Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
22,815 ratings
3,583 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 3,585 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Mohammed A M A

Jun 29, 2020

Assignment assessment is not controlled and sometimes assessors don't assess based on the right content. I encountered this issue in several courses' assignments. I hope that the peer-graded assignment undergoes some revision to establish a more credited assessment approach.

Thank you for your consideration.

Coursera is always the best!

By La D Q

Jun 19, 2021

This is a very informative course, provide data science newbies with various of tools to learn about on their data science journey. Not only that, this course also explained to me that doing data science isn't just analyzing data by coding with R or Python, it is more than that, with preparing data, storing data and building models.

By Joseph G

Nov 29, 2019

I learned so much in this course. I had no idea these tools were available in one place online. In preparation for doing the IBM Professional Certificate, I spent about a week installing programs and languages and stressing out about GUIs and IDEs. This course showed me multiple ways to get around all this and use IBM online tools.

By K L K

Oct 10, 2020

A very good informative course! All tools of data science are discussed. A bit practical sense of few important open source tools is given nicely. You will uderstood that there are wide variety of tools for data science! Great one! This will push the beginners out of their theoretical zone to see the real information and tools.

By Jess M

Jan 29, 2019

A lot of this is outdated since the IBM Watson stuff has been completely revamped, and the Zeppelin Notebooks tutorials were difficult to follow, since they seemed to have already been run when I went in, and therefore I couldn't tell what was function and what was output. But it's great to have all these free tools available.

By James L M

Jun 10, 2020

This actually helps me since I have no background regarding the tools needed for development in Data Science. Week 1 and 2 are particularly helpful since it introduces a lot of tools that one could use. Week 3 is a bit promotional and week 4 is true challenge. The course really guides you on how to start jupyter notebook.

By Ankit T

Apr 19, 2020

It was a great experience to learn the various open-source tool for data science. I have gained considerable knowledge of the Jupyter Notebook and IBM Watson Studio. It will be of great help for learners if the data science experience tool videos will be modified with IBM Watson Studio navigation and notebook creation.

By Isis S C

Jan 19, 2020

Loved the course! It presents integrated environments where we can perform data analysis (+all previous and post steps) using multiple languages in open-source tools. IBM Skills Network Labs is perfect for learning, IBM Watson Studios enables collaboration and scalability, for enterprises. Super convenient tools!

By Frances B

Mar 20, 2019

the course is great for people getting into the field of data science and have no clue where to start with resources for the filed. It helps build confidence and security knowing there are resources at our finger tips, for free, and with guidance from the the tutorial videos provided in this course. great stuff.

By Atal S S M

Mar 5, 2019

Very informative on the open source tools available. It does get tricky sometimes to understand the instructions of the notebooks as the videos display an older version and the current website would have the updated version. IBM Cloud is a huge advantage to work on Python,R and Scala with spark kernels for free.

By Mike M

Dec 14, 2019

Very beneficial, albeit somewhat painful , in getting the assignment done since the videos (at the time of this review) are not exactly correlated with current software (Watson v. Data Experience).

But hey, we are to be problem solvers, so that was just one minor hurdle to overcome and learn from in the process!

By Avadhoot

Jul 18, 2020

This course was intensive on tools used in Data Science. It was an overwhelming experience for I learnt to use resources on Github and understood how Jupyter notebooks are important in writing long codes. All in all , a great experience and would like to complete the full IBM data science specialization soon.

By Travis T

Jun 4, 2020

It's a good overview of all the tools that can be used for data science. If you're following along with the IBM course, it gives you a good idea of what you could be using for your capstone class. They do not detail much of tools rather introduce them to you. It'd be up to you to delve deeper if you'd like.

By Nyaniso N

Mar 1, 2021

A very gentle and slightly challenging introduction to the some of the best tools in the Data Science fraternity. Also, the added introduction to the IBM Watson Clouds tools was seriously interesting. Who knew you could just drag and drop files of refined data and you are on your way to "Model Building"?

By Luis G

Aug 4, 2020

Astonishing course for learning the basics of the tools used for data science, open source tools and comercial tools, at the beginning it might be a bit overwhelming because of lots of terms that are unknown by most starters like me, but as the course goes on and if you are commited, it's a piece of cake

By CHIN-HUNG, Y

May 24, 2019

Nice in introducing approaches to data science; however, some parts appears unnecessary to be mentioned right in the beginning. For example: Appache Zeeplin and Zeppling for Scala are more of courses in either intermediate or advanced level. Perhaps postponing it till database would be a better option.

By elmer e

Jun 22, 2020

This is a very comprehensive presentation on the available tools for Data Science both Open Sources and that of IBM proprietary tools. As presented, you as a Data Scientist has the sole option which of these tools are fit for your data science studies. Very enlightening and full of thoughts to ponder.

By Isha C

Sep 23, 2019

Good introduction to free and paid programs available for practicing and understanding data science! It shows detailed UI walkthroughs and tutorials, and gets you started setting up accounts that you will most likely use many years while learning data science and programming (R, Scala, Python, etc).

By Courtney B

Sep 24, 2018

Love it! It's such a gentle introduction to the tools of the trade as well as the languages we need to learn in order to use them. The labwork is my favorite part. The only way you can learn anything interactive like this is by diving in and trying things out, and now all I want to do is learn MORE.

By Philipp R

Apr 21, 2019

Great introduction to various tools offered by IBM. The course does not go into depths but rather shows what is out there. To really get the most out of this course, one needs to be motivated to explore the tools on one's own time. But that is a given in this field, I'd say. Therefore, five stars

By Mahesh M

Jan 24, 2021

This gave me the brief introduction of Data science with IBM tools, the essential third party tools for Data scientists. Introductory knowledge on almost all data science related techniques is appreciable. One can enhance it completely by going through future courses in the same specialization.

By Sagarika S

Jun 9, 2020

The course is amazing for beginners as well as for professionals for building the concepts. I am really thankful to all the instructors for delivering the concepts very clearly. I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn the different tools to build their foundation in Data Science.

By Abrar M I

Dec 17, 2020

This course did a great job of summarizing the coding and non-coding tools required for data science as well as highlighting the different levels of interaction with data and modeling and how collaboration is achieved as well as learning in the field. This was awesome, would highly recommend!

By Fiorella M

Jul 16, 2020

This course is excellent to understand as an introduction the principal tools that are usted in the data science field. With this knowledge I have a more clear view on the tools I would like to investigate. I recommend this course for beginners with no clue of the tools usted in data science.

By Aman C

Oct 1, 2019

This was a really intuitive course with hands on experience on Jupyter Notebooks, Rstudio, Python 3.

It turns out to be the more I'll practice the more I'll learn and this course really turned out to be helpful as a stepping stone towards it. Thanks a lot for creating such an amazing course.