Chevron Left
Back to Seeing Through Photographs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Seeing Through Photographs by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
3,683 ratings
995 reviews

About the Course

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

Top reviews

AQ
Mar 8, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD
Dec 25, 2019

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 982 Reviews for Seeing Through Photographs

By Julián F C

May 31, 2020

Me ha parecido un curso muy completo y muy interesante para completar mis conocimientos. La única pega (para mi) ha sido que es cierto que no estaba muy familiarizado con el mundo de la fotografía, por lo que muchas cosas no las comprendía del todo bien y quizá me hubiera gustado ver algún tema introductorio más básico. Por lo demás, un curso excelente.

By daniele g

Apr 2, 2016

I found the course very interesting , useful materials to support and unique and original contributions video.

Interviews with authors well made and full of new ideas on different topics.

Excellent multiple choice for testing, but it is really hard to understand the mistakes made or know the correct answer after passing the module.

By Andrea G A

May 24, 2020

I just found that many of the readings didn't include the pictures they were talking about. Otherwise the course was incredibly helpful and enlightening. I mostly enjoyed the video material with interviews with the artists and the possibility to read and interact with other students in real-time via the forums.

By Гаврилов А А

Jul 29, 2020

Course is more not about seeing through photographs but about history of photogrpahy. I hoped to see some best masterpieces of modern photographers and the course offers just photos made on current social topics as wars, poverty etc. In whole the course is interesting but in fact could be much more fascinating

By ANASTASIIA M

Jul 1, 2019

I had almost no knowledge of the field before starting this course, so it gave me a very good background of what does being a photographer actually mean, how has an understanding of a photograph been changing through years. This course is really nice for the start, I especially loved the topic "People"

By Victoria A

Apr 9, 2016

Thank you again... I really enjoyed the course! Great taster of modern & contemporary photography as well as artists who have made an impact on the craft. That said, I would love to have seen & learned more about the early photographic techniques, processes & images, i.e. Daguerreotypes, etc.

By Amelia

Mar 31, 2020

I came to this course with zero knowledge of photography, hoping to explore something i thought i might be interested in. This course definitely helped me to do that; the clear structure of the course meant i was able to learn about photography easily, without any prior knowledge. :)

By G

Dec 18, 2016

The course provides an in-depth immersion into the worlds of photography. Beyond the genuine interest of the different courses, the learning process itself is well thought with a good gradation and the ability to deep dive into a theme thanks to the complementary material proposed.

By Sue L

Jun 1, 2020

Great course to understand different aspects and the history of photography.

Sometimes the amount of reading is a bit difficult to read. The videos are very inspiring. The course covers various photographers. I like that this course gives you an option for the final project.

By Alan E J H

Feb 18, 2020

More Non-American Photographers need to be represented. I know it's an American based course but it leans ver heavily towards an American view of the photographic world. Other than that, I enjoyed the course and the lectures. I would certainly recommend this course to others.

By Kim R

Aug 11, 2020

It was a great course to get exposure to Moma's photography and hear more about some of the artists and the works. I felt it was more exploratory vs. a deep dive on the specific movements or artists. In that vein, I felt the quizzes were a little much.

By Reggie W

Jul 24, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyable! Learned that you don't necessarily need to take a photo in order to create a piece of photographic art. Also, learned about new artists and the history behind their creations. Lastly, got to see a wide spectrum of photographic art.

By Anne F

Mar 16, 2016

A very interesting course. It is wonderful that there are many videos of photographers who explain their works themselves. I also liked the reading material: the compulsory material is of the appropriate length, of a good quality and interesting.

By Donata S

Aug 17, 2017

Interesting course even for those who aren't photographers but simply love photos. I've learned a loto about the story of photoraphs and there are a lot of interviews which explain you the different point of view of some important photographers.

By Sameer B

Aug 23, 2016

Learned a lot of about Photography & Art and got direction on what I want to learn further.

I wish the videos were longer. Uploaded text was formatted in to be easier to read online. The pages were multiple horizontally and text was small.

By Daisy C

May 30, 2020

The instructor- Sarah Meister really put a lot of thought in organizing this online class- including invited guest speakers via Zoom and office hours. She went beyond expectations. thank you for this relief fr everyday-quarantine.

By Giorgio B

Oct 4, 2019

I had the opportunity through this course to learn and understand a lot about photography and its evolution along the years, since its invention. I will watch photos from now on with a much better understanding and interest.

By Andrew

Apr 18, 2020

This course is well organised, well presented and valuable. It shares a wide range of photographic content and challenges students to think in new ways. At the same time, it is enjoyable to complete. Highly recommended.

By Cathy H

Feb 2, 2019

This course provide a lot of article.But for the people which is weak in English (like me),the reading part is a little bit hard to understand.However,I still learn a lot through the video and I enjoy it very much.

By Rita D

May 16, 2020

Il corso è stato organizzato con grande professionalità e ha fornito una vasta gamma di informazioni che mi hanno incuriosita ed arricchita. Sono contenta di aver partecipato e di averlo portaro a termini.

By Lucía

Mar 6, 2018

Not the usual course about photography. It's another very interesting point of view where you can meet new and not so new projects and photographers and how to connect them and study them from a common topic.

By Neil S

Mar 6, 2018

Course good but clarity needed on the final assessment as more detail provided at point of submission than on previous pages - as one would not tend to go to submit until work completed this is problematic.

By Miguel B

Jun 2, 2016

The course is a good introduction on how to look at images from a different perspective. Good materials, highly enjoyable. The reading lists are pretty good, with interesting additional material.

By Juan P M

Mar 13, 2016

Great videos and interviews with amazing photographers. They leverage very well MoMA's collection. I think the course design and lectures are not the best way to grasp the key concepts ann ideas.

By Ranmali K

Jan 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course a lot! I learnt about many artists I had not come across before. It was interesting to see photography used in different and novel ways by a variety of artists.