Chevron Left
Back to Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
1,001 ratings
241 reviews

About the Course

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Top reviews

JM
Jul 28, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK
Apr 7, 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 239 Reviews for Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

By Arya D

Apr 9, 2020

The course and the instructor is really amazing. The knowledge gained through this course can be applied to academic as well as personal life which is very impressive about this course. Thank you Mr. Richard Nisbett!

By Aravindh C

Sep 27, 2018

Stick through the entire course and you'll definitely be better at making decisions. The first videos I saw I was a bit bored, but the questions, simulations etc was nourishment to the mind. Thank you, Prof Nisbett.

By Christopher S M

May 11, 2018

Loved the course! It is a comprehensive review for those of us working with data every day. The pace of the course provides a comprehensive refresher of the fundamentals of critical thinking, logic, and reasoning.

By Seweryn M

Apr 8, 2020

An interesting and engaging course. Extends the picture of many issues. Comprehensive and optimal in terms of time and content. I recommend to everyone, regardless of the profession. Sympathetic lecturer. Regards!

By Anh G

Aug 22, 2020

This course is great. I've found the way to think about many problems around me, such as what the best thing to buy when I have many choices. The teacher has many example for me to understand the course easier.

By Micheal S

Nov 4, 2020

Its good introduction to critical thinking,doesnt teaches you everything but definitely motivates you to learn more about the material,and there is no boring stuff so you will probably end up learning more.

By Huber M

Jul 29, 2019

Hace tiempo que venía buscando un curso sobre pensamiento crítico. Este curso es muy bueno, no sólo porque provee de herramientas para razonar, sino también por las explicaciones y los ejemplos que se dan.

By Dan

Sep 19, 2019

This course was very useful. It went over concepts which come in handy when we are sifting through the bombardment of information in our current age which we need to process to arrive at sound decisions.

By Елена В

Sep 4, 2020

This course will be very useful both in school and in life. Concentration of super-useful ideas and knowledge that can greatly simplify our life and improve the quality of our judgments and decisions.

By Sucharita R P

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent course. I learnt a lot from this course. It has changed my thinking and I hope to be able to use it in making decisions both at home as well as at work.

By Rita J

Mar 22, 2021

This was an excellent course and I highly recommend it to anyone looking to further their understanding of critical thinking for the new information age.

By Manuel O A

Jul 11, 2019

Thanks for the course, very illuminating. Our society needs to educate his Mindware to be better, especially now with the environmental crisis in we are.

By Edwin G C

Jun 17, 2020

I have learned a lot and I am inspired to learn more. Thank you so much, University of Michigan, Coursera, and to the very insightful Professor Nesbitt.

By Venu

Oct 1, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was very well designed with lot of examples to easily understand the topics in the course. Thanks to the Professor.

By Hawra F A

Sep 11, 2020

Awesome course! Definitely teaches about critical thinking. Uses case studies and examples which are fun :) Some maths too so good for math lovers :D

By Robert F

May 3, 2020

Excellent combination of logic, statistics and psychology which is the minimum amount of understandings you need to make accurate business decisions.

By Gary L

Jan 27, 2018

This is a fantastic course.

Even with two masters degrees I learnt a lot and have recommended it to my colleagues.

It should be taught to all students.

By Виктория Е

Mar 4, 2019

I just finished my first week, but I already can say that it is changing my mind! These skills are extremely helpful in our lives. I am so grateful!

By Travis J

Sep 13, 2018

A pretty crucial look at the common fallacies and biases that influence the way we absorb information. This is highly recommended to all people.

By Tharmira

Jun 18, 2020

It's just an amazing course, and delivers what the title says. The teacher is amazing too! I might take the course again sometime in the future!

By Wellington d S

Apr 10, 2021

The professor was excellent and the whole course was very much easy to follow. I enjoyed the exercises and the information learned was precise.

By David A Q A

Jul 4, 2018

A Clear and Useful course to be a Better Decision Maker. Do you need something else? What you waiting for? Take course it's more than a nudge.

By Mark P

Sep 20, 2019

This has been most excellent.

I found the baserate false alarm rate examples particularly useful and am inspired to use this in a new context

By Paul K

May 28, 2019

Superb. Being able to (begin to) see cognitive biases and errors daily--and realizing that everyone makes many--is enlightening and humbling.

By Sunita A

May 14, 2018

The activities and lectures were really interesting. This is the first course that i started and completed on Coursera. So I'm super excited.