Chevron Left
Back to The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill by Sapienza University of Rome

4.4
stars
267 ratings
106 reviews

About the Course

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

Top reviews

CS
Mar 21, 2018

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC
May 1, 2018

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 106 Reviews for The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

By Richard I M

Jan 27, 2021

really interesting and I loved the mix of live footage and the maps.

By Simon C

Aug 10, 2017

Thank you very much for such an informative course. Very enjoyable.

By Subala K

Mar 22, 2021

Course was excellent! Learned so many things

Thank you

By CHRISTINE M

May 26, 2021

Thank you very much for your course Sir Paolo Carafa.

By Demétrio G C d T

Sep 7, 2020

Excellent course, excellent professor!

By SAHIL P

Jul 14, 2020

This course is the best one..

By Jennifer L

Jun 13, 2020

Loved this course, thank you!

By Eric H

Jun 10, 2019

Very very interesting!

By Samer M K

Oct 20, 2018

Great course. Thanks

By Jisha

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent Course

By ELMER P M P

Sep 26, 2021

thank you

By Susana J M

Mar 15, 2018

Wonderful

By Maria S

Feb 1, 2021

AMAZING

By Fayziyeva F I

Jul 25, 2020

super

By Giuseppe G

May 9, 2018

Fanta

By John U

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I only audited the course, so I don't know how different it is from the purchased course. My only criticism are the transcriptions of Professor Carafa's video presentations. The transcriber obviously misunderstood some words spoken by Professor Carafa, due to his accented English. For instance, when Professor Carafa says "hall" it is transcribed as "hole". Another example is "porticos" being transcribed as "particles". These two examples occur several times throughout the course, since hall and porticos are ubiquitous architectural features in the course. It was confusing until I understood what the Professor was actually saying. There were other transcription errors that caused confusion. It would be helpful for future students if Professor Carafa could proofread and correct the transcription errors. Alternatively, a mechanism that allowed students to suggest corrections would also suffice.

By Paul B

Jun 19, 2020

Great content. Really helped to bring the space to life. Three suggestions, though: 1) ensure quizzes reflect current content (e.g. lesson 8, "heliogabalium" doesn't appear to have been mentioned in any video yet there is a question about it); there is LOTS about which building was where and what it might have looked like - a little more about the men who occupied the space would be helpful; 3) no real mention of the sacking of Rome and what new rulers did with these buildings. Thanks! My next trip to Rome will be better as a result of my learning from this course.

By Niels B

Feb 20, 2020

The professor is very knowledgable and the course material on the palatine hill is really interesting. But the course is content is sometimes a bit chaotic, switching quickly between locations, periods and people. And the formulation of the questions in the tests doesn't always correspond with the way the answer is presented in the lectures. So the course could use an update.

By jean p D

Aug 14, 2020

Thanks for giving such detailed information about a very important spot in Roman history, that is difficult to understand when you visit without previous data.

Now I understood the most relevant changes through it´s amazing history.

It was sometimes hard to orient myself with the drawings, as they where not always heading North.

Thanks again.

By Peter N

Aug 13, 2019

A wonderful course that allowed me to understand a part of Rome much better.

I feel that the additional course material was simply a recap of the lecture and didn't expand or clarify anything.

The tutorials at the very beginning and the directions to download and instal AutoCad are irrelevant.

By julian l

Sep 21, 2020

not an easy course, the maps presented in the course are not very clear and far to small to be seen on the screen. Luckily I am quite familiar with the general orientation of Rome, and area around the palatine hill, otherwise, would not be able to answer lots of questions in the quiz.

By Amy Q

May 29, 2019

Having a document with names, terms, etc. would have been helpful, as well as clickable documents of the many maps and diagrams that were used. So many terms were found on them, and it made it difficult to keep track of everything. Very much enjoyed the course otherwise, thank you!

By Dominic B

Nov 11, 2021

A​mple in-depth description of the many eras of construction on and around the Palatine, that most important of Roman hills. The course provides a broader historical perspective for why each era produced the structures it did, and how the use of the area changed over centuries.

By Patricia C

Oct 16, 2017

It is an excellent course, but it doesn’t have subtitles. When you are not an expertise, and the language used is not your own, the understanding of certain terms it is sometimes difficult.

Anyways, a good experience. The professor is an expertise on the subject.

Great job!

By Raymond S

Oct 11, 2021

I​ got the feeling that the quiz questions were translated directly from the Italian originals. But the English version of the lectures could not have been as succinct as the original Italian. This made the completion of the quizes a real puzzle.