Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
3,039 ratings
750 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK

Jun 18, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 741 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Riccardo.Corte

Oct 10, 2016

not clear homework

By Shrungar S P

Oct 29, 2020

very good course

By Sharik

Aug 14, 2020

little difficult

By Rushil

Aug 11, 2020

very engaging

By Ramakant L

Dec 4, 2018

useful course

By Mukesh s

Jan 9, 2021

NICE SUBJECT

By Ka m C

Aug 11, 2019

Challenging

By Abhijnan M

Jul 2, 2020

Good one !

By Abdullah A N

Feb 22, 2021

helpful

By Manish K

Jul 28, 2021

Good

By Pravallika P

Jul 6, 2021

good

By HIMANSHU W

May 30, 2021

good

By Anurag K

Apr 10, 2021

GOOD

By naveen k k

Nov 28, 2020

NICE

By Alan B P

Oct 7, 2020

Good

By Adrian S M

Mar 31, 2022

NA

By Mack R

Nov 10, 2021

This course is focused on the first 3 chapters of "Fundamentals of Power Electronics" by Erickson. Lecture slides were pulled from the book. Lecturer gives some tips on how to set up and solve circuits encountered in the book. HW grading system is very frustrating. However, the course is clearly laid out and the assignments motivated me to learn the material well. Discussion board helps.

.

By R.L C

Feb 3, 2017

My opinion:

Not much monitoring of the forums by mentors\instructors, hence responses are non- existent\delayed\misleading. some of the replies by mentors were misleading, The rationale of the Volt-sec balance was not set out very clearly, The expression evaluator is very temperamental, i had to enter the expressions many times , a very time-consuming & frustrating process.

By The R

Jun 27, 2021

first of all I thank Allah who allowed me to cover and participate this benefitable efficiency and essential course and is useful important to me. it gave to me some understandable lessons and also theory rather than i got an experience. it good course for all the electronics

By Abhinav R

Nov 4, 2016

This Course is very standard. I would have given 5 stars. Once you complete the weekly quiz and PASS it, you don't see the worked out solutions for the weekly quiz so that you can review.

By Unheh O

Jul 14, 2021

G​ood and concise lectures. Challenging homework problems, but I think I would have gained much more out of the course with solutions to the homework problems.

By Aya I

May 19, 2020

Good Intro information,but very little interactions or none on the discussion boards as the hw assignments are too complicated next to the lectures.

By Ing. R V

Mar 8, 2020

Quite good course practical and useful but without any support of lecturer or responsible person who is able to answer specific question at forum

By Rajat J

Apr 3, 2016

More theoretical. Analytical and Intuition is not much developed. Good for getting familiar with switch mode converter circuits.

By Joy J S P

Jun 7, 2020

Should be extended from 3 week course to 5 week. Basics should be covered in 1st 2 weeks