Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
22,803 ratings
3,581 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 3,585 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Kiran P

Sep 27, 2019

To be able to do an IBM certified course is am amazing opportunity.

The course is not difficult however the biggest problem I am having encountered is that the instructions are not very clear and the IBM Watson screens and information you see is not matching instructions.

Someone in IBM needs to go through this course and check how it matches with IBM Watson menus and screenshots.

The difference in menus and screens may be because IBM updated the software but no one checked and updated the course. The course say it is for anyone with no experience, I do not think that is true, when things do not work per the instructions or video it is going to be hard for a new person to figure out how to correct there steps, it took me 3 days to figure out how to do the quiz.

I wish there was human being a phone call away to speak too

By Clarence E Y

Jan 3, 2019

This course provided a concise overview of data science tools and sufficient exposure to scenarios that show how to use them. The Watson Studio needs to be updated to reflect the current sign up process, however. I took of one star for this reason.

By Jie F

Jun 18, 2020

Overall the course content is very informative. I've learnt a lot. But in some sessions it is a little bit difficult for learners without any coding experience to follow, especially the Github sessions in Week 2.

By Jessie Y L

Apr 14, 2020

The tools mentioned in the video all changed the interface, hence it's hard for you to corelate the actual tools to the ones in the course.

By Nacho M

Apr 15, 2020

Some times it can be a bit difficult to folllow all the stuff related with IBM watson studyo or the anline lab

By Nicole W

Apr 14, 2020

The section on Watson Studio had outdated content and was hard to follow

By Vinit K S

Aug 7, 2019

Please update the videos, with new IBM Watson Studio interface examples.

By Akhil K

May 15, 2019

Good course!!!

By Emily W

Oct 5, 2021

This course was jam packed with technical information and the quizzes and assignments often prioritized small, random details over general understanding. This was frustrating for me because I am new to the field and everything in the class was foreign. Also, it often felt like so many tools were being introduced to balance out the focus on IBM. This had the effect of making the class feel cluttered with information and didn't really diminish the overall feeling that the class is an IBM marketing product. It would have been less confusing and more meaningful to have a contextualized introduction to all the IBM components we are using in this course or that data scientists can use.

By Alex S

Apr 15, 2020

The teachers were smart and funny, and I enjoyed trying out the tools (some new to me, others not). These people clearly knew their stuff and I got the impression they wanted everyone taking the course to know and use it as well.

The tests and labs were really lacking though. The tests simply required looking for verbatim quotes in the material and the labs were, somehow, both confusing and hand-holding. Baffling to me.

By Paul M

Apr 14, 2020

Needs some updates to match new formats for IBM Watson Studio. Also, this course skipped over basic code theory and functions, and tried to overcome that by just describing buttonology needed to make the programs operate. Not even close to good enough.

By Abdelkareem H

Jun 15, 2020

The course was overall OK. Several lessons were either too advanced and required previous knowledge about the subject or the audio was terrible. Nonetheless, one learns a few things in this course. But definitely not one of the best.

By Rona S

Apr 14, 2020

Useful overview of tools. Following the tutorials was frustrating as the demonstrations did not match what is now available. Got there with a fair amount of frustration and swearing! The assignment was fun though.

By Dmytro P

Apr 3, 2020

courseware is outdated, I was having issues understanding how to create project in IBM Watson, while video explains how to do it in IBM data science experience.

By samantha d

Feb 9, 2021

Too much information thrown at you with little context. The final project didn't seem to have a lot to do with the information that we learned in the course.

By Daniela P

Jan 10, 2019

The course in watson studios contains videos the were too outdated and didn't really help understand how to use the platform as it is nowadays.

By Diana T

Jan 14, 2019

Some of the Watson Studio videos are confusing because they are recorded on the previous version and they don't match anymore.

By Keyun R

Apr 14, 2020

The material seems out of dated and it takes a lot of effort to try to find a region that finally accepts registration.

By Declan C

Sep 12, 2019

Videos and instructions do not sync with new IBM Watson Studio.

By Eshita G

Jun 17, 2020

Very technical, difficult to follow properly

By Marie D

Feb 20, 2020

A frustrating course that uses a lot of programming terms without explaining them. I got through it by just assuming we'd learn more in later courses and thanks to a little bit of computer knowledge, but it would have been helpful to have a secton on what the languages are, what's Spark, what kernels are, etc, for beginners. Also annoying that the tools have changed since the videos were made, so, for instance, Watson Studio looks quite different than the old tool in the video, so it's hard to figure out where to start a project.

By Edo v d Z

Apr 13, 2020

Very meager overview of tools. No explanation of what you are doing, videos are outdated, no explanation of the differences between the tools (when do you choose which tools), system was down for a long time, links are not working correctly. It looks as if this module was made years ago and then systems developed but the course was never updated. Course leaders is not working anymore for IBM already for more than a year. IBM you can do better!

By Josep R C

Apr 13, 2020

Some information is not updated and a huge amount of time is lost in trying to figure out how to do simple things just because of the platform they are telling you to use. However, you can find useful information in the forums as all students have similar problems. I would just recommend this course to users who do not know tools such as Jupyter notebooks already.

By Kathryn D

Jun 18, 2020

The second week of this course is so confusing and difficult to follow I almost dropped it. The third and fourth week were much better organized. The second week should be deleted from this course, it was not helpful at all.

By T C B T

Jun 15, 2020

A clear explanation of every tool required. Too advanced for beginners in data science.