Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
24,376 ratings

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JB

Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

SG

Nov 27, 2021

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

Filter by:

3626 - 3650 of 4,730 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Alex L

Aug 7, 2020

On Week 4 and 5 some videos stopped short from the end and the descriptions were not great. It was very difficult to follow and understand. The labs made up for it tho.

By Michael J C

Jun 24, 2021

huge amount of material to cover ... head still ringing ... the text could use an editor to update things here and there, like the size of "Gigantic" in win filtering.

By Stephanie

May 31, 2018

Although, I liked the class and they give a good deal of info the qwiklabs and the issues I had with them on pretty much every lesson lessened the experience for me.

By Justin M

Feb 13, 2018

I learned a lot in this course however the labs need some serious work as they are very buggy and have lots of issues with grading as well as syncing up to coursera.

By Maxwell H

Jul 30, 2020

I think that this is really great material to learn and practice. I am though a little insecure of how I am going to find a job with this little hands on training.

By Frank B

Apr 20, 2020

A broad view of process management. Also tons of research resources for further studies. Fast-paced.

Could use more real-life scenarios and hands-on lab experience.

By Kiera L C

Feb 20, 2018

Instructor was awesome, and the assignments were so fun that I often got side-tracked by playing in the terminal. Labs are very VERY buggy and particular, however.

By Babalola M

Feb 19, 2021

It was really Hectic!! But I learnt a lot across the modules and I acquired skills that have not only gave me confidence in the field but motivation to further on

By Keshav k

May 6, 2020

i learned many thing during this session. now i have idea that how to interact with windows operating system and linux operating system as a system adminitrator.

By Cesare V

Mar 2, 2019

A great course for non tech peoplo who don't have experience with OS. For me is it very interesting the CLI part , and I love again more Linux after this course.

By Melanie L T

Nov 18, 2022

career videos should be redone, with less background music.. as it was hard to discern what they were saying.. and cindy should allow time for people to write!

By MBA N

Mar 23, 2022

J'ai découvert à quel point windows et linux sont tout aussi différent l'un de l'autre.

On peut retrouver dans les deux certaines fonctionnalités importantes.

By Kayden M

Dec 3, 2018

Pretty good class with a lot of powershell and linux command lines. Comes in handy to know all of this. It's hard to remember all of the command lines though!

By silvestre t

Feb 11, 2018

some labs were a hassle but if you screen shot your progress the Coursera team will credit you.

Overall, I've learned a lot more than I knew before I started.

By Darren N

Mar 26, 2021

Learned a lot, some graded assignments needs to be reworked though. A lot of other people having same issues with me about updating VLC through Microsoft VM.

By Svetoslav B

Feb 17, 2020

It was a good one, learned a lot about Linux and commands in the Shell and the Bash. They had problems with the Windows Labs, but hopefully they will fix it.

By Francine T

Nov 15, 2021

I enjoyed learning about command lines and PowerShell but I must say that the Lab instructions could use more clarification and details. Please update them.

By Aaron M H

Oct 9, 2019

This course has you becoming more familiarized with command line. Deep dives into imaging machines, formatting drives, and navigating event logs like a pro

By Valenzuela B

Oct 9, 2019

Learned a great deal from the course and have been using many of the skills that I have learned. Thank Google for such an insightful and great experience.

By Henry L

Mar 19, 2022

This course provides an overall understanding of the use of the operating system and debug, but there are few practical demonstrations of debug operations

By Don C

Jul 25, 2021

This course goes deeper into the systems and does develop pratcical knowledge. I would more labs to develop repetitive experience in Linux and Powershell.

By Mohamed A

May 6, 2019

Thank you very much and for this very informative session I have made good use of it especially in Linux thanks again for doing this course from Google

By Sean H

Dec 30, 2021

This course really made me think hard and do a lot more reviewing and searching on how to complete the graded exams. I learned a lot from this course.

By Pedro M

Jun 3, 2021

Helped me tons, but the vm was really slow and sometimes didn't accept my work. I had to do a few of them twice, but to me it was just extra practice.