Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,048 ratings
1,271 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

1176 - 1200 of 1,270 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Ebenezer s s

Jun 9, 2020

Good one

By Shahad F

Jun 27, 2021

Amazing

By ereca

Apr 19, 2018

amazing

By Elías V M

Sep 20, 2020

Great!

By Everil M

May 31, 2020

Superb

By Jimmy G M

May 13, 2020

Great!

By João G d S

Oct 6, 2015

Great!

By Godwin P

Jun 9, 2020

goood

By Maria D C

Nov 26, 2019

Great

By Anyi C

Aug 2, 2018

精致的课程

By Rashad M

Jul 29, 2018

Super

By Konstantin B

Oct 15, 2017

great

By 肖世程

Jan 26, 2019

一级棒

By Fatima M

Mar 12, 2019

T

Y

By 徐子涵

Jun 9, 2021

By Edna R

Jul 11, 2020

I

By Rashard D

Jun 16, 2020

H

By Syed T H

May 8, 2020

V

By Khaled m s a

Sep 2, 2019

t

By Erik K

May 26, 2018

v

By Pavel N

Dec 19, 2016

E

By TRACE F

Sep 18, 2015

O

By Byron-Mahieu v d L

Mar 26, 2021

Content of this particular course is excellent. The presenter, Prof. Barry Nalebuff, does a sterling job at making the content engaging. It's very helpful that the material is spread out across many short videos/readings. Long lectures on the various topics would have been information-overload.

As someone who had no formal theoretical knowledge on, or exposure to, this topic I feel I have been equipped with a whole new skill set!

The only drawback is the peer-reviewed assignment approach. I felt that the amount of effort put into preparing negotiation videos and-or written assignments, is not taken seriously by peers that assigned to do the assessments. This may be due to the fact that most participants in this course do not pay for this course. The feedback is rushed and superficial. It doesn't help those of us who actually pay and want proper feedback. This is the only reason I'm taking dropping the fifth star from my rating.

Thank you for making this content available to Coursera Yale University and Prof. Barry Nalebuff.

By Luiza C

Oct 18, 2015

I have a master of science degree in consultation thus negotiation was a big part of the course therefore I have some background on the negotiation topic. I took this MOOC to polish up my skills and to see the value of negotiation training from a top university like Yale.

The course was well designed and while I believe there is no one way of teaching negotiation, this course was more of quantitative way of doing negotiations thus the mathematics is a bit hard to follow. My degree course had no mathematics in it and thus this was an adjustment for me.

I did like though that e had an opportunity to do live negotiations or the option of writing an essay and that the assignments had no deadlines thus making it a very flexible course.

By Arturo G A

Jul 13, 2020

This was my first Coursera course, I was impressed and challenged to think in new ways. Negotiation isn't always intuitive, but it is a critically important practice. I enjoyed the material quite a lot. I even shared most of the examples and cases with friends and family. I think the interactive elements of this course were excellent. In fact, my only major feedback would be to have more interactive casework like Zincit and Outpsider to work through. Lastly, I might even have liked to do a little more math. Maybe not pen and paper stuff, but perhaps some excel modeling of a real-world Rubenstein bargaining or Shapley value problem. Just to make that come alive a bit more. Thanks!