Chevron Left
Back to Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases, Duke University

4.7
189 ratings
56 reviews

About this Course

This course provides students an understanding of important human parasitic diseases, including their life cycles, vectors of transmission, distribution and epidemiology, pathophysiology and clinical manifestations, treatment, and prevention and control. Tropical Parasitology is taught by faculty from an area highly impacted by tropical parasites- the Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College in Moshi, Tanzania. The faculty include Drs. Frank Mosha and Mramba Nyindo (and two lecturers, Drs. Johnson Matowo and Jovin Kitau). Dr. John Bartlett, Professor of Medicine, Global Health and Nursing at Duke University, joins his faculty colleagues in this effort....

Top reviews

By BY

Feb 03, 2017

best course than ever straight forward presentations,reports,clinical cases than have improved my knowledge about tropical infections especially ectoparasites & helminthes(worms)

By VV

Apr 26, 2018

very interesting course, with useful readings/lessons, and serious usefulness as MD consultant for international travellers.

Filter by:

56 Reviews

By Sidonia Roberts

Mar 04, 2019

Excellent Course. It is very detailed.

By Nicolás Rosillo Ramírez

Feb 20, 2019

¡Nice approaching to real clinical practice in Tanzania!

By Heather Springer

Feb 20, 2019

Great as an introductory course!

By sumanth

Feb 14, 2019

Certificate not opening...

By Danny Ward

Jan 31, 2019

A really excellent course, I have enjoyed learning about so many fascinating and globally relevant topics.

I found the interview segments and case studies to be really useful for my learning and improved the quality of the course, to see real-word impacts of these diseases took the course to another level.

Well taught, it was great to see such talented and inspiring academics from both USA and Tanzania.

By ABBA Babo

Jan 28, 2019

Bonjour à tous!

Je suis ABBA Babo, ingénieur des Travaux en science vétérinaire et je suis ravi de participer à ce MOOC, car j'ai enfin eu la chance de comprendre les enjeux des maladies parasitaires auxquelles je travaille dessus. Ce cours mérites d'être inscrit au programme Master.

By B J Thomas

Jan 07, 2019

The outside videos were most informative. The lecturers were often easy to follow and the presentations logically and very well presented. There were several times that words were listed inaudible, that could be heard (and mis-hearings of a few terms). An excellent course, well worth the effort of taking it. Thank You!

By Yadel Centeno Ureña

Jan 05, 2019

Thank you!

By Cynthia Costa

Jan 02, 2019

Very informative. Thank you for teaching this course.

By SAAD MUHI HAYDER

Dec 22, 2018

Thats what I need for my career

Thanks very much