Chevron Left
Back to Portfolio and Risk Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Portfolio and Risk Management by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
2,172 ratings
361 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will gain an understanding of the theory underlying optimal portfolio construction, the different ways portfolios are actually built in practice and how to measure and manage the risk of such portfolios. You will start by studying how imperfect correlation between assets leads to diversified and optimal portfolios as well as the consequences in terms of asset pricing. Then, you will learn how to shape an investor's profile and build an adequate portfolio by combining strategic and tactical asset allocations. Finally, you will have a more in-depth look at risk: its different facets and the appropriate tools and techniques to measure it, manage it and hedge it. Key speakers from UBS, our corporate partner, will regularly add a practical perspective on these different topics as you progress through the course....

Top reviews

KS
Sep 9, 2016

Great! This course will help you learn how to make a proper portfolio which optimally matched to your risk&return preference and how to manage your portfolio's risk level with financial instruments.

CF
Nov 25, 2020

Definitely not for people without economical and some math knowledge, but Great content, and fully recommend for anybody looking to improve their knowledge to better take care of your portfolio!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 358 Reviews for Portfolio and Risk Management

By UDYOT G

Aug 13, 2020

good content

By Huu P H

Jul 13, 2020

good course.

By Alistair

Aug 25, 2017

very good

By Athuliya V S

Sep 29, 2017

Great

By Vikas S K

Sep 30, 2020

good

By Niklas H D

Jun 9, 2018

Gut!

By Elizaveta

Jul 21, 2020

I thought they were just my feelings about the week 4. It is not. I agree that it has much more than one can take keeping the pace that we're used to. It feels like for through studies of week 4 one should do an enormous job studying by him/herself completing the gaps that are there. The lectures particularly in week 4 seemingly imply we have suddenly become professionals in the field which we have not.

I would support one of the reviewers by saying that week 4 should be split somehow into more appropriate portions, material should be explained more coherently without implying we can read it all up on the Internet. Speaking about week 4, it feels like there are lots of gaps in the material and one has to go online much more than usually in order to really understand the material.

I would also (like one of my classmates did) ask for more optional practical tasks with real portfolios or real situations so that we could use the formulas in real life with confidence.

By Anthony T

Feb 16, 2021

This is my third course in the investment management specialization, and I have only given this one 3 stars because the mathematical explanations for the Value-at-Risk and the Conditional Value-at-Risk formulas were explained terribly by the instructors.

They seemed to assume that all people held the same level of financial knowledge as themselves and just gave a load of symbols and equations without explaining what they were for. They did not even give an example calculation so I could learn myself. Instead, I had to use other websites to read about and study these formulas.

If this can be corrected with enhanced, improved new information for learners, then this could also be a 5 out of 5 star course.

By Snigdha

Jul 12, 2020

Concepts of Asset Allocation and theoretical background of modern portfolio theory are dwelt upon for a large chunk of the course, however risk is barely covered and brushed over with not enough clarity and detail that was expected. Overall, a nicely packaged refresher course for the theoretical foundations of portfolio management for the initiated (but who have lost touch), but barely enough focus on the practical aspects or examples in portfolio and risk management.

By Bryan P

Nov 28, 2020

The content is as usual great!

1A Material to learn and develop your skills in the field of finance!

HOWEVER It was not easy to follow the English with the French accent. Also the Script has not been reviewed by Coursera. They took for granted that the script only takes the spoken language and did not approach any corrections when mistakes were made. A lot of key information gets lost, when you FORGET to correct this type if information.

By Jamal F

Apr 8, 2018

For non-finance or statistical students, it would benefit them to have more detailed explanations of the equations used in this module, as well as more example to fully grasp the concepts and become comfortable with using the equations. I would've appreciated that in my case.

By Vivek N

Apr 28, 2020

The faculty while explaining the topics are very quick apart from 1 or 2. The course is very basic and not recommended for people with moderate level of knowledge in markets. Overall a good course

By Moreno C

Jun 16, 2016

The course touches briefly on all the relevant concepts but it remains at a very introductory level.

I would recommend it only for student without any previous exposure to the subjects.

By Raghav G

May 16, 2020

The overall content is good, the teachers possessed specialized knowledge which became very beneficial for me as a student who was looking to learn about this topic.

By Julia T

Jul 30, 2020

Unfortunately, some lecturers have a very bad English pronunciation. It is not appropriate to show formulas without explanation of symbols (what is “a”, “m” etc.).

By Fernando H G

Oct 27, 2020

A lot of valuable information but the course is lacking exercises that can help you fully understand the concepts and start practicing on real life situations.

By Alec S

Jul 12, 2021

The math in this course was unexpected, with very little explanations for us that arent experienced in it. Also, Ines is a bit difficult to follow

By Kanokporn P

Oct 12, 2020

the calculation of risk is too complicate to understand with a few minutes. I expect to have text below video so that I can go back and review it.

By Mahdi f

Sep 28, 2020

I say thank you and have a suggestion. I think this course need more materials precisely.

some topics hadn't enough sources and were very short.

By Styliani K

Feb 28, 2018

It was a very useful course; however, I would prefer if the explanation during Week 4 were a bit more detailed using more examples.

By Thanush P

Jul 19, 2019

Some of instructors are good and some are annoy that make some class be a bit boring and annoying. overall is ok.

By Del V G

May 29, 2017

week 3 and 4 could be more on high level, was a little too technical

By Socrates A

Jun 30, 2020

The lectures had to be longer with more real-life examples.

By tonis

Sep 2, 2020

Till week 4 very good. The week 4 very fast and unclear.

By Sayyam A

Sep 3, 2020

Last week was rushed, the quality dropped.