Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA by Imperial College London

4.0
stars
2,279 ratings
571 reviews

About the Course

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

Top reviews

JS
Jul 16, 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

NS
Jun 18, 2020

Relatively tougher than previous two courses in the specialization. I'd suggest giving more time and being patient in pursuit of completing this course and understanding the concepts involved.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 566 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

By Mohamed B

Oct 27, 2019

I learned a lot in this course, though the last week was somehow hurried and the lecturer didn't spend enough time to piece the whole stuff together.

By Rok Z

Feb 5, 2020

A different course than the previous 2.

Much harder - as you have to actually know some Python tricks.

But I guess it's the same in a real world.

By Jordan V

Aug 23, 2019

Course addresses important subject, but I worth like to have more in-depth explanation of the mathematics by the instructors and more examples.

By Kevin G

Jan 14, 2020

Felt like explanations in this course were a bit confusing, but otherwise, it was a very interesting course. Thank you so much for doing this.

By Helena S

Feb 28, 2020

The final Notebook contains some errors (Xbar instead of X, passed as an argument). Otherwise a very well organized course. Thanks a lot!

By Giri G

Jun 7, 2019

This was a very hard course for me. But I think the instructor has done the best possible he can with presenting and explaining the course

By Leon T

Jul 10, 2020

Jupyter notebook assignments are in desperate need of attention! Very buggy or non-intuitive for the scope of material in span of time.

By Christine W

Aug 13, 2018

Coding assignment is hard for people who are not familiar with numpy. Would appreciate some material at least going over the basis.

By Shaiman S

Apr 30, 2020

Please change courese material for PCA. It is very un-understandable and assignments are also very tugh as per what is taught.

By Karan S

Aug 1, 2020

Focus a bit more on PCA in week 4, week 1 was not very informative and should be assumed as required knowledge for the course

By Hilmi E

Apr 20, 2020

Careful, step-by-step construction of the PCA algorithm with practical exercises and coding assignments.. Very well done...

By Voravich C

Oct 21, 2019

The course level is very difficult and I think having four week course is not enough to understand the math behind PCA

By Phuong N

Oct 17, 2018

That's a great online courses can help people have enough background to break into Machine Learning or Data science

By Ananthesh J S

Jun 16, 2018

The PCA derivation part requires more elaborate explanation so that we can understand the concept more intuitively.

By Manuel I

Jul 7, 2018

Overall the hardest of the specialization, a though one but great to make sense of all the maths learned so far.

By Shraavan S

Mar 4, 2019

Programming assignments are a little difficult. Background knowledge of Python is recommended for this course.

By Andrew D

Jun 2, 2019

Very difficult course, make sure to do the prereq courses first and understand everything from those courses.

By Neelam J U

Sep 23, 2020

The programming assignments were quite challenging. Some part of the course can discuss this aspect as well.

By Paulo N A J

Aug 18, 2020

It is a good course with hard programming, but the assignments could be improved. The forum helps a lot.

By Ibon U E

Jan 7, 2020

The derivations of some concepts have been more vague compared to other courses in this specialization.

By Max W

Apr 19, 2020

Very challenging, could have used a few more videos to really explain or give a few more examples

By Abhishek T

Apr 12, 2020

The structure could have been better. Some of the weeks were too crowded as compared to others

By Phuong A V

Aug 7, 2020

very difficult course. But I hope that it will be useful fore my machine learning studying

By kerryliu

Jul 30, 2018

still have room for improvement since lots of stuffs can be discussed more in detail.

By Ruan v S

Oct 13, 2019

Harder than expected, the content is good and is well worth the struggle!