Chevron Left
Back to Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases by Duke University

4.7
stars
632 ratings

About the Course

This course provides students an understanding of important human parasitic diseases, including their life cycles, vectors of transmission, distribution and epidemiology, pathophysiology and clinical manifestations, treatment, and prevention and control. Tropical Parasitology is taught by faculty from an area highly impacted by tropical parasites- the Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College in Moshi, Tanzania. The faculty include Drs. Frank Mosha and Mramba Nyindo (and two lecturers, Drs. Johnson Matowo and Jovin Kitau). Dr. John Bartlett, Professor of Medicine, Global Health and Nursing at Duke University, joins his faculty colleagues in this effort....

Top reviews

SS

Aug 23, 2023

This journey has been an exciting one. I have really learned so much from this course and also unlearnt some things I thought were correct but weren't. To the organizers of the course, Kudos!

JB

Dec 9, 2019

I really enjoyed doing this course, I was a bit worried about the final exams but I had so much fun doing them. Really happy that I registered for it and I would advise anyone to take part.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 196 Reviews for Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

By Margaret B

Feb 13, 2017

Not very engaging. I ended up just reading the notes as videos were slow and took too much time. Not enough pathophysiology or treatment details for me as a healthcare provider. Disappointed after taking a previous course which was wonderful...student conversations and dialogue from around the world.

By Alfredo C

Jun 16, 2017

El curso es muy interactivo y con maestros ciertamente preparados en el area. El material es muy completo y sencillo de entender. Como recomendación podría extenderse en enfermedades pas globalizadas puesto que se enfoca principalmente en Africa.

By Hanne K

Jan 27, 2018

the material is presented in a boring way by the speakers.

the information about the parasites and the resulting diseases are explained in an unlogical order and it would be very helpful to have the life cycle included in the presentations, as well as more pictures in general.

Also it would be effective to have some slides where the different parasites are compared directly in a nice graphic and or table.

In total I found the slides made very poorly.

By Michael C

Dec 9, 2018

This is an excellent course with coverage of topics that are in serious need of better coverage. Parasitology is particularly relevant with the increased connectivity of the modern world. It was particularly useful to learn about new detection methods (e.g. molecular diagnostics, vaccines). As someone with a laboratory background, I would have liked to have seen more about lab methods, particularly microscopic differentiation of helminth ova and larvae. I hope these experts consider creating a second course at some point with some more rare stuff (e.g. pentastomiasis, gnathostomiasis), and also maybe some fundamental topics of parasitology (morphology, life cycles, immunology / methods of immune system evasion). A veterinary (or zoology) parasitology course would be also be very interesting and relevant. Sincerest thanks to the course providers!

By Paul C H

Nov 8, 2017

A very interesting course. There is a lot of material presented that is relevant in temperate climates as well as in the tropics for example Toxoplasma gondii and Echinoccosis which occur in the cat and dog respectively. Pork and beef tapeworms are also potential risks from undercooked meat worldwide especially since due to food supply chains the food we eat can originate from almost anywhere. The course also underlines the need to improve healthcare, diet, sanitation and potable water supplies in the poorer countries of the world. Many of these diseases have been neglected but cause considerable misery gl

By Rodrigo M C d S V

Jul 24, 2020

Excellent course! Doctors are great and despite English, difficult to understand at times, it does not take away the brilliance of the course or the content presented! Thank you

By miyoshi s

Feb 1, 2020

the course was definitely informative; however, presentation delivery was inconsistent. the actual on site/in the field presentations were most helpful.

By Adam K

Jul 16, 2020

Well-developed course with excellent content and a good variety of basic science and clinical content. An excellent overview for first-time learners of parasitology, or a good quick refresher for those who have encountered the subject before. The course's particular strength is the wonderful faculty from Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College, whose field trips to see vector habitats in vivo help bring the basic science to life. I strongly recommend this course!

By Aldrin D T J

Mar 4, 2020

I really love this course! This is the first course that i took in Coursera and I really enjoyed this. The lectures of the course is not boring, I like the fact that they also visited some places to present the actual area where you can get the disease and they also presented some patients having the disease itself. Highly suggested course for Parasitology, very informative! Well recommended!

By Trevor J H

Feb 22, 2018

It was very interesting and the quizzes were great and made you think, and the reference lists were extremely useful. I would have liked more illustrations and field work videos. The field work videos were extremely interesting and brought the student in closer contact with the subjects and a better idea of the field settings.

By stefanie s

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent and very interesting course. I especially like the videos from Africa showing for example the snail habitats. Also the interviews with the doctors were really insightful. I learned a lot in this course and actually had fun doing the final exam.

By Jessica B

Dec 10, 2019

I really enjoyed doing this course, I was a bit worried about the final exams but I had so much fun doing them. Really happy that I registered for it and I would advise anyone to take part.

By Helen P

Aug 5, 2019

Great course for a basic overview of tropical diseases and their treatments.

By ohia d

Jul 9, 2019

It was a wonderful course and worth the effort. Thanks

By Jahre M T

Sep 1, 2020

GOOD PRESENTATION But I only give 4 because the program itself has lacking one major component of Parasitology which is Ameoba, Coccidians, Ciliates and Flagellates. I hope in your next lecture you can add these topics, Thank you so much.

By Chad L C

Jun 13, 2019

Just OK

By Hani O H

Aug 23, 2022

My name is hani Omar Hussein.  I'm students one of the somalia University. The reason I am writing this is to get my coursera certificate please accept this email coz I don't have any money to buy this certificate, so it's good for me to grant me certificate and it will help me to get job I request you more and more to grant me certificate for residence as my working place has asked for It to be submitted sir, as I informed you it's the prequiest of my working place That is why request you To great me the certificate. I would request you  to please consider my request certificate as soon as possible I need it for completing  the formalities and proceedings with my new job

By Stefano L F

Feb 18, 2017

Thank you for setting up this well-done course, which I think may be useful to all interested in getting a better understanding of tropical diseases. Considering the high volume of travellers to areas with a higher risk of parasitic diseases, spending some time becoming more knowledgeable about them can only do good. For those with a medical education background, it may also be an opportunity to brush on some diseases usually only touched on during a standard university infectious diseases course. Some of them are really fascinating from a scientific view point. I would recommend also reading the PDF references, the articles are quite interesting. Best wishes.

By Dominic D

Feb 1, 2023

Very excellent, certainly a well done course, intelligent teachers, great field videos, overall well done. The best part is that God is good!

13 "I saw in the night visions,

and behold, with the clouds of heaven    there came one like a son of man, and he came to the Ancient of Days and was presented before him.

14 And to him was given dominion and glory and a kingdom, that all peoples, nations, and languages should serve him; his dominion is an everlasting dominion, which shall not pass away,and his kingdom one that shall not be destroyed."

Daniel 7:13-14

By Davie M

Feb 7, 2023

This is a very good course that may help in advancing your knowledge in medical parasitology . Most of the materials shared in this course are really helpful in understanding how most disease that are caused by parasites can be acquired, how risky they are and treatment,as well as how they can be prevented. I f you are a student studying medical laboratory sciences, or biomedical sciences consider doing this course. T hank me latter.

By Yorman J S P

Dec 3, 2020

It is a really good course if you know how to organize your time. I suggest you to print first all the presentations and you can save time. I think if you take just 20min at day listening classes and doing the final test, you will learn a lot. IMPORTANT print to life cycle to understand better. I found some mistakes but I give 5 stars because all of them did a great job. (sorry about my English, im learning yet).

By Danny W

Jan 31, 2019

A really excellent course, I have enjoyed learning about so many fascinating and globally relevant topics.

I found the interview segments and case studies to be really useful for my learning and improved the quality of the course, to see real-word impacts of these diseases took the course to another level.

Well taught, it was great to see such talented and inspiring academics from both USA and Tanzania.

By Neagoe I

Dec 29, 2022

This course was useful for me. The strong points were: strengthening the epidemiological and physiopathological information received through the case reports; the instructional videos related to the habitat of the vectors or the way of acquiring the infection; the clinical instructional videos (related to the physical examination of patients suspected of a certain parasitosis)

By RITESH G

Dec 11, 2020

I loved the lectures by Dr Mramba Nyindo, Dr Jovin and team. The field videos by Dr Franklin Mosha were very informative. All inputs by the senior treating doctors were amazing. Thank you for putting in such efforts and making the course available at such a subsidised price. Looking forward to visit the Medical Hospital and learning more from the team there.

By Patricia M N V

Jul 9, 2023

Thank you

It has been the most complicated, difficult and long course I have taken, but in the end in the exams, with the cases I think I understood the importance for public health.

I appreciate the work you do, it must be very difficult but also exciting to meet every tropical parasite, protozoan, worm, vector that causes diseases in humans.