Chevron Left
Back to Particle Physics: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Particle Physics: an Introduction by University of Geneva

4.4
stars
749 ratings
225 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Top reviews

VL
Mar 26, 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
Aug 4, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 226 Reviews for Particle Physics: an Introduction

By Ali H

Jun 27, 2021

.m

By jose

Dec 2, 2017

v

By Jacqueline T

Aug 1, 2020

Interesting material and good breadth. The difficulty level varies a lot between weeks - some weeks are very in depth while others seem like filler in comparison. There are a lot of equations introduced which require more knowledge of physics than I had expected from the course description and seem to be beyond the scope of an introductory course. Fortunately, following these equations is generally not necessary to understand the course objectives, but it does make following the lessons needlessly complex. Additionally, some of the quiz questions require memorization of specific numbers/values that are only tangentially related to the week's topic and don't help to further understanding of the subject matter.

By Christian T

Feb 3, 2021

I prefere courses with more explanation in detail. For example calculations actually done in real time. Good example would be the University of Australias courses about cosmology on EdX. Back of the envelope calculations are done in detail.

Just videos of presentations are a bit boring. I rather read something.

I do not see the point of all the numbers and calculations in the presentations but the tests are just about the theory. I would rather have a course with less material but more depth or more general but easier to understand. The additional video about Feynman diagrams was my favorite. I would like more of that.

By Hamza I

Aug 28, 2020

The course was very informative and finely detailed. I would say, however, that some parts or concepts were made a bit complicated and that they could have been easily explained/demonstrated.

By Samuel L J

Aug 7, 2017

The course is good, although too general. It could use more challenging exercises and mathematics, more in line with a course in Particle Physics in a standard Physics curriculum.

By mrityunjoy s

Jul 11, 2020

there is a translation issue in some videos especially the ones with others (except Martin and Mercedes) and also the explanations are a bit monologous

By Egemen B

Aug 8, 2018

Unassuming about prior knowledge. Quizzes oriented to beginners, lectures to grad students. Confusing, but fun nonetheless.

By Wei-shun B

Sep 28, 2017

Introductory course and little prerequisites. It is good in general but I still got lost in some lecture videos.

By Ruchit S

Aug 4, 2020

Interesting material, great instructors, but .... the monotonous, not-so-enthusiastic delivery may put one off.

By Abhimanyu B

Jan 27, 2018

try simplifying the course a little more

By Yifu L

Aug 29, 2018

subtitles can be improved.

By Deniz P

May 28, 2020

Although the course covered a wide range of topics, the mathematics were beyond my understanding (as a 10th grade student) and the accents were hard to understand and annoying from time to time. I had to learn most of the topics from other videos on YouTube because the topics were not simplified enough for me to understand. I would say you should enroll for free and have a look at a few videos before purchasing the course like I did. Overall, it was an interesting experience.

By Ali R S

Jul 12, 2020

English hard to understand, and content impossible to follow. Even though, I am quite proficient in Quantum Mechanics, this course introduced variables in equations, without defining them. It takes thrice the time of the video to fully understand the content of the video.

By Michael V

Dec 1, 2019

The topic is highly interesting but unfortunately, I have to agree with the negative assessments:

he presentation style is inadequate for learning

By Maaz K

Jul 7, 2018

bORING

By Rod B

Apr 4, 2017

Very poorly presented course. Despite having completed quite a number of coursera courses before, and even being already familiar with a good deal of the preliminary material in this one, i soon abandoned it due to the inadequate and scrappily prepared presentation of material. Mercedes Paniccia in particular speaks in a virtually unintelligible expressionless monotone with no explanation or elaboration to relieve what amounts to little more than a list of definitions and bald statements such as can be found in the glossary section of many textbooks. I would strongly recommend finding an alternative course devoted to the subject or maybe seeking out a readable textbook.

By ian m

Feb 9, 2021

Great subject with a lot of information unfortunately not very easily accessible because of the way it is taught here. The video lectures are lack lustre with tutors reading text unenthusistically from the slides. Some resource links do not work and seemingly have not done so for years. One tutor's English accent is hard to understand unless you run the video playback at 0.75 and have a copy of the transcript to follow. All of this makes learning tedious. I gave up at week 4. Singularly the worst course I have taken on Cousera.

By Bran R

Feb 13, 2020

Selected portions were good; other sections were plain horrible; difficult to understand the lecturer (not the topic; rather the english). For an english speaking course, videos in another language were not useful. Lectures provided no insight, pure reading from a lifeless script. Wording of problems had lots of typos, and questions were ill formed... I would not recommend this course unless it was cleaned up.

By Pralekh D

Mar 10, 2017

It must be taught by someone who can speak english clearly. Sorry but I couldn't understand what Mercedes Paniccia spoke, which made the course even more difficult to understand. There are subtitles but it's not possible for everyone to put that much effort. This issue must be taken seriously to make this MOOC much better.

By Nikhil D

Jul 29, 2020

this course is not at all suitable for someone who is here to learn particle physics. the teachers assume that we already know what all the symbols mean and its like they are not teaching but reading.

By Jeffrey Z

Dec 7, 2020

Difficult to learn. Can't understand the lecturers because of their accents. Seems like they are just quoting a number of non-empirical facts.

By Efosa I

May 19, 2020

Very poor language. Poor explanations and poor teaching overall. There can be lots of improvement.

By Ganesh S

Aug 18, 2017

Lacks the flow. Emphases on information than knowledge.

By Ganesh A

Oct 30, 2020

There is no way to unenroll to this course