Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,283 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ . The course also includes an opportunity to use an interactive experience where you can test your negotiation skills before starting the live negotiation. (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

EP

Oct 14, 2021

Dr. Siedel is adorable. I feel more confident and meanwhile more thoughtful for negotiating after this course. I bargained on many personal and business purchases, positions, etc. highly recommended.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 4,540 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Fernando G B

Aug 27, 2019

Very good and engaging approach to negotiation, delivered by an outstanding professor. The course covered a broad number of topics, using great examples and an excellent unique final negotiation activity. Highly recommended to everyone who wishes to strengthen their negotiation skills.

By Leencol L

Jan 13, 2016

Cool course! It's simple and easy to understand. It is highly recommended not only to professionals, lawyers, agents and businessmen but also to other average persons.

A round of applause for George Siedel, "Negotiation Team" and Coursera! I hope many people will enroll on this course.

By Štefan S

Jun 17, 2018

One of the best courses I've ever done. The material is very interesting, well prepared and easy to follow. I've never realised how much I wanted to learn about negotiating until I've started to dig deeper into this course. For me that's the hallmark of a superb learning experience.

By Mikhail K

May 1, 2020

Like many, for a well-known reason, I decided to try courses online. This was the first experience at Coursera.

Very interesting and useful course for everyone who wants to improve their negotiation skills and learn new about negotiation strategies

Thanks for this great opportunity

By Aldo P

Apr 11, 2020

In my job (and real life) i negotiate almost every day, this course gave me important tips and tools in order to manage future negotiation.

Dr. Seidel is a great teacher, i really admire his way of explaining and i hope i have an opportunity to follow some others lessons by him.

By Chuck S

Nov 5, 2016

The class provided tools and resources for negotiations I have not been exposed to before. It helped me understand the techniques available to become more successful in the negotiation process. Dr. Siedel is excellent at delivering the content in an easy to understand method.

By Shokhruz S F

Jul 1, 2020

I am highly grateful that I have accomplished my second course which gave huge enjoyment and valuable knowledge. In this course I have completely gained a lot of information and tools in order to improve my negotiation skills for my personal and professional lives. Thank you !

By Berezina K V

Apr 27, 2020

Thanks a lot to all people who worked on this course!

I should say that this was my first experience, the first time I took part in an online courses. I was pretty happy!

Thank you very much for your knowledge and useful negotiation tactics, they will definitely be useful to me!

By Biljana M

Apr 16, 2020

Very helpful course. Easy to follow even for people with scientific background and no previous knowledge in business and law. Prof. Siedel is a great lecturer, keeping the interest level always high with samples and problem-solving exercises. I have learned a lot! Thank you!

By Waldir d C N

Feb 29, 2020

Esse curso já me colocou à frente de muitas pessoas, seu conteúdo é fantástico e bem explicado com grandes técnicas de negociações e tem uma qualidade ótima, valeu muito estudar aqui!!! É show, parabéns a todos os envolvidos, especialmente meu mestre George Siedel, obrigado.

By Сорокин Д В

May 29, 2018

Very interesting and usefull course. It has many surprising examples. I'm very happy that I watched this cours. I hope I can apply this knowledg. I even fell out of reality a little, I got over the routine at work when I watched the cours. Very interesting. Good luck to you.

By Balint P

Jan 14, 2017

I would definitely recommend this course, hence it is easy to follow, but still can give a nice framework how to prepare for a negotiation. You also have the chance to realize some of your weaknesses and strong skills with regards to a negotiation. All in all, worth to try !

By Saiful I

Jan 6, 2017

George Siedel, You are one of the best teacher of my life. I enjoyed your teaching. I can say I learn many things from you and what I learn from you today, will stay with me forever because of your examples, related stories and wit. Thank you, Sir. Stay safe and play for me.

By Muhammad J

Jun 21, 2020

Negotiation is never ending process, as we live on earth. First i thought it will be very difficult to learn negotiation skill and tactics , but the way sir George teach, i really salute to my teacher. His unique and wide experience will help me a lot in future. Thanks sir.

By Yan E

May 10, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much and have learn a lot, although I am not sure how much of what I have learned from this course will be put in use in my life. Professor Siedel is a great teacher on this subject. I will definitely recommend this course to someone who need it.

By Juan C S S

Nov 30, 2016

El enfoque sencillo y de muy alto contenido técnico hace de este curso muy pertinente para profesionales dedicados a actividades donde va continuamente implícita una negociación de alto nivel, agradezco la oportunidad de haber realizado este curso, altamente recomendable!

By Xavier D

Apr 20, 2019

I learnt a lot with this course that provides methods and lots of exemple on how negotiation is being prepared, done and evaluated ! Greta teacher and pace of the course to study with 2-3hours per week which makes it compatible with on-goign full time workload. Tks !

By Danny G

Oct 14, 2015

Good course. I feel I got a lot out of it to fine-tune some of my tactics. One thing that I would find useful - there are many terms introduced throughout the course. It would help if there was a reference link to jargon where I could look up the meaning of terms.

By Yusuf A

Oct 8, 2015

The instructor delivers 'common sense' but vital and often overlooked insights on the aspect of negotiation. Before I finished 'week three' of the module I could see for myself that my negotiation skills have greatly improved.

This is way beyond a theoretical course.

By Alex A

Nov 15, 2015

A very practical course with many real life examples and case studies. Never boring and excellent presentation by the very experienced Prof. George Siedel. Thank you University of Michigan and Professor for giving me this opportunity to learn a very valuable course.

By Tobia A

Aug 30, 2015

Great contents, fantastic teacher. I advise you to buy the book, I really enjoyed reading it. This is my first course on Coursera platform, I prefer EdX but that's an opinion. I would like an additional course taught by the same teacher, with more advanced contents.

By Siva K

Sep 30, 2015

Wonderful course. If you are understanding negotiations, this course is the place to be. George Siedel gives a very patient and clear explanation on the terminologies and concepts. Very useful indeed. You will have fun and it will never be boring. Thanks Courseera.

By Washington A

Jun 2, 2018

Curso fantástico! Além de abrir um horizonte ante negociações corriqueiras como negociar com negociar com nossa esposa, com o caixa da padaria, com o motorista do Uber até grandes negociações que envolvem valores consideráveis. Sou muito grato pela oportunidade!!!

By Łukasz S

Apr 20, 2017

I am glad that I participated in this course. Everything was clear, lectures were interesting, a lot of tips and cases to ilustrate theory and practical exercise. The final test was difficult, but if something comets too ease, we do not appreciate it. Recommended!

By Nikita L

Mar 30, 2020

That was my first online course and it's perfect. There were some issues probably because I'm Russian and this course in English and I intentionally didn't use Russian subtitles but that was my choice. Very pleasant lector. Thanks for this time, that was awesome!