Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,228 ratings
338 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top reviews

MN
Sep 23, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

SK
Nov 20, 2020

The Professor was really passionate and took you throug the miniscule details of modern history that made the world the way they are. this is truly a global history course and i enjoyed it very much

Filter by:

326 - 337 of 337 Reviews for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

By Jon G

Aug 6, 2017

Very informative

By Karla S C S

Mar 1, 2018

Muy interesante

By ADITYA R K

Jun 10, 2020

good course

By Brianna Z J

Oct 11, 2015

A

By Johann Q

Sep 2, 2015

We need less lectures and more application based courses.

By Evangelia A

Nov 21, 2015

Very few o no information about the Latin America

By Karthik N

Mar 2, 2019

The lecturer was slightly monotonous and really has missed out on key factors such as Weimar Republic etc in this course. Moreover, the course seems very opinionated and ends of the wars seems to be just glossed over into economic terms rather than historic facts. Battle of Okinawa, death of Hitler, battle of somme and verdun seem like key parts not tackled efficiently. Quizzes rely too much on rote knowledge and the lecturer's opinion rather than what one should take away from the presentations. Also, coming from India and also having stayed for long in the Middle East, the entire picture given by the lecturer of these regions seem to be quite flawed as the picture is very narrow.

By Basel

Mar 22, 2016

Might be an instructive course but the guy who presents it is really creepy. And knowing he was involved in the official 9/11 report makes him hard to believe on any issue.

By Mohit T

Sep 8, 2019

auditors have to pay to see the answers of the quiz, I think the questions are stupid and we wont find out how they are unless we participate in the quiz.

By Sergiu L

Apr 27, 2016

Great course, but it's misleading. doesn't tell you from the start that you have to pay for it.

By Edmund B

Jun 8, 2016

For pay quiz feedback is not part of the MOOC education movement.

By ibrahim A T

Nov 20, 2016

a little propagandist, but interesting with that in mind