Chevron Left
Back to Academic Listening and Note-Taking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Academic Listening and Note-Taking by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
792 ratings
216 reviews

About the Course

This course will help non-native English speakers improve their listening and note-taking skills for the purpose of listening to academic lectures. You will learn techniques for improving your understanding and skills for taking more effective notes, and you will get lots of practice in using these. If you're planning to attend college classes in English, then this class is for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Understand and follow a lecture 2. Take better lecture notes 3. Discuss courses with classmates and professors 4. Give an effective academic presentation Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Sep 22, 2021

I would like to say thank you to the teachers who taught me and help me to complete this course. Now I know that note-taking is not too difficult and my listening skiill is better.\n\nThank you.

TA
Dec 10, 2018

It is very useful and very interesting course i learned a lot of skills from this course and these skills which i learned from this course will help me in my whole life regarding my studies

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 219 Reviews for Academic Listening and Note-Taking

By Nattaya P

Dec 13, 2018

Great course

By Jimmy Y S

Apr 26, 2017

Fantastic!!!

By Fragoso J M

Aug 25, 2016

Just Perfect

By Mona M A

Sep 6, 2021

THANKS ALOT

By Ahmad A

Jan 12, 2020

Very useful

By Debora D N L P

May 14, 2019

sensacional

By 张婧琳

Jul 27, 2017

very useful

By Ainagul M

Nov 23, 2020

Excellent!

By Erick A T S

Aug 26, 2021

Excellent

By Nixon A R

Jul 12, 2021

Thank You

By Johnnery A

Apr 29, 2021

Excellent

By Sanjeewani I K

Feb 11, 2021

Fantastic

By Eman S

Apr 9, 2019

Very Good

By Quỳnh P D

Nov 2, 2016

Excellent

By Ashekur R

Jul 7, 2021

Awesome

By BAHAA E G

Feb 13, 2020

awesome

By Muhammed A

Sep 17, 2018

perfect

By 李会玲

Nov 14, 2016

Thanks!

By Durdona A

Oct 9, 2021

Great

By Juan P A B

Feb 9, 2021

Good

By Buthaina A M

Jul 20, 2020

GOOD

By rafat A

Jul 29, 2017

good

By 王佳瑋

Sep 22, 2020

推!

By Ayu W

Jun 24, 2020

I

By Fred V

Oct 17, 2020

This course is likely to be useful for people starting their studies. A few methods are explained, which are deemed to apply to every student, whatever their level of prior knowledge in the topic studied (the 'one-size-fits-all' approach). However, we regret not to see contents about a critical view of the lecturing, an assessment of what is useful and substantial vs. the fluff, the rhetoric and the special effects that lecturers can be tempted to use (typical example: 'research shows...', meaning 'abdicate the critical thinking that I am supposed to teach you, believe me because I am the authority, do not do any further research, and do not ask any further question.'). We also would have like to see a critical self-assessment for the student, containing the questions 'What I am doing in this course? Am I up to listening to this content? What do I know and what do I think I know?'. All in all, this is a good initiation, though.