Chevron Left
Back to Practical Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Practical Machine Learning by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
2,925 ratings
555 reviews

About the Course

One of the most common tasks performed by data scientists and data analysts are prediction and machine learning. This course will cover the basic components of building and applying prediction functions with an emphasis on practical applications. The course will provide basic grounding in concepts such as training and tests sets, overfitting, and error rates. The course will also introduce a range of model based and algorithmic machine learning methods including regression, classification trees, Naive Bayes, and random forests. The course will cover the complete process of building prediction functions including data collection, feature creation, algorithms, and evaluation....

Top reviews

AD

Mar 01, 2017

Issues of every stage of the construction of learning machine model, as well as issues with several different machine learning methods are well and in fine yet very understandable detail explained.

AS

Aug 31, 2017

Highly recommend this course. It makes you read a lot, do lot's of practical exercises. The final project is a must do. After finishing this course you can start playing with kaggle data sets.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 547 Reviews for Practical Machine Learning

By Michael O D

Jan 10, 2020

This is a great course, but it would be good to see it updated to use the newer evolution of the caret package, parsnip.

By Tongesai K

Feb 08, 2016

Very good course. I am very knew to this topic but am sure will find a lot of application in my speciality - geophysics

By Kevin S

Mar 03, 2016

Good introduction to machine learning, might suffer a bit from trying to cover too much ground in such a short time.

By Sulan L

Nov 19, 2018

I hope we can have more détails in this cours and to see how to use the algorithms for the big data. Thank you.

By A. R C

Oct 20, 2017

I enjoyed it but it needs indeed to deep into many concepts, which are just briefly named during the course.

By marcelo G

Aug 15, 2016

Great course, very demanding, but it could use more reading material, ebooks instead of links on video.

By Jeffrey E T

Mar 28, 2016

Good overview of available techniques and the Caret package. Will get you started in machine learning.

By BIBHUTI B P

Jul 24, 2017

This was a superb module which created a deep learning insight within me focusing on future technology

By João R

Aug 20, 2017

Got confused how to perform cross validation and when. Other than that, very practical. Great job.

By Daniel R

May 14, 2016

The course is really great, however it should last a little longer, 4 weeks is hard to accomplish

By César A C

Jul 26, 2018

Very interesting course. May be a little bit harder than the previous ones but it could be done.

By Greig R

Nov 14, 2017

Good course, I learnt a lot. It does need to be updated with more modern versions of software.

By Pieter v d V

Jun 28, 2018

Very quick overview. If you really want to know something about it read the reference books.

By Guilherme C

May 18, 2016

Title says everything. Practically and basically no theory explained. Good course though.

By Carlos C

Aug 12, 2017

Excellent content so I give 4 starts. I stat less because the trainer speaks too fast.

By carlos j m r

Oct 05, 2017

I thought there were Swirl practice as other courses, however this course is very good.

By alon c

Mar 10, 2016

Great Course, will be nice to have more projects to see how it goes with different data

By Anant S

Jun 30, 2017

good course for initial understanding of machine learning. SVM can also be included.

By Caio H

Aug 23, 2019

I learned a lot in this course, but I would recommend taking the courses in order.

By danxu

Mar 14, 2017

very good, but if it has swirl practice like th other courses it would be perfect.

By Christian W

Jan 31, 2017

First 3 weeks are manageable and the final project is great! I had a lot of fun :)

By Yew C C

Feb 04, 2016

Wish to have more systematic structure, detail information and hands-on exercises.

By vivek s

Jun 07, 2016

introduces lot of machine learning techniques which are used by practitioners !

By Ramiro A

Aug 31, 2016

Nice course, Gives a god insight on what can me done with R and Predictions

By Daniel U

Feb 17, 2016

Fast paced and little focused on the algorithms but quite useful overall.