Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
13,218 ratings
3,206 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS
Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB
Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

2801 - 2825 of 3,147 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Pedro J B G

Aug 16, 2015

Very useful course!!! It gives you important tools to succeed on a business environment as negotiation is involved in almost every situation of our lives.

By Shameel A M A k

Aug 31, 2020

Always try to understand other person's perspective! This is one of the key thing in negotiation. Good course with good practical negotiation in the end.

By Deepak

Apr 13, 2020

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn into formal and personal negotiations for sure. Very articulate and excellent content.

By Bernie

Oct 24, 2015

Some of the speeches are really very long and need patience to finish. I'm happy that he exam is much easier and takes not very long time to get passed.

By Nedum O

Mar 11, 2020

Exceptional teaching. The main detraction for me was that some practice videos had poor audio quality; particularly the video on mediation proceedings.

By Karmit S

Nov 27, 2020

This is certainly insightful learning experience with a practical understanding of the Concept. I am thankful to Coursera and Michigan University.

By eran k

Dec 26, 2015

very good introduction, over focus on legal terms to my opinion, but most of the course deal with how to nego' and how to make successful nego'.

By Antal B H M

Jun 4, 2017

Great course, but in my opinion a bit too much focus on ADR-procedures. Would personally have liked more emphasis on negotiation-processes.

By Stacy A A

Nov 30, 2020

I loved the instructor because of his teaching method. He really broke the topic down for a learner like me and I was able to learn a lot.

By Devang S

Sep 1, 2015

He is certainly a very good teacher, but he is boring.He uses this same monotonous tone,but seeing the content it does help us understand.

By Faizu A K

Oct 28, 2020

Wow sincerely speaking i don have enough word to said thank u for this wonderful course because i acquired more knowledge in this program

By Bianca P B C

Aug 5, 2020

Me gusto mucho el contenido del curso, muy enriquecedor, solo mejoraria la manera en la que se imparte ya que puede ser un poco aburrido!

By Wanraplang S K

Dec 27, 2020

The instructor was very in depth about the topic and personally I learnt a lot and also learnt about the wrong things I've been doing.

By Victor d C M

Jan 18, 2016

Very very good! Professor Siedel, thank you very much.

I missed more math, but I think It would be a different course then.

Recommended.

By iwan s

Jan 17, 2016

well structured. should be more focused on practical applications. the final exam could be more hands on on cases than on definitions.

By Salim A

Sep 11, 2017

Amazing lecture and presentation. Kindly provide PDF file format of all course information for reading purposes and future reference.

By manjit s

Apr 22, 2020

very good case study material , however I would request to make it more sale specific as I find it very heavy on legal and contracts

By Paul H M C

Aug 18, 2015

I thnk it's a great online course. The only thing missing is a little more interaction with the professor with peers. Recommended.

By Ishu S

Nov 27, 2020

This was really helpful for me! It helps in understanding the business communication and how to negotiate tactically with others.

By Lungten Z

Nov 14, 2016

I enjoyed the modules and learnt newer concepts which are not only applicable in business but also in everyday life. Thank you!

By Giri D

Aug 23, 2015

Well structured negotiation strategies that would be applied with more discipline and evaluation of the the end result in mind.

By ROBERTO A D A

Jun 13, 2020

This course has good examples and tha book is very easy to read. I believe could have more technical arguments on discussions.

By Anthony F

Apr 14, 2019

Very good course on negotiation. It would be nice to have a summary of the slides to download afterward for future reference.

By Kamal P

May 14, 2020

This was a great course, the only thing that could make it better is if there was a PDF print out available to study from.

By Yeasir m s

Jun 23, 2020

excellent course with good instructor .This course should be taken by all who is interested in opening their own company