Chevron Left
Back to Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases by Duke University

4.7
217 ratings
61 reviews

About the Course

This course provides students an understanding of important human parasitic diseases, including their life cycles, vectors of transmission, distribution and epidemiology, pathophysiology and clinical manifestations, treatment, and prevention and control. Tropical Parasitology is taught by faculty from an area highly impacted by tropical parasites- the Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College in Moshi, Tanzania. The faculty include Drs. Frank Mosha and Mramba Nyindo (and two lecturers, Drs. Johnson Matowo and Jovin Kitau). Dr. John Bartlett, Professor of Medicine, Global Health and Nursing at Duke University, joins his faculty colleagues in this effort....

Top reviews

BY

Feb 03, 2017

best course than ever straight forward presentations,reports,clinical cases than have improved my knowledge about tropical infections especially ectoparasites & helminthes(worms)

VV

Apr 26, 2018

very interesting course, with useful readings/lessons, and serious usefulness as MD consultant for international travellers.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 61 Reviews for Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

By Paul C H

Nov 09, 2017

A very interesting course. There is a lot of material presented that is relevant in temperate climates as well as in the tropics for example Toxoplasma gondii and Echinoccosis which occur in the cat and dog respectively. Pork and beef tapeworms are also potential risks from undercooked meat worldwide especially since due to food supply chains the food we eat can originate from almost anywhere. The course also underlines the need to improve healthcare, diet, sanitation and potable water supplies in the poorer countries of the world. Many of these diseases have been neglected but cause considerable misery gl

By Trevor J H

Feb 22, 2018

It was very interesting and the quizzes were great and made you think, and the reference lists were extremely useful. I would have liked more illustrations and field work videos. The field work videos were extremely interesting and brought the student in closer contact with the subjects and a better idea of the field settings.

By stefanie s

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent and very interesting course. I especially like the videos from Africa showing for example the snail habitats. Also the interviews with the doctors were really insightful. I learned a lot in this course and actually had fun doing the final exam.

By Helen P

Aug 05, 2019

Great course for a basic overview of tropical diseases and their treatments.

By ohia d

Jul 10, 2019

It was a wonderful course and worth the effort. Thanks

By Michael C

Dec 10, 2018

This is an excellent course with coverage of topics that are in serious need of better coverage. Parasitology is particularly relevant with the increased connectivity of the modern world. It was particularly useful to learn about new detection methods (e.g. molecular diagnostics, vaccines). As someone with a laboratory background, I would have liked to have seen more about lab methods, particularly microscopic differentiation of helminth ova and larvae. I hope these experts consider creating a second course at some point with some more rare stuff (e.g. pentastomiasis, gnathostomiasis), and also maybe some fundamental topics of parasitology (morphology, life cycles, immunology / methods of immune system evasion). A veterinary (or zoology) parasitology course would be also be very interesting and relevant. Sincerest thanks to the course providers!

By Alfredo C

Jun 16, 2017

El curso es muy interactivo y con maestros ciertamente preparados en el area. El material es muy completo y sencillo de entender. Como recomendación podría extenderse en enfermedades pas globalizadas puesto que se enfoca principalmente en Africa.

By Margaret B

Feb 13, 2017

Not very engaging. I ended up just reading the notes as videos were slow and took too much time. Not enough pathophysiology or treatment details for me as a healthcare provider. Disappointed after taking a previous course which was wonderful...student conversations and dialogue from around the world.

By Chad L C

Jun 13, 2019

Just OK

By Hanne K

Jan 27, 2018

the material is presented in a boring way by the speakers.

the information about the parasites and the resulting diseases are explained in an unlogical order and it would be very helpful to have the life cycle included in the presentations, as well as more pictures in general.

Also it would be effective to have some slides where the different parasites are compared directly in a nice graphic and or table.

In total I found the slides made very poorly.

By Cynthia C

Jan 02, 2019

Very informative. Thank you for teaching this course.

By Nicolás R R

Feb 20, 2019

¡Nice approaching to real clinical practice in Tanzania!

By Heather S

Feb 20, 2019

Great as an introductory course!

By ABBA B

Jan 28, 2019

Bonjour à tous!

Je suis ABBA Babo, ingénieur des Travaux en science vétérinaire et je suis ravi de participer à ce MOOC, car j'ai enfin eu la chance de comprendre les enjeux des maladies parasitaires auxquelles je travaille dessus. Ce cours mérites d'être inscrit au programme Master.

By Danny W

Jan 31, 2019

A really excellent course, I have enjoyed learning about so many fascinating and globally relevant topics.

I found the interview segments and case studies to be really useful for my learning and improved the quality of the course, to see real-word impacts of these diseases took the course to another level.

Well taught, it was great to see such talented and inspiring academics from both USA and Tanzania.

By Sidonia R

Mar 04, 2019

Excellent Course. It is very detailed.

By Yadel C U

Jan 05, 2019

Thank you!

By SAAD M H

Dec 22, 2018

Thats what I need for my career

Thanks very much

By B J T

Jan 07, 2019

The outside videos were most informative. The lecturers were often easy to follow and the presentations logically and very well presented. There were several times that words were listed inaudible, that could be heard (and mis-hearings of a few terms). An excellent course, well worth the effort of taking it. Thank You!

By Sharon M

Oct 27, 2018

It was very interesting to hear from people who actually deal with these diseases on a daily basis.

By isihaka m

Feb 23, 2018

Very Helpful

By KHAMIS H K

Apr 07, 2018

GOOD COURSE , KEEP IT UP .

By Isis A B C

Jun 04, 2018

Awesome teachers, really good topics.

By jimmyson m

May 03, 2018

Its the nice course I am looking foward to see more courses like these, KCMUCO partnering with DUKE University

By nyamwiza b

Apr 13, 2018

.ESRUOC SIHT GNIKAT STNEDUTS REHTO ROF SIHT DNEMMOCER I...SEIDUTS YM NI PLEH TAERG FO NEEB SAH TI .SROTUT EHT MORF SNITANALPOXE RAELC HTIW DESSUCSID ETISARAP HCAE FO SLIATED TNATROPMI LLA GNISOPXE ESRUOC DOOG YREV A SI TI