Chevron Left
Back to Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Predictive Modeling and Analytics by University of Colorado Boulder

3.7
stars
397 ratings
137 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Top reviews

TM

Apr 15, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

AD

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 136 Reviews for Predictive Modeling and Analytics

By Sagar G

May 15, 2020

Very nice course, everything is up to the point very clean and clear explanation of concepts with examples and practical illustrations.

By Apoorv A

May 17, 2020

Great course for starting learning the basics of predictive modeling and its application in MS Excel!

By Sankepalli S K

Feb 16, 2017

Its an excellent course and thanks to Professor for making this course so practice oriented.

By Aqil K

May 10, 2017

It was an amazing learning experience with a very high reputed university.

By Amol K

Jan 15, 2019

More Banking & Financial Industry Related Examples can be covered...

By Pradeep I

Nov 11, 2019

Provides a very good foundation over predictive modelling.

By Raj G

Jul 24, 2020

Good Course - Learnt a lot, Gained New knowledge - Thanks

By Shiyu D

May 19, 2018

it's really good, but this course is very fast and hard

By Isaura D V

Oct 06, 2018

I only wished that the teacher would speak slower.

By Sabelo M

Jul 22, 2020

Phenomenal course!I leartn a lot of useful tools!

By Kashif A K

Jul 06, 2020

it was very informative and great experience

By Emmanuel C O

Feb 18, 2020

Great Course... Very useful learnings...

By Timilehin A

Jul 27, 2020

this is the best course anyone can take

By Ivan Z

Jul 29, 2018

Dan Zhang is a very good teacher.

By ANKIT S

Jun 19, 2020

Detailed and usefull

By Murodkhuja M

May 05, 2020

excellent course

By Avinash T

Aug 28, 2017

Very nice course

By Tanay C

Nov 27, 2017

its really good

By PRALAY P

Apr 29, 2018

Great Course !

By sandhya k

Jan 03, 2017

Well explained

By Carlos A U M

Jul 11, 2020

Great course!

By Sergio A M O

Jun 05, 2020

Great course

By Olanrewaju B

Jul 16, 2020

its hard

By Ameerah R A S

Sep 09, 2017

awsome

By Mark H

Aug 15, 2019

A challenging course, the most challenging I've had on Coursera to-date. The quiz questions really make certain that you have listened to and absorbed the course material. You will get full marks if you follow the instructions given in the videos regarding how to use the software, but you still need to do independent thought and analysis. Overall, I liked the course.

The only thing that keeps me from giving this five stars is the software package used for the course. I am on a Mac, and the software works best with Windows & excel. There is a web interface and Office 365 Extension for MacOs, but it is clunky.

Also, software costs $25 for 140 day license, and I am not certain how I feel about that. It would be better I think to design the course around R/Python, or to choose a software package that is free without time limitation (restricted functionality is fine, but work the course to operate within the free tier). That being said, I don't know how to do that either, and I am sure the instructors would have chosen that route if it was easier to teach that way on a MOOC.