Chevron Left
Back to Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications by Rice University

4.8
176 ratings
44 reviews

About the Course

Cleaning up the large number of groundwater contamination sites is a significant and complex environmental challenge. The environmental industry is continuously looking for remediation methods that are both effective and cost-efficient. Over the past 10 years there have been amazing, important developments in our understanding of key attenuation processes and technologies for evaluating natural attenuation processes, and a changing institutional perspective on when and where Monitored Natural Attenuation (MNA) may be applied. Despite these advances, restoring groundwater contaminated by anthropogenic sources to allow for unrestricted use continues to be a challenge. Because of a complex mix of physical, chemical, and biological constraints associated with active in-situ cleanup technologies, there has been a long standing focus on understanding natural processes that attenuate groundwater contaminant plumes. We will build upon basic environmental science and environmental engineering principles to discover how to best implement MNA as a viable treatment for groundwater contamination plumes. Additionally we will delve into the history behind and make predictions about the new directions for this technology. Any professional working in the environmental remediation industry will benefit from this in-depth study of MNA. We will use lectures, readings, and computational exercises to enhance our understanding and implementation of MNA. At the completion of this course, students will have updated understanding and practical tools that can be applied to all possible MNA sites....

Top reviews

MH

Nov 06, 2016

Excellent course to provide a broad understanding of scientific concepts and current applications of degradation processes and programs critical to modern environmental remediation programs.

JC

Jul 08, 2017

Professionally relevant. Lectures had enough bad jokes to be entertaining and keep it interesting. Seems very current with state of practice.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 41 Reviews for Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications

By Farah A

Nov 29, 2018

Very helpful cousrse. It increased my learning skills too.

By MANASVI T

Apr 05, 2019

amazing course, just hope some diy projects were added.

By Ross C

Apr 04, 2019

Very interesting and relevant material. Although the examples were primarily in the US technical and regulatory context, the course was nonetheless very informative. I'd thoroughly recommend it for hydrogeologists, geoenvironmental engineers and environmental consultants.

By Archak D

Apr 07, 2019

VERY GOOD COURSE

By PRADHUMAN S

Apr 10, 2019

Good effort for providing knowlege

By Muhammad I

Dec 08, 2018

It was great experience and learning opportunity .

By 郭逸飞

Jul 17, 2018

Good presentation and hope to see you later!

By Mara S F M

Sep 11, 2018

is very good !!!

By Umesh C

Aug 15, 2018

This course is very informative and very good for environmental engineers . It gives the insight of the natural attenuation of groundwater.

By KARLA Y S G

Aug 15, 2018

muy interesante el curso

By Raul P S

Jul 21, 2018

Amazing, interesting and entertaining course delivered by some of the best in their field. Highly recommendable. Well done and keep up the great work!

By Deivid L d S M

Jul 30, 2017

Great course!!! It really helped me understand a lot of interesting topics of natural attenuation that I've been dealing with at my job.

By Dylan Y

Jun 10, 2017

Fantastic course regarding groundwater related concepts and applications. Be happy to take similar courses

By José G B

Oct 18, 2016

Lots of learning and fun. Although quite specific, not tedious at all.

By Alexandra S

Jun 30, 2017

Very thorough course, well presented by top experts in the field.

By Daniel M E

Nov 02, 2016

Great overview of contaminant hydrogeology. It is focused mainly in hydrocarbons and chlorinated solvents, but the methodologies ara applicable in many other situations.

By Marie G

Apr 20, 2017

Fantastic course! Learn a lot.

By Worku J N

Dec 14, 2016

This course was really very well organized and comprehensive in its content. The lecturers are excellent expertise on the topic and they are very engaging. It is an absolute deal to take this course for those who are looking to advance their career in the area of subsurface pollutant remediation and research.

Thanks

Worku J Negawo

By Joshua R C

Jul 08, 2017

Professionally relevant. Lectures had enough bad jokes to be entertaining and keep it interesting. Seems very current with state of practice.

By April Z

Oct 06, 2017

supreme course! very information and great lecturer. I've learnt so much. Go owls!

By Kolawole M

Jun 06, 2017

Informative, well researched and articulately presented.

By Rodrigo V V

Apr 02, 2018

The course was very interesting, a lot of information in short sessions. It improved my understanding of contaminants in GW and I really like that there’s a spark of humor in the lectures.

By Rajath S

Nov 07, 2016

Very useful course

By Mauricio V

Nov 07, 2016

The course has provided me with a very up-to-date panorama of the current knowledge and considerations over the evalutaion and application of Monitored Natural Attenuation as a remdial option for contaminated sites. It has also explained and commented on many key processes that are involved in attenuation processes, about which the knowledge for those who are participating in the management of a contaminated site is mandatory. Other than that, Drs. Alvarez, Newell and Adamson showed a very good grasp over the topics discussed, with even a few funny and entertaining conversations along the lectures. Overall, an amazing course.

By Leane H

May 26, 2017

Excellent course! Explained so that it is understandable even if you don't have the sufficient background in the topics discussed.