about how to TEACH. It happens that I find myself often in a teacher role, either formally or informally, and I need to learn how to make my teaching more impactful (without creating a MOOC for the matter).

By Eunice C S Q

Apr 29, 2020

Best course that I've ever attended. Presenters and materials are very interactive that makes it more interesting to learn.

After taking this course, I've start to compare with other courses on how they teach the course. It's either only showing the presenter face while they talk, or only showing the slides and the presenter talks.

Mindshift is a must take as it is very interesting. .

By Eliseo M

Mar 16, 2018

Alright learned so much! I love these instructors! They have literally changed my outlook on life and how I can accomplish so much if I can figure out how to do it! You're not limited to your beliefs if you don't want to be. Change your mindset for a fixed mindset to a growth mindset and you'll enjoy life so much more I promise. Thank you Dr.Terry and Dr. Oakley

---Eliseo Magallon

By Bappaditya D

Jun 28, 2020

This is a great course for people who thinks that they are slow learners, cannot remember easily, have doubt on many things. It shows that those are actually advantage for learning new things. It encourages to take new challenges everyday. The concept Pomodoro I particularly liked. It is helpful to bring people back into action rather than wasting time in destructing activities.

By Brandon S

Jun 20, 2020

Hi, Coursera! Thanks for this very informative course. Would like to ask to kindly update my certificate on this course. I was able to complete and passed the honor code assignments. But it seems that the provided certificate for me has no honor code banner on it. I look forward for your positive and prompt action on this request. Thank you and more power! - Brandon Sibbaluca

By Yemao

Jun 7, 2020

The best course that I have ever take on coursera (except the one taught by Andrew Ng on Machine Learning). Babara is such a nice teacher that she not only teaches you how to understand yourself and see your potential, but also provide you means and approaches to develop in a long term. Mindshifting is life-long journey, the same as learning. Strongly recommended to everyone!

By Zach L

Apr 23, 2020

Absolutely excellent and helpful foundational course for learning. Better coverage and production than the Learning How to Learn course (though that is also pretty good).

I would recommend this to anyone looking to restart or augment their learning, especially for those who plan on taking MOOCs or other online courses related to their current field or secondary skill fields.

By Safwa M

Mar 9, 2019

this course has many impacts on me and my mind in a very impressive way . from adopting the concept of broaden my passions instead of following them blindly till the idea of being flexible and to accept the changes around me. another that i had learned from this course is how to learn from the past and how to try to improve yourself whenever the train of life has to stop.

By Fidel V H

Oct 2, 2021

This is an excellent course that teaches you how to mind shift from the actual stuck a career where you aren't feeling comfortable the best strategies for tackling procrastination, bringing creative new perspectives and approaches to your discipline through the metaphors that will naturally develop in your mind, as you are going to find out through this excellent course.

By Massimiliano M

Apr 25, 2020

The Mindshift course is a very interesting and well done course.

Easy to follow, not at all boring, on the contrary all the teachings, even if some of them basic yet all fundamentals, are made more compelling and easy to understand and remember.

For sure I'll read the book of the lecturer: Mindshift, which has inspired this MOOC and which is recommended reading as well.

By Lourdes N

Dec 8, 2019

I noticed a significant difference in my learning from this course, it was as if my brain increased performance and the ability to produce new ideas. I understood the best way of learning and greatly improved the way I study. I am very grateful to the teachers and other professionals who shared their experiences so that we could fully understand the concepts presented.

By Ana K d C S d L

Sep 24, 2017

Excellent, well researched ,engaging, action oriented Mooc. It has the right balance of information, good quiality videos, well thought out quizzes and helpful activities to promote long term learning and attitude change. Great for starting a career change , broadening your horizon or starting a new learning lifestyle. Thank you very much, Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski!

By Bernardo C

Jun 22, 2020

The course capitalized on what was previously learned in the Learning How to Learn course with added emphasis on the ability for those who are willing to be able to shift their mindset. The analogies are easy to understand and apply. I would highly recommend for anyone currently looking for proven and effective methods on how to mind shift and confidently tackle that

By Suporn P

Apr 27, 2020

This is the first MOOC course that engaged me throughout the entire journey and I was able to complete the course within a week. The instructor introduces interesting concepts that are useful for breaking through obstacles in learning, uses simple words to explain complex concepts, and reiterates the concepts with small quiz throughout the course. Highly recommended.

By Nicole M

Jul 7, 2017

I LOVED this course. Each week I learned something new. The insights and additional resources help jumpstart my motivation. The course started at an ideal point in my learning. Since taking the course I have seen improvement in my study habits and I have the tools and resources for when my motivation is at a low point. I can't wait to see a continuation for Mindshift